Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My room at the hotel was clean and well stocked.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
They didn't have my reservation when I booked it through Expedia 4 days in advance. I had to fill out paperwork about my "reservation." This was my first time booking through Expedia, i don't know if it was the hotel or Expedia. But for a first time user I wasn't not satisfied.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
There was a dead cockroach, the carpet was dirty & the beds were not comfortable. It was not the best hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
I booked for one night It was a horrible stay Bugs, smelled really bad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middle Georgia

No.... Just no

Posted Jun 28, 2015
This was the worst "hotel" I have ever stayed at! I booked this hotel through Expedia and already paid for it, when I arrived I told the lady at the front desk I have booked through Expedia and have already paid! She tells me that I still have to pay her again because that's not how Expedia works! She said you just use Expedia to book and then pay at the desk. I advised her that I already gave my card info and have paid and showed her my confirmation. She was completely ignorant and not helpful I told her that if I get charge twice she will definitely be hearing from me! Now let's talk about the hotel. The lobby was small cluttered and dirty. It was setup like a convent store selling ramen noodles and certain Trojan brand merchandise. The rooms were dark outdated, and everything in there was from a different hotel. The cups were from Howard Johnson and days inn. The phone was from an econo lodge and this so called pool is about 10 ft from a highway and about as big as the rooms they put you in. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable, the ac was either full blast or not on. Thanks to this "hotel" I will probably never visit the "bustling" town of McRae. There were only two choices of hotels in McRae and I believe I would have rather slept in my car than this establishment. Please don't make the same mistake I did
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014
I was overall comfortable, but the neighbors were way too noisy. Room was spacious, had a fridge and microwave. Bed was comfortable. If I find myself in McRae, Georgia again, I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

VERY GOOD STAY

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Me and my son experience at Telfair lodge McRae very good we spent 3 nights. The room was clean management where very helpful and friendly we had free wi-fi, microwave, fridge,TV, laundry service, and coffee maker in room all in working order. This is a lodge not a 5 star hotel for me and my son it was a nice size room with two double beds with just what you need for a short stay. The manager was excellent he was willing to take us from A-B as there is no transportation in the area it all good :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Dirty rooms belligerent staff & rates were changed

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The mngr raised cost of room & charged for wifi after he advertised and accepted our booking at a lower rate. The pool was tiny. The rooms were dirty and the staff was rude. Do not ever stay there. Sleep in your car first.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

A Two Day Stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The air conditioner worked. Sorry nothing else felt good about this stay
Cons: The attitude of the attendant, the cleanliness of the room, the wireless internet,
I booked this hotel stay due to a death in the family. On my arrival I found the check in process fairly reasonable. The hotel bath area had mold on the floor. The toilet would not stop running. On my request for an additional towel the attendant acted if this was a personal favor to allow me an additional towel. I inquired about the password for the advertized free wireless internet and was given a password that did not work and due to the attitude of the attendant I did not inquire as to why it would not work. The choices for McRae Ga. as far as hotels go is limited to three. I can now say I will be crossing this one off my list and any future stays will be at the other two.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I understand this is not a franchise hotel, but...

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The lady working the counter the night I checked in was very friendly, and I believe the cleaning staff really earn their money keeping this place up.
Cons: Management could show his customers concern for room condition and address the safety issues with more than, "If you would've been hurt, I'd call 911"
Location: It's a location out in the country, but has plenty of places to eat and the locals were very friendly. I would visit there again with no hesitation.
I served 20 years in the U.S. Navy and I've stayed in a lot of hotels, motels and, yes, some real dives too. I paid $96.04 for the one night I stayed at the Telfair Lodge in McRae, Georgia, because no other hotels nearby had vacancy. My disappointment began when I went to the front desk to ask why our towels were leftovers from Lifetime Fitness. Yes, the fitness franchise! I could see the manager (older male) was immediately on the defensive when I addressed the towels. I then addressed my issue the light over the sink area, which was improperly mounted and hanging. I said that it could fall and hurt someone. The manager said that if it would've hit me, he would've called 911. Are you serious!? An injury has to occur before something is done to fix the light's mounting? Next, the mattresses were very cheap and springy, with little cushioning between me and the springs. I addressed these as well, and the manager asked me why I was complaining to him, and that I would have to call the mattress company and complain to them. I don't like complaining, but this was necessary. The T.V. was a tube type, which are very front-heavy. It was resting over the edge of the dresser on which it was placed. Trivial for an adult, but for those with kids you know they could make the T.V. fall somehow. I've included photos for some form of validation of my comments. Remember, $96.00 was taken from me in return for very poor quality and managerially-expressed lack of concern. I won't stay again.
1 out of 5
by Tim

Never Again

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: Other than being convenient to where we were going - nothing
Cons: Uncleaniness of bathroom
This hotel was very disappointing. I realize it was in a small town, but I would not stay there again. They advertize internet access, but it is very difficult to obtain. I actually had to go the the desk and have the owner sign me on to the private network which only worked for a short time. Paint was falling off the walls in the bathroom, the tube and tile area were dirty. In the morning at 10 AM there was a knock on the door and a loud voice saying "housecleaning". Checkout was not suppose to be until 11 AM. The lady then called at least 2-3 times finally asking my wife if we were planning on paying for another night - it was 10:48 AM. There were only 5 cars there the night we checked in, so the hotel was not overbooked. Would NEVER stay there again.