Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Michael

Gorgeous but needs renovation

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
I do think its the best hotel in McAllen - it definitely needs to be updated and I think they are working on that. Love the history and the gorgeous building!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by IC, Hotel Management
Hey Michael, Thank for for your business and for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate your loyalty to the Casa de Palmas Renaissance Hotel and your recognition that we are undergoing a full guest room and corridor renovation. The renovation will be complete by the end of May, so we are looking forward to each one of rooms featuring the exciting new design. Warmest Regards, Jeff H General Manager
5 out of 5
by Edgardo

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Needs minor handyman work overall happy with my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by IC, Hotel Management
Dear Edgardo, Thank you so much, for your recent business at the Casa de Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel and for the terrific review. Great news...we are just a couple of weeks away from completing a major guest room and corridor renovation. By the end of May, the renovation will be complete and we will look forward to welcoming you back to completely re-imagined rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards, Jeff H. General Manager
3 out of 5
by Marco

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very bad receptionist and she was the manager. She was rude and acted like she wanted to leave.
3 out of 5
by Lillian

Five night stay

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
The first night room had a horrible smelly (like sewer) odor. The toilet would run (I fixed it myself). I asked that my room be changed and that was done with no problem. I was there for five nights. (Would have been nice to be changed to an upgraded room since I had to put up with that, but it wasn't). It would be nice to have an outside the bathroom sink. Was able to do some walking in the area. Enjoyed the pool area. This hotel was fairly close to family I was visiting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
I got stuck in the room next to the gym. My window was blocked by a tree. I had no WiFi or cell service in my cell of a room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ratings from 0 to 5

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
The experience was varied, some zero rating and some 5 rating > The drivers who picked me up were all a 5 - they were courteous, gave all the local info I asked for, went out of their way to help me. Both the young men were GREAT! > The room - too small for the money I paid! Comfy bed. but the AC/Heater makes a lot of noise. I slept with ear plugs. The rooms were maintained clean > Something that deserves a zero: I asked the front desk for a small business related info - dont want to say the exact request but let us just say I asked them where I could go buy a pen - you know they use a lot a pens there and so I would have expected them to say - here have one. Instead they told me the nearest location where I could possibly buy a pen. Not what I expected after spending over $1000 for the week! > There are only 2 decent restaurants around. Not sure if the area is safe to walk around. > Breakfast was not included at the around $160+ I paid. The people at the restaurant were very nice and the couple days I went there, they told me that payment was not needed. So does that mean breakfast was included and I was not told? When I asked they said 'Breakfast is not included but you could go to the restaurant' What did that mean?? Anyway, my two cents! Enjoy!
3 out of 5
by carlos

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Frank

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fabulous and I will most definitely stay here on every visit to the Rio Grande Valley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The gem of McAllen

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We stayed on a weekend night, Sat to Sunday as an in town getaway. The staff was excellent, attentive and accommodating, they really made the experience. The rooms are good, a bit dated, but adequately sized and comfortable. Walls are a bit thin...had some noisy neighbirs but a call to the front desk took care of it. Highly recommended if visiting McAllen, central to everything worth doing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Culture and history tastefully done

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Peaceful, yet in the middle of things. Has an intimate feeling, with attention to details.