Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very nice staff and owners

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, owners and beautiful surroundings.
Cons: Would be nice if they had a gym, but their was one nearby I could too.
Location: The location wasn't bad. Not too far from the airport or downtown. Lots of cheap little restaurants nearby, though I ate mostly at th hotel restaurant
I stayed at this hotel for for 3 nights and very much enjoyed the food, and the peaceful surroundings. I came to Medan to look for business opportunities and was surprised by how much additional support I got from the staff and owners. Staying at this hotel was an invaluable introduction to Medan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff services, location and room facilities.
Cons: 1. Soap dish to be placed closer to shower. 2. Air Condition to be spilt in 2 rooms 3. Restaurant ca open until 10:30pm.
Location: Shopping Mall, Vellangkanni Church, site seeing etc.
Hotel located midst of Medan more or less village sort, but hotel facilities, service, cleanliness and staff service excellent. We stayed for 2 nights which was pleasant and we will be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ho Chi Minh City

The nicest part of the whole city

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The staff are very competent, very helpful and never obsequious. Rina is gorgeous.
Cons: Turn the loudspeaker in another direction, if possible!
Location: Colonial architecture perhaps
Well-designed; well-maintained; excellent staff; great food; easy to find; not too expensive; pleasant setting; the azan is very loud
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great and relaxing stay in Sumatra!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: greenery, cleanliness of the room, food
Cons: Reduce the price of the activities around Sumatra
Location: Bukit Lawang (to meet Orangutans in the jungle), Sipiso Piso waterfall and overview on Lake Toba
Staying at Deli River Hotel was surprisingly pleasant due to the nice natural settings. I enjoyed the food of the restaurant that was always fresh and tasty. Furthermore, a note of appreciation goes to the staff who was always kind and keen to solve any problem. I would definitely recommend spending a couple of days in Deli river hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Seclusion in a frenetic city

Posted Nov 29, 2016
This wonderful country hotel is recently built and offers comfortable secluded accomodation in an otherwise busy city. Rooms are built in small units on the side of a small valley, on the opposite side is the restaurant complex and beyond that a pool and small terraced garden with views of the Deli river. The staff are extremely helpfull and friendly, the food was excellent and if you needed it there is a convenience store nearby with atm. This hotel provides an excellent oportunity to escape the hustle and bustle of Medan while retaining the option of a short taxi ride to its centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Oasis in Medan

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Due to its location and secluded setting, Deli River is quiet and restful. The food was delicous, authentic, and generous portions. Lovely staff.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It's in the outer parts of Medan, not central at all and an hour (depending on traffic!) from the airport, but that's part of its attaction.
Medan has very few redeeming features, being just the gateway to Sumatra's wilderness attactions, but if you have to stop there then Deli River Hotel is an oasis in a hell-hole! It's a hotel you really need to spend several days/nights in to get the most out of it. The grounds are gorgeous, and when you're floating in the lovely swimming pool, you can almost not notice you're in a noisy, polluted, chaotic city. Their associated travel company provided a very good vehicle and excellent driver for a two day trip we took to a specific area of interest south of Medan.
4 out of 5
by inah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Northern Beaches

Quiet retreat

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location and room size and appointment
Location: Slightly out of the way
Very comfortable, quiet location, off the beaten track, very pleasant courtious staff and reasonable room rates
5 out of 5
by Barbara from Northern California

Oasis near Medan

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Hotel Deli River! A refuge from the hectic traffic and activity of the neighborhood and the city. Rooms were comfortable, clean, quiet. Bed comfortable. The grounds are beautiful: well landscaped, gentle rolling hill to the pool and dining area. Complimentary breakfast was delicious: rich Sumatran coffee, eggs, plate of tropical fruit, freshly made juice, assortment of pastry and Indonesian treats. Breakfast was always a highlight. Never had a bad dinner. The staff were always very helpful, charming and fun. The neighborhood was fun to walk through during the day. Locals were very friendly and accepting. We took 2 tours which were arranged through the hotel, which were surprisingly costly, although very good. Deddy, one of our drivers, was exceptional. We would definitely stay at the Deli River again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town, South Africa

Oasis in chaotic Medan

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, pleasant room and tranquillity
Cons: I suggest that they attend to better signage. The hotel name is obscured by plants and we drove right past it.
Ellie welcomed us with refreshing cold banana juice, suggested a dip in the pool and offered us swim towels. She also arranged a car to take us to the airport early the next morning as well as a packed breakfast. We enjoyed good Indonesian food at their Omlandia Restaurant.