Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic setting in a beautiful city.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The helpful and friendly staff.
We arrived and were warmly greeted by the hotel staff who offered us tea and took us to our room, which was absolutely wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious, although not included, but the restaurant provided amazing views of Malta.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Palace in a walled city in Malta

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Great location in the walled Mdina.
Cons: The hotel is not up to typical Relais and Chateax standards. Our room was dark and not in a secure location. Staff was friendly but inexperienced.
Not a five star hotel, more like four stars with some issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Flawed rooms in historic palazzo

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Mdina is charming, has a cathedral and a few other things to see. It is overrun with tour groups during the day. Far from more lively Valletta.
This beautiful, historic palazzo's rooms are flawed. The "duplexes" have steep, winding stairs between the attic-like bed area above (with a low ceiling) and the sitting area below containing the bathroom. The one we saw was dark, with a window facing a wall. Not feeling this was safe, we upgraded at considerable expense to a "suite", which is one large room. These rooms are situated directly looking onto the restaurant and/or banquet area, so it is noisy at least until midnight. The staff is very solicitous, but are not helpful about visitor matters outside the immediate environs of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Elegant hotel with top notch, understated service

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: It's elegant, relaxed vibe and the faultless service
Xara Palace is an excellent hotel. We booked 2 junior suites - they were amazing - a huge and immaculately designed sitting area and a great mezzanine bedroom area. The hotel interior is incredibly elegant and so well put together. The service was without fail faultless - understated and relaxed - every member of staff we came across was without exception helpful, friendly and attentive in a very relaxed way. Dinner in the Trattoria was also very good with the same attention to detail and elegant, relaxed vibe - staff similarly good. One of the best hotels we have stayed in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

this hotel is magical with great views

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The rooms were super comfortable with great beds and lots of light! It was kind of like having your own apt because the rooms are so massive!
Location: Location is perfect if you are looking for a quaint part of town to stroll quiet streets and relax a bit.
Everything from the staff to the room, to the location was perfect for what we were looking for in Malta. I would for sure come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire, Halifax.

Beautiful peaceful Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Everything, the food, the room, the location is amazing.
Cons: I would not want to improve this hotel, it is wonderful as it is.
Location: Mdina, Rabat, Lots of Museums and Guided walks
The Xara Palace is the second time my wife and I have stayed. It is a beautiful hotel, peaceful, quiet, even though t was full, the place has a serenity about it, it is an excellent hotel with excellent staff. A must for a quiet, beautiful place to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Very stylish, comfortable and elegant

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Loved every minute of our stay. The staff were really warm and genuine. Our room was lovely and comfortable. We would definitely recommend the hotel and certainly both the de Mondian restaurant and also the Trattoria in the courtyard. We also had afternoon tea in their museum cafe which has amazing views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire England

Weekend break in silent city of Mdina

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The location and views down the hillside ,excellent service and food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Staying in Mdina gives opportunity to see silent city when tourists have gone home Easy access to Valletta by public transport
Excellent experience for a short break in Malta Hotel facilities are superb , excellent service and the rooms ( we had two for the family ) are all individually furnished The Trattoria next door and breakfast in the rooftop restaurant provide excellent food with plenty of choice Would highly recommend for a 5 star experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review of xara palace

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Without question the hotel staff make the difference between a good holiday and an exceptional one. We have both travelled a lot in the past and the staff here are the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met. Especially the front office manager Robert. Lots of other we could name that made this such a special trip. The rooms are stunning. However it's defiantly worth upgrading to the jacuzzi rooms (18 is th best). Had a tiny issue with notice in room 9 as the restaurant was directly above but it's minimal and will only disturb you if you are a very light sleeper (they are also doing something about this). Mdina is beautiful and the restaurant outside and on the rooftop are exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular Pilazzo in the ancient Mdina of Malta

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Overall excellent but a few hiccups to start with in Room 11 - it had obviously not been used for a while as it was damp with a musty smell + the electricity failed twice - this was very swiftly and efficiently dealt with so absolutely no complaints there but the air freshener did not beat the smell so we moved to room 7 for our remaining 2 nights though this incurred an extra cost of 100 Euros which I thought was a little steep considering. Excellent restaurant.