Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Very easy to check in and the hotel looks very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star review. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you're in McAllen. Jeff H. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Jack

Classic Style

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
We always stay here when visiting family. Classic style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Dear Jack, Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and for this awesome, 5-star review. We appreciate you. Regards, Jeff H. General Manager
2 out of 5
by rosa

Underwhelmed and disappointed.

Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Hotels
Not nearly what I had hoped. Despite the bad reviews, I wanted to try this hotel, particularly as all reviews are viewed and responded to by hotel management. Unfoetunately, we left disappointed and underwhelmed. The coffee was lukewarm all three days we were there and the noise from the courtyard on a Saturday night will keep you awake. I would have not written a review had our room not flooded on our last night. A cleaning crew spent the better part of the night trying to clean up the flooding which kept us up for a second night. At check out, I expected the front desk to ask if our stay was pleasant or if we had been inconvenienced by the noise made by the cleaning crew. I was not asked about my stay, simply given the bill. I expected more from this hotel. I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017
Dear Rosa, Thank you so much for your recent business and for taking the time to write an Expedia review. We certainly want all of our guests to be pleased with their stay here and I apologize that you were not. The torrential downpour of rain was certainly not something that we expected at the levels we experienced and I am so very sorry that the water entered your room. I would like to discuss further with you, so that I can learn of the staff with whom you interacted. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another try. Warmest Regards, Jeff H General Manager
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by manuel

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
great staff. the rooms were clean. Mattress need to be replaced, they are out of shape.
4 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roque

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

classic hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: THERE WERE MANY OUTLETS AND USB RECEPTACLES TO CHARGE DEVICES!!! (hotel owners don't realize how important this is!) Otherwise, very comfortable room.
Cons: have all accessories and beverages available at breakfast buffet!
Location: McAllen is a very cool city
Everything great except breakfast buffet. Food good but no plates, silverware, coffee or juice evident. Took a few minutes to get these things as they seemed understaffed for this. But finally got everything and waiters very helpful. Not a big deal but was surprised at this considering everything else with the room was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying this past weekend, at the Casa de Palmas Renaissance Hotel. We are thankful for your business and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apology that we got a bit behind on the breakfast buffet service. You may know that we were able to accommodate many people evacuating certain areas affected by Hurricane Harvey over this same time frame. While we did get a bit behind on our staffing level during this time, our on-property staff performed all of their duties with huge smiles and handled everything as quickly as possible. We are thankful to have been available to those who needed shelter at the time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest regards.