Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Practical, spacious

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The room is well organized. Breakfast was better than most.
Location: Good location, practical.
I prefer this location to the Airport hotel - much quieter. The staff are very pleasant and helpful even at 5 in the morning. I received first-class service, worthy of most of the upscale hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Nice place to stay. We will come here again. Great restaurants nearby and conveniently located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Like home

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Hotel was close to major activities room was comfortable and great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birding trip

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Even though there is a remodel going on here, it was a fine stay. Our room was on the third floor which was newly remodeled. Work on the second floor was not noticeable. The staff are great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

OK hotel..

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The A/C worked very good. Beds were good. Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Get chairs that are not torn and replace carpet.
Location: Hotel is close to mall and eating places.
It was a good experience but the price is kind of high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Great for business travelers

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Had a very comfortable werk-long stay here during a business trip. The as yaff were very helpful, and having a grocery store within walking distance made eating right a breeze!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Remodel needed

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Able to cook meals in your room.
Cons: Remodel and new furniture
Location: Inconvenient due to construction and only one driveway to get in and out of the hotel parking lot.
There are now light signs at night to find the only driveway into the hotel. There is construction going on that impedes you getting into the parking lot and parking. Parking lot is dark at night and the lot is dirty. The hotel room furniture is old vinyl that is peeling and cracking. The couch and tables are worn down looking. Carpeting was old and stained. The stove burners were rusty and dirty. The bathroom was clean, sinks and refrigerator were clean. The swimming pool was dirty my entire stay due to the dirt from the construction site next door. That is to bad, because that os why I booked this hotel. I really wanted to go swimming while on my trip. The food they served for breafast and social hour was good. The staff were nice, but when you told them about and issue, they really didn't seem to care too much. Just a, "Sorry" and then they blew it off. But what really ruined my stay was that the cleaning staff left my hotel room unlooked with the door ajar after they cleaned the room. It was left unlooked and open for hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Alan Knoblach, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay with us at the Residence InnMcAllen. I was very pleased to hear of your satisfaction with our food selections and room cleanliness. However, I have shared your cleanliness concerns with our Executive Housekeeper for follow up. I also apologize for the confusion that the construction next door to us has caused our guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi

Good location to shopping and events in the area.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The interior decor to our room and the interior of the hotel are outdated, the couches were worn out. We had a difficult time finding the hotel when we arrived at night because the exterior signs were not lit up. Most of the parking lot lights were not on. The night clerk was not aware of the lack of lighting and the exterior lights were not on during the three nights we stayed there. It was unusual that a room message indicated there would be minimal staff on duty due to the 4th of July holiday. I've worked at hotels and that weekend should be when service by staff is most critical.The room was comfortable, the staff was helpful, the amenities were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Alan Knoblach, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the feedback you have given us in regards to your recent stay with us in McAllen. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered,and hope that it will not deter you from staying with us again when your travels take you to McAllen. With valuable comments like yours, it lets us know where we have fallen short of our guests expectations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was an okay stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Loved the Breakfast
Cons: Rooms could be updated
It was an okay stay. We did not like not being able to speak to the workers because most of them spoke Spanish and no English. The Breakfast was very very good. We had to ask twice to get our air conditioner fixed. The furniture is very dated but the rooms were very clean. The dishwasher didn't work at all. Did the dished twice with it and still did them by hand. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Veronica from San Antonio, TX

Visit back home

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: The coziness and having a stove, refrigerator, microwave. If my stay would have been longer, I would have gone out to buy groceries.
Cons: Bathroom tub could be a little cleaner and remove the chair that is in the closet. Perhaps a few more towels.
Location: Everything is near by...the mall, restaurants, Reynosa, etc. Very convenient location and traffic is nothing compared to San Antonio traffic.
I moved to San Antonio but still have family and friends back in McAllen. I truly enjoyed my stay in our room. It was like having our own little apartment. Although we didn't spend a lot of time there since we were out visiting a lot of my friends, we really enjoyed the quietness and coziness of the room. I will be going back in a few months and will definitely look into staying here as out stay may be a little more extended this time around.