Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect choice

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Our stay at the Bed and Breakfast was highly enjoyable. Very comfortable and clean facility and room. Sticklers for detail, and thought of everything. Breakfast was perfect. Owner very warm. Would recommend if staying in the area. Troy & Bonnie Buckner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, NY

lovely, cozy Inn, near Allegheny College

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: location, cozy atmosphere, very comfy beds
Cons: Noisy for guests staying in the front rooms on the street. Inn is right next to a busy highway. We had trouble sleeping.
Location: Ideal for folks looking a local colleges and universities.
Our experience was very good. Sherry, the owner, quite accommodating. She makes the check-in hours very clear on her website but is also very helpful if you need to request a later or earlier check-in. The room was clean and cozy. We had the amenities (i.e. a private bath) that we had requested. Only negative was that they do not provide shampoo and we hadn't thought to bring our own. We felt uncomfortable asking for it after hours when we discovered we didn't have any. Breakfast was included in the morning in a very pleasant room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Or.

We were royalty

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Everything was fabulous! We were treated like royalty by Sherry the owner. Everything was comfortable, clean, welcoming and so 1929's Classic! Loved the antique furnishings!
5 out of 5
by Larry from Kalamazoo

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good price and breakfast was awesome
5 out of 5
by Craig from Denver, IA

Great choice for a college visit!

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate New York


Posted May 11, 2016
This was the first time for me to stay in a B & B. I liked it very much. I would like to stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by matthew from Johnstown, PA

Cozy antique

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Got in late but we were given a code to get inew without disturbing anyone. That was nice. It's an antique home with antique furnishings. The bed was good but loud, as antiques are. Breakfast was very good and set out at 8 but coffe was thankfully ready much earlier. Sherry was very nice. We have a son at Edinboro University and will be staying here again when we visit him
5 out of 5
by Blair from Brockton, MA

Cute little getaway!

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here while we were in town for a bridal shower in the town next door. We have stayed in a B&B a couple of times before. One thing we weren't used to was sharing a bathroom, but it worked out just fine and I appreciated how the bathrooms were broken up by rooms. The house was in great shape and Sherry, the owner, was fantastic. Would definitely stay in the house again if we were in the area.
4 out of 5
by Jane from Canada


Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
What an interesting home and personable hostess! It was a showcase of architecture, of literature, and of local artisans. We could have spent considerable time exploring both the home and the area, if we had not been on a path to visit family. The linens were excellent, the bed comfy, the breakfast delicious and the conversation stimulating. No wonder people go back again and again. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Jehanne from Rocky Point

Great experience!

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
My son and I visited Allegheny College, and decided to stay at a bed and breakfast instead of a motel. We are so glad we chose Mayor Lord's! It's a lovely house and Sherry is a wonderful hostess. We met some friendly people and learned a great deal about the town and the college. My son was hesitant to try a bed and breakfast, but he's now a believer!