Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by John

Wonderful Mdina

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fantastic from start to finish, the food was amazing !!!
5 out of 5
by Ashley

Beautiful & Unique Option with tons of Character

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
We LOVED our stay at Xara Palace in Mdina. We were shocked at how beautiful the entrance to the hotel was and how friendly the check-in staff was. We loved our room with the terrace hottub and would recommend this place to the adventurous couple looking for something with more character than the Hilton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

One night stay in mdina

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff were welcoming we received a complimentary bottle of fizz for a birthday celebration, the duplex room was very spacious.
Cons: This hotel is in need of a interior refurbishment.
Location: A palatial hotel set in the heart of the mdina.
We had high expectations of a relais chateaux hotel. This hotel is a palace but the interior design are very tired and not palatial at all. This stay was for a special birthday, unfortunately we were told on checkin that the fine dining restaurant and sister mdina restaurant were both full. We opted for the hotel informal restaurant next door to the hotel. Unfortunately our pizzas arrived burnt and we were subjected to a large table of smokers sat next to us. Service in restaurant was busy & courteous and we were not charged for the inedible food.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Wonderful

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was wonderful with our stay at Xara
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel for the last night of our stay!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Lovely character and a nice bit of luxury in Mdina. One thing to note is the pool facilities aren't in the hotel - they are a 5 min drive away and you need to give an hour notice if you want to use them. The food in the cafe was also wonderful with a great wine selection. Thank you for our stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel in a amazing location

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time here. Room was very clean with everything that was needed. We didn't get a chance to see the pool but will be staying here again in the summer so I can test it out then
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic setting in a beautiful city.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The helpful and friendly staff.
We arrived and were warmly greeted by the hotel staff who offered us tea and took us to our room, which was absolutely wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious, although not included, but the restaurant provided amazing views of Malta.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Palace in a walled city in Malta

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Great location in the walled Mdina.
Cons: The hotel is not up to typical Relais and Chateax standards. Our room was dark and not in a secure location. Staff was friendly but inexperienced.
Not a five star hotel, more like four stars with some issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Flawed rooms in historic palazzo

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Mdina is charming, has a cathedral and a few other things to see. It is overrun with tour groups during the day. Far from more lively Valletta.
This beautiful, historic palazzo's rooms are flawed. The "duplexes" have steep, winding stairs between the attic-like bed area above (with a low ceiling) and the sitting area below containing the bathroom. The one we saw was dark, with a window facing a wall. Not feeling this was safe, we upgraded at considerable expense to a "suite", which is one large room. These rooms are situated directly looking onto the restaurant and/or banquet area, so it is noisy at least until midnight. The staff is very solicitous, but are not helpful about visitor matters outside the immediate environs of the hotel.