Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely church conversion

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Quirky hotel retaining lots of original features including stained glass in some rooms and altar in dining area. Nice quiet comfortable rooms. 15 minute walk to train station - very close to several nice cafes and restaurants. Mechelen is a lovely town below the tourist radar - or at least our radar and we loved it ! Will come back to both hotel and town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Hotel was really great and interesting and staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only OK and could be a little better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Lovely and interesting hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The room was stylish and comfortable and spacious. The hotel was very clean and really beautiful.
Location: The hotel was a short walk away from the down town area with lots of restaurants and things to see.
We booked this hotel based on the photos of the rooms - a converted church. Unfortunately the rooms with "church features" were a bit more than we wanted to pay, but the bargain room was still beautiful and comfortable nonetheless. The staff were very attentive without being overbearing and everyone was helpful. The parking situation is not ideal, but it's city centre so that was expected. We parked at a free lot by the train station with just a 15 minute walk.
5 out of 5
by Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel in a converted church

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Only issues are that breakfast is not included and I hate paying 20 euros for a bowl of cereal and a coffee and that the bar was closed by 10.45 one evening when we were looking for a final relaxing drink before bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Trip to Tremelo

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 day business trip to Tremelo which is about 30 minutes drive from the hotel. We wanted to Stay in Mechelen so chose this hotel. What a great nice surprise. You cannot fault the hotel, the service, the food, the architecture or anything. I would definitely recommend it and will stay again.
4 out of 5
by Liege from Paris

very pleasant atmosphere

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is actually a refurbished church so it has an interesting atmosphere I found very pleasant. And the bed is very comfortable. Good sized room, clean, very nice shower and a good selection of foods for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. It is not grand and luxurious but it has everything you need and it is comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Only church rooms worth stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Placed in ground floor room in annex to church. Room's only window was right next to a table of bar's terrace. Guests at the table were allowed to be there until after 11pm, dropped glassware, loud enough to hear conversation over television and ventilation fan. AC did not work, room was 28°C by morning. Some of floor tiles in bathrrom rocked due to missing grout. Grout in shower needed attention for mold. Bed and bedding were comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Marc from london

unique hotel in heart of Mechelen

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
wonderful luxury hotel in heart of Mechelen housed within the renovation of an old church cathedral.