Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Winter weekend

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Stayed one night and skiied at Mt. Shasta. Our room was quite spacious (and our bathroom was huge, as was the claw foot tub). As we were the only ones there when we checked in, got a tour of the builidng: all of the rooms and the old bank and lumber company vault (fascinating). Location perfect for taking an afternoon walk around town and then walking over to dinner at Sage in the evening. As we had to make an early start for skiing, our host was kind enough to arrange an early breakfast just for us. My only complaint would be that the antique bed definitely had a dip in the middle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

A Living Slice of History

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Style, staff, decor, breakfast!
Cons: Mattress could stand to be replaced. We kept rolling to the middle...
Location: Not much going on near by... unless you're a fly fisherman. Quiet area, but fishing is great!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the McCloud River Inn. The historic structure was appointed in period style; rooms were spotlessly clean and staff was friendly, knowledgeable and kind. Such a fun place for travelers who appreciate going "back in time."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill, CA

A Classic Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: Thought the room was beautiful, the bed was a bit low centered causing a bit of a roll to the middle. They might want to flip the mattresses.
Location: Shasta Lake caverns tour was interesting. Good pizza and beer a few blocks away but, be warned, most other local restaurants are closed Mon & Tues.
We found beautiful, well appointed rooms in a beautiful historic building. It's located on a quite side street in a small town. Even though the building is up for sale and the regular proprietors were not there, the woman taking care of the facility was very accommodating and helpful and she put out an excellent breakfast. We were very pleased to find this gem and hope to return for a longer stay in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Vacation to Mount Shasta

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Extremely clean, excellent service and the most friendly staff.
Cons: Everything was excellent.
Location: There is a lot to do in Mount Shasta, specially if you like to be in the nature. So many beautiful lakes to swim in, and so many phenomenal trails.
We just came back from Mount Shasta. We stayed in McCloud River Inn, and this was our second time staying here. I highly recommend this place. Everyone was so nice that both my husband and I felt as if we were at our own house. Very clean place with very delicious breakfasts. My husband is gluten sensitive. They made sure to serve him with gluten free breakfasts. I couldn't ask for any better. Robin and the other staff were extremely friendly and kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as it appears in the pictures

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: cute town but every restaurant and shop was closed after 5 pm on Tuesday.
For the price we expected a nicer building. Our room had a nice claw foot bath tub but when I went to take a bath I noticed that it was dirty. I did not use the tub and would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Los Angeles

Excellent and Charming

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
McCloud River Inn is a special place and Jennifer and Robin went out of their way to make us feel at home. The charm and history of the home and the town make it well worth a visit!
4 out of 5
by DOMINIQUE G. from Glendora CA

We will definitely be back!

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
This was our first experience at a B&B and it was awesome. The room was set up beautifully and the breakfast was so good. The staff was kind and quite knowledgeable about the town and its history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Beautiful historic atmosphere, great stories from the past