Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic setting in a beautiful city.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The helpful and friendly staff.
We arrived and were warmly greeted by the hotel staff who offered us tea and took us to our room, which was absolutely wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious, although not included, but the restaurant provided amazing views of Malta.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Palace in a walled city in Malta

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Great location in the walled Mdina.
Cons: The hotel is not up to typical Relais and Chateax standards. Our room was dark and not in a secure location. Staff was friendly but inexperienced.
Not a five star hotel, more like four stars with some issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Flawed rooms in historic palazzo

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Mdina is charming, has a cathedral and a few other things to see. It is overrun with tour groups during the day. Far from more lively Valletta.
This beautiful, historic palazzo's rooms are flawed. The "duplexes" have steep, winding stairs between the attic-like bed area above (with a low ceiling) and the sitting area below containing the bathroom. The one we saw was dark, with a window facing a wall. Not feeling this was safe, we upgraded at considerable expense to a "suite", which is one large room. These rooms are situated directly looking onto the restaurant and/or banquet area, so it is noisy at least until midnight. The staff is very solicitous, but are not helpful about visitor matters outside the immediate environs of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ottima posizione nelle mura della città

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Splendida sorpresa! Posizione ideale a due passi dalle fermate di bus, ristorante eccellente, vale la spesa! Camere pulitissime e personale attento e disponibile. A mio avviso la colazione è un po' costosa per quello che offrono.
4 out of 5
by David from Upstate NY

Fabulous corner of Malta

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
The Xara has many good features: very capable, courteous and straightforward staff, an outstanding location near the gate into Medina, at least one fantastic restaurant and views for miles. That said, it is an old structure, so don't expect polished surfaces and sleek lines. Overall, it was our favorite hotel in Malta. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Elegant hotel with top notch, understated service

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: It's elegant, relaxed vibe and the faultless service
Xara Palace is an excellent hotel. We booked 2 junior suites - they were amazing - a huge and immaculately designed sitting area and a great mezzanine bedroom area. The hotel interior is incredibly elegant and so well put together. The service was without fail faultless - understated and relaxed - every member of staff we came across was without exception helpful, friendly and attentive in a very relaxed way. Dinner in the Trattoria was also very good with the same attention to detail and elegant, relaxed vibe - staff similarly good. One of the best hotels we have stayed in
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Offbeat luxury in Historic Mdina

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
This converted palace is an extraordinary place with lots of character and a distinctive feeling of slightly faded luxury. The restaurant on the upper balcony with a panoramic view of Malta is unforgettable. Food is superb but was that a pot of instant coffee we were served at breakfast? Also, jazz-light Muzak detracted from the aristocratic and historic atmosphere. Service was especially gracious. A truly singular and charming place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京都

高台にあるホテル

Posted Jul 23, 2016
高台にあるので海岸線や遠くの町並みを見渡すことができます。 周りには素敵なレストランがたくさんあり、治安もよいので女性だけで夜出掛けても楽しめました。
3 out of 5
by Marcia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a Relais and Chateaux place worth to stay

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
historical palce in the heart of Mdina. Excellent and friendly staff. Beautiful view from the roof top restaurant.