Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome place to stay!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Everyone is so kind and friendly! Love the room and town! Will be staying here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Charming Country Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: It's location, interior, how quiet it was, spacious rooms, comfortable beds the whole thing!
Cons: Our remote control was taped together to keep the battery in in order to turn on the TV. Might want to have a replacement.
Location: Stayed for 4th of July had huge fireworks over the lake in Mt. Shasta, picnic'd at McCloud River, went to Burney Falls, Mount Shasta,
The rooms are each so unique. Very quiet hotel, we didn't hear anyone next to us or anyone running water etc. The room we stayed in Minnesota Room was large, naturally lit, bathroom was extra large. Very pretty and overlooked the main street (which was very quiet too). Very friendly staff, helpful with accommodating you. You check in at the country store downstairs which is so quaint. There are not many places to eat in town but Mt. Shasta is about 10 miles away. If you are looking for a quiet and delightful place to just unwind and come back to relax in peace and quiet this is the place. If you are looking for swimming pools, spas, room service then you'll want to stay in a bigger town. We will be back as this is exactly what we wanted to stay in, an old country hotel with comfortable beds, beautifully decorated spaces in a vintage style, in a peacefully quiet place. Such a gorgeous part of California.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

A most unusual hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The hotel is in a lovely, quiet location on Main Street McCloud which is a lovely quiet town with no through traffic. We did not meet any hotel staff until we checked out, as we arrived just after 5pm. However the staff had thoughtfully pinned an envelope to the door of the hotel with my name on, containing room keys and a nice letter explaining everything. The room was lovely and had a view of Mount Shasta which was very special. We had dinner at the McCloud hotel opposite, and breakfast at the White Mountain cafe downstairs, both of which were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Belinda from Redding

Lovely, Memorable Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
I came up for a little break on my birthday. The McCloud Mercantile Inn doesn't have a lot of rooms, but they are stunning! This boutique hotel is a gem that's hidden away in the mountains. It was just starting to snow as I checked in. My room was the Friday George which is the smallest room in the hotel. It's still large enough to be comfortable, and peeking into some of the other rooms while they were being cleaned, I can say that some are incredibly spacious. My room was a little dark since it had a north window, but out that window is a lovely view of Mt. Shasta. The room is charmingly decorated, totally comfortable with adequate heating. The bed and bedding were dreamy. The bathroom is spacious, and the miniature clawfoot tub was probably my only complaint about the facility. Its cute, but not too practical. I didn't get a good WiFi signal in my room, but that was fine because they have a cozy common area for reading, playing games, having meals or just warming up by the fire. The signal was fine there. They offer a breakfast credit to the downstairs cafe, excellent food and service. Anyhow, do yourself a favor, take a few days to unwind in these lovely vintage rooms. I plan to head back up the hill soon, just to stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay area

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Well it's not what I expected it's a dead town and not much to do . We were there to go see the Mccloud falls and nobody knew the roads were closed and no signs are there . It was little frustrating . Although we went to burney falls and it was beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful relaxing stay!

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: I liked how when they remodeled how they kept the turn of the century feeling in the rooms.. The room we stayed in the Charles Miller suite. Wonderful
Cons: It could of been more clear about having a elevator . I am disabled and the stairs at times where hard to navigate..
Location: The location was great. the White mountain café next store is the best breakfast and lunch.
My husband and were very impressed how accommodating the owners were.. They really work hard on making our stay enjoyable.. I also loved the feel of the town and its people..
5 out of 5
by zane from Redding

outstanding

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
The people and the place were wonderful
5 out of 5
by Caroline from UK

If you are looking for vintage American history.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
This was a fantastic place to stay, made to feel so welcome by Hotel staff and owners. A truly different experience, like stepping back in time.
2 out of 5
by DON from Los Osos, Ca.

McCloud night stay

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
A night stay on my way back home. The hotel was built in 1888. I suppose in its day the hotel was a rather isolated high Sierra's way station refuge or gathering place in a historical mill town. The room was strangely unique, put together randomly, and not particularly pleasing. Staying here was a one time event for me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Amazing rooms, amazing service, clean and all-around beautiful hotel.