Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

20 mins from Anna, TX

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Clean room, comfy beds, tv was kind of outdated and blurry. Other than that no issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2018
On business by myself. Convenient and affordable. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good. Suited my needs. No frills no luxury, but I didn’t want that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to give us feedback and we are hoping to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston tx

Not as good as I expected

Posted Feb 12, 2018
I had to wait 15 minutes for someone to come to counter to check in. Shower faucet would not turn on. Not very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by Milan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to give us feedback. Sometime our frontdesk manager has to go help guest in their room and with you same thing happened while you checked inn. We fixed shower faucet in the room you stayed. We are hoping you to come back and stay with us again for better experience. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Cleaning staff went through my bag

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Don't think I'll stay here again. Cleaning crew went through my bag. Dead give away is the left toiletries that we're packed in my suitcase out on the counter. Guess they were looking for pills or pilferable items. Room was on the dingy side, especially the bathroom. The hotel is near a happening restaurant/night club that is on the loud side. Get what you pay for I guess.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for you time to give us feedback. I appreciate your comments and I apologize on the behalf of our staff. I am sorry to tell this but you can’t blame our staff to taking stuff from your bag. Our staff is so trustful and they all are working for last couple of years. This is the first complaint I got against them and after I talked with the person who cleaned your room I can tell you got some kind of misunderstanding. I apologize to you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom Ca

Nice Hotel for the price

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Nice room clean shower was hard to turn on and off . Light in bathroom was burnt out
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we fixed the light thank you to letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would rather pay a little extra than stay there

Posted Dec 26, 2017
The lady at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. We got breakfast one day out of our 3 day visit. Granted one of those days were Christmas. I didn't understand why they didn't next day. Also a bar and grill is right next door. So Saturday was very loud and alot of traffic due to that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and I already talked with the person who check you in and sent her for further training.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When cheap is too cheap

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient and the hot breakfast was a nice touch.
Cons: The hotel needs upkeep badly.
First room they put us in was right next to a large conference room that the hotel rents out twice a week to some church group that plays live music during the service that goes to 1 am in the morning, so it goes without saying we couldn't sleep and asked to be moved. The second room had a leaky tub faucet and a TV sound problem. The third room had a TV picture problem. The fourth room had a TV picture problem, sound problem and a tub spicket that was about to fall off. Overall the rooms showed major signs of wear and tear, peeling paint, grungy furniture, doors that either wouldn't shut or would stick in door jambs. I wouldn't stay here unless money is super tight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Milan. , Hotel Management
I apologize on behalf of our staff. We are doing major renovation from the end of December. We already warn the church service that they can’t play live music after 11 o’clock. Give us second chance to serve you better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2017
The first room I was given the floor was soaking wet in front of the bathroom. When I went to the front desk and told the hotel staff everyone was very polite and helpful in getting me a new room. The friendliness and polite staff made up for the wet floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to give us feedback and we appreciate your politeness for understanding us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Little quality or value for this Quality Inn

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient for our visit to the area
Cons: Total renovation is all that could improve the room assigned to us.
Location: Hotel faced the expressway and there was a restaurant next door.
The room we were assigned was shabby. Several electrical outlets did not function, the telephone in the room did not work, the carpet was in dire need of replacing, the lighting was inadequate, there were holes and scuff marks on the entrance doors and bathroom wall, the bed was uncomfortable, in the morning we discovered that the water was not connected to the bath tub when we went to shower, and there were roaches. We were moved to an adjacent room where the bath water was barely tepid and unusable for bathing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to give us feedback. I personally checked your room after I saw this comment. I don’t know why it won’t worked while you were here coz all outlet working fine. I apologize for inconvenient you had. On your next visit if you have any issue in the room please let us know and we will change your room without any problem. Thanks again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Repairs needed

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: It was easy access to my sister's home, but just a little too close to hwy 75. The dining area was clean and dining was pleasant. The food was good
Cons: Fix the commode, put a mirror in the bathroom, remove the tub and just have a slanted area for showering.
Location: There were plenty of eating places and easy access to hwy 75.
We requested a handicap room because both of us have bad knees and especially needed a higher commode. However, sitting on the commode was tantamount to taking your life in your hands. It was shaky and uneven (and I don't mean just a little). A seriously handicapped person could not have used the commode! There was a regular bath tub in the room rather than an open space for a shower. A seriously handicapped person could not have used the shower. The bathroom did contain a chair for the tub, but the 'console' in the bathroom could have used a mirror!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Milan. , Hotel Management
Thank you for take your time and providing us very important feedback. We will definitely work on your suggestions and follow it too. On your next visit you will see this all updates. Thank you again.