Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Best hotel for location to the La Plaza Mall.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The pool area and gardens are beautiful and there is plenty of parking.
Cons: Nothing this time around as they have recently refurbished.
Location: Shop till you drop . . . it is right on the doorstep of the La Plaza Mall.
I have been staying at La Copa HOTEL (be careful because there is a La Copa Inn that is a flea pot) for several years every time I visit the family in South Texas. They have recently refurbished all of the rooms and redesigned the lobby area and dining area. The staff are really friendly and helpful and bi-lingual. I love the location! I just fall out of bed and next thing I am in Macy's. The Mall is just across the street. With such a great location they still keep their prices moderate making it excellent value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: CLEAN BETTER
Location: SHOPPING
THEY HAD BED BUGS AND WOULD ONLY SWITCH ROOMS....THE OTHER ROOM WASN'T MUCH BETTER. THEY WOULD NOT REFUND MONEY. ENDED UP LEAVING NOT CARING THAT I LOST MONEY!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Monterrey

The room was OK, except the breakfast.

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: The room and it was very close to the mall
Cons: the breakfast included
Location: Very very good! everything is close
Everything was OK, except the breakfast, There was not enough food or variety.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Stay away - under construction

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Proximity to La Plaza Mall.
Cons: Customer service by duty manager
Location: The hotels location is really ideal, have a lot of food place walking distance. Walking distance to Plaza Mall which is why we book in the first place
We were extremely disappointed to discover hotel was under construction when we arrived. After arriving no less than 24 hours we were told we had to move rooms as the room we were staying was going to have carpet removed. We had plans and advised them so. The next day we were advised by staff how much of an inconvenience we had caused for not moving when they asked. Our stay at the hotel was for 8 nights, pre booked 7 weeks in advanced with no mention of renovations. We then obliged and moved rooms. Only to discover they put new guests in the room we had just moved from. Then once those guest left, more guests were checked in. On the day that we left, that room that so urgently needed to be renovated a week ago had not been renovated still. No laundry facilities, to which they suggest to go to a laundry mat. As a hotel, they needed to provide alternatives, especially when they are under construction. It was not until a made a strong request they at least there were willing to help. Customer service by the main duty manager is to be desired. In no way, shape or form did she once apologise for this. Other front of desk staff where friendly. Some planning ahead of rooms would have been ideal, rather than checking us in to the hotel and in less than 24 hours having to move rooms. Construction was starting daily after 7am onwards. Breakfast was not great. Pool was dirty my 8 yo refused to swim in it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Stayed one week

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Room maintenance and repairs. Add hard boiled eggs to the breakfast menu. Don't start cooking waffles until people start showing up for breakfast.
Location: A large shopping mall was just outside the back of this motel. Can't park any closer than the motel's back parking area. Many eateries are also close
This was a last minute trip brought on by the death of our daughter-in-law and we stayed one week. Due to the purpose of our trip, we did not use the pool area. That being said; the room was adequate: the in=room safe did not work, the toilet flush handle needed to be replaced with a proper fixture (use with care), low water pressure in the bath room, carpet needed to be replaced. Generally speaking, it is an older facility and not a glamour location. But it is close to the interstate, airport, many eating and shopping opportunities, and we felt it was clean, reasonably comfortable, and quiet. We did not much care for the breakfast offering primarily because it did not offer any eggs or SOS; basically, yogurt, cold waffles and cereal. The waffles were cold because, in an effort to help, the motel staff cooked them for you but before they had any demand for them (I waited for a freshly cooked waffle).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Mc Allen Texas

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location: Big shopping mall directly behind the hotel and the best steakhouse in McAllen at the Santa Fe!!!
After having first stopped (by accident) at the La Copa Inn instead of the La Copa Hotel--was I ever relieved when I got to the hotel. It was so incredibly better that if it had been the Inn as the hotel that I prepaid for--I would have changed and forfeited my payment. The Hotel was nice but a little strange for the room section that I was assigned to. All in all, good value for the fee paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
No information is provided at check-in. They only said the room number and expect you to remember, once you drive/fly you don't have time to remember everything. I nice key package and hotel map would be nice to provide at check-in. Room seem clean but there was a lot of details that were overseen for example the courtains had a big stain and blanket had some hair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Very convenient location, guaranteed parking in a very bust shopping area--that was a great plus. The only issue to me was the low water pressure in the shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Santana from San Juan tx

Awesome stay loved it cool pool:)

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Everything was awesome good experience def would stay again and recomend to fam and friends:)
2 out of 5
by Snowball from Mexico

Closest hotel to the best mall in town

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Proximity to amenities was the best feature and the price was extremely good.
Cons: Better breakfast. Upgrade the TV's. Rip out the carpet to avoid strong cleaning smells. Have some king beds near the pool and have bathtubs installed.
Location: Close to airport, major shopping, banks, coffee shops and restaurants.
Overall, not so good, but very easy to get around from here (with a car). People at the desk were friendly as I expected and greeted us, had the room ready, notified us of packages we were expecting delivery of. Walls are thin and you can hear people moving about and talking in the next room(s). Only found 1 cockroach in the shower. Rooms stunk of cheap cleaning odor. TV's are right out of the 60's. None of the rooms around the (outdoor) pool had king beds. There wasn't many guests, but we couldn't have a king bed near the pool and with a bathtub/shower. Apparently king beds are only available around the outside perimeter in the parking lot area. Breakfast was less than expected and not allowed to take anything to your room -- not even a coffee.