Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Historic building in old lumber town.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Hiking, fishing, skiing, and shopping.
Comfortable hotel and accomodating staff. We really like the Hot and Tot room!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful setting, very nice room, arts and crafts

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Would rather stay at this type of hotel than then cracker jack box type hotels
Location: Photography , hiking
Only thing missing was trash cans really enjoyed our stay wished we had more to explore
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traveling with our dog.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Shopping right there where we stayed, and a great cafe called Kyody Coffee at the Merchantile.
Our room was gorgeous, very big. We had lots of luggage to bring in, so it was a bit of a walk to use the elevator as opposed to using the stairs.
5 out of 5
by james from Springfield

Loved our room!

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay in the Shasta Winter Room. We enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort. My wife contends that the tub is in the top 3 of her bath-full life. She is a lifetime conisseur! Check-in was cursory, but when we got in to the lodge, the young housekeeping staff was happy to explain all the amenities: common room, fridge, coffee, cookies, etc. The only disappointment was that on our Monday, NO restaurants were open in McCloud. Perhaps summer is the off-season. Thankfully, the mini-mart was open. The town is a few miles off of I-5, but the Inn is well worth it.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Vancouver

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay and they sure try hard - but the wifi wasn't very good and the place is beautiful and so small but they really are trying. If you plan to arrive after 7pm you won't be able to find anything open, so be prepared!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome place to stay!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Everyone is so kind and friendly! Love the room and town! Will be staying here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Charming Country Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: It's location, interior, how quiet it was, spacious rooms, comfortable beds the whole thing!
Cons: Our remote control was taped together to keep the battery in in order to turn on the TV. Might want to have a replacement.
Location: Stayed for 4th of July had huge fireworks over the lake in Mt. Shasta, picnic'd at McCloud River, went to Burney Falls, Mount Shasta,
The rooms are each so unique. Very quiet hotel, we didn't hear anyone next to us or anyone running water etc. The room we stayed in Minnesota Room was large, naturally lit, bathroom was extra large. Very pretty and overlooked the main street (which was very quiet too). Very friendly staff, helpful with accommodating you. You check in at the country store downstairs which is so quaint. There are not many places to eat in town but Mt. Shasta is about 10 miles away. If you are looking for a quiet and delightful place to just unwind and come back to relax in peace and quiet this is the place. If you are looking for swimming pools, spas, room service then you'll want to stay in a bigger town. We will be back as this is exactly what we wanted to stay in, an old country hotel with comfortable beds, beautifully decorated spaces in a vintage style, in a peacefully quiet place. Such a gorgeous part of California.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

A most unusual hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The hotel is in a lovely, quiet location on Main Street McCloud which is a lovely quiet town with no through traffic. We did not meet any hotel staff until we checked out, as we arrived just after 5pm. However the staff had thoughtfully pinned an envelope to the door of the hotel with my name on, containing room keys and a nice letter explaining everything. The room was lovely and had a view of Mount Shasta which was very special. We had dinner at the McCloud hotel opposite, and breakfast at the White Mountain cafe downstairs, both of which were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Belinda from Redding

Lovely, Memorable Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
I came up for a little break on my birthday. The McCloud Mercantile Inn doesn't have a lot of rooms, but they are stunning! This boutique hotel is a gem that's hidden away in the mountains. It was just starting to snow as I checked in. My room was the Friday George which is the smallest room in the hotel. It's still large enough to be comfortable, and peeking into some of the other rooms while they were being cleaned, I can say that some are incredibly spacious. My room was a little dark since it had a north window, but out that window is a lovely view of Mt. Shasta. The room is charmingly decorated, totally comfortable with adequate heating. The bed and bedding were dreamy. The bathroom is spacious, and the miniature clawfoot tub was probably my only complaint about the facility. Its cute, but not too practical. I didn't get a good WiFi signal in my room, but that was fine because they have a cozy common area for reading, playing games, having meals or just warming up by the fire. The signal was fine there. They offer a breakfast credit to the downstairs cafe, excellent food and service. Anyhow, do yourself a favor, take a few days to unwind in these lovely vintage rooms. I plan to head back up the hill soon, just to stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay area

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Well it's not what I expected it's a dead town and not much to do . We were there to go see the Mccloud falls and nobody knew the roads were closed and no signs are there . It was little frustrating . Although we went to burney falls and it was beautiful.