Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Simon

No Air-conditioning and pool unavailable.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel with lovely bedrooms but air-conditioning is not in all rooms (despite being listed in the room information) and we had an insufferable night in a sweltering bedroom. Also the hotel advertises a pool / spa / sauna but on the Saturday we arrived we could not use the pool because it had been booked out, it seems if you want to use the pool etc at certain times you have to block-book the entire pool/sauna facility for a considerable cost. I don't believe this is evident in the Hotels.com listing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel - very friendly staff!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Good room quality.
Cons: Breakfast was expensive. Room size was on the smaller end.
This was a great hotel from start to finish. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. I was quite impressed. Rooms were of high quality and actually map onto 4-star ratings, unlike many other hotels in Belgium. The room was on the smaller end, but the quality was great!
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Weekend in mechelen

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff very helpful and excellent rooms with good facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel near to canal in attractive district

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Clean, pleasant
Location: Good part of the city
Everything clean, worked fine, good nights sleep in comfortable bed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky and interesting

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
I was staying as part of a large group and we were well looked after. Rooms were clean and comfortable. My only *slight* criticism was that the management was very conservative - Coming from London, I am used to 'bend-over-backwards for the customer' service. But hotel itself is quirky and interesting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business trip belgium

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
OVERALL - the property is great BUT BEWARE - at night there is a bar directly outside the front windows of the hotel and there are no closing hour rules - i had to ask for a room change at 02.00 in the morning after really loud and rowdy locals really stopped any possibility of sleep. Also - be aware that there are limited opening hours for the pool 07-10.00 - really strange. Overall, great building, good location, good staff - but massively let down bt incredibly loud outside noise and strange poole opening hours - better to book local big brand hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mechelen for work

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
I would NOT stay here again... Nice contemporary hotel with very nice decor in an excellent location, however.... We booked a suite but they only had basic rooms available when we checked in... The air con did not work and they did not fix it during our 4 day stay. The windows only open by 2 inches and the average temperature in the room while we were there was 32 degree centigrade. Our room was not made up twice and on complaining we were told that they did not have enough staff so had to prioritise leavers and new arrivals... They had no tea at breakfast and once had to tomatoes for the omelette and also no milk. If that is not enough there was once we had the do not disturbed on the door but that did not stop one of the staff walking straight in to deliver new towels which was quite embarrassing - if you know what I mean... Having said all of that the shower was excellent if you didn't mind the flood and the waiting staff were excellent, friendly and efficient. Unfortunately there are too many negatives to outweigh the positives so we will not be going back.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Nice place but Faulty Towers

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very hot day and A/C didn't work booked a jnr suite and was then downgraded to a normal room which had A/C after >1 hour of messing around. Very central hotel, nice location and building. Does have fitness centre and pool but note you can only use this at very limited times!? Marred experience and runined by poor management + staff but otherwise a good place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Cons: I wasn't too keen on the provocative photograph of a male cigar smoker in the room.
Stayed in the old cigar factory. Rooms were very well maintained. Especially pleased with the quiet air conditioning system. Shower facilities were also excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pleasant hotel

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel next to several pleasant bars and the canal. Close to the plaza with good restaurants. Liked: Breakfast choice, powerful shower, room size, quiet (noise level) location. Not so fond of the capsule coffee maker & unusually hot mattress. I would stay there again.