Ratings based on 933 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of extra charges!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Most of the staff, room size, location
Cons: Customer service
Been coming to this hotel for years, great rooms in an amazing location. This is the first time I have been so disappointed that I wont return. We checked in and confirming the room we booked had an ocean view...there was some discrepancy there. They were nice and gave us a bigger room (partial ocean view). Problem- We had friends who live in Cabo over for drinks in our room one night before dinner. Afterwards we returned to the hotel with the same friends who wanted to make sure we arrived at out room safely and were going to have another drink. Now we are stopped on our way in saying we will have to pay for our guests to stay. I explained they were not staying over but just here for a short time. We were then not allowed to return to our room with out signing something that we have to pay. Our guests arrived back with us in a taxi and I felt bad for sending them right back out. I signed the charge asumming after I explained this all to the Manager the next day the charge would be removed. After all, no one said anything the first time they came. The response I received is that this is their policy and I signed something in minuscule writing agreeing to this. At this point I am not arguing that fact, I am asking as a courtesy to remove the charge as we are loyal to the hotel. Bottom line, I ended up paying $160 US for my guests to have 1 drink after dinner! They also added $1/day donation which I was never told about, that they did remove. no bueno....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location when weather is mild

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Only rooms are air conditioned. Great location. Did not like being approached to by a $10k vacation package (time share type thing).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great place. Nice people

Posted Aug 9, 2017
We had a great time here. The photos and description match reality perfectly. We had two little ones and the staff and accommodations were perfect. The staff even left little treats for them aside from the normal chocolate- which was my four year olds favorite thing anyway! The space was huge and we could spread out. We relaxed on the balcony, went to the pool, hit the calm lovely beach and took a few excursions ! Great vaca. My son loved painting in the kidzone on his downtime and I was sooo thankful it was there. There is party atmosphere on this side of Cabo but not too much at this place. Very chill and a great value. We also had the best sushi at 12 Tribes! Lovely place and we will be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location, mediocre service

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Location is perfect--beach front access, near good restaurants like the office and Edith's. Hotel is clean and good amenities like 2 large pools, beach club. The one disappointment is their lack of customer service. From the front desk staff to the concierge to people working by the pool--all were rude. It's as if they think customers will keep coming back just because the hotel location is great so they don't have to work very hard at their customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

From great to average in 6 years..

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect. best views.
Cons: Customer service. activities by the pool. boring! MUSIC,Caring and understanding.drink prices. Room service 24hrs instead of till11pm. upgrade pools.
Location: This is what keeps them in business. Thats it.
We stayed here in 2010 and loved it. We visit Cabo every year. 9 in a row and counting! Depending on the price we stay accordingly. We always check Casa Dorad first as we had great memories of our first stay. Great location! on Medano beach , Nice facility. We just returned from our trip and have to say we will not returmn there again. They have not upgraded the facility at all. The pools suck. No activities at all. no music. they depend on Medano beach for all that. Service was slow, and I had to hunt down waiters. The prices are a bit much for drinks. They need new managment to revive some life here. I have been going to Plya Grande which is cheaper, and far more enjoyable due to their great care for the guests. We had Mold growing on the ceilings. I have pics. Checkout is 12pm. we needed to leave our hotel by 1pm, for our flight back home, we wanted to eat lunch at the hotel and were running late, We asked for a late check out 12:45 pm , they refused. We asked them for an extra 20 minutes? they refused. So needless to say we were very dissapointed, had to leave this place angry, and had to eat Carls jr at the airport. They depend on their location to survive. everything else in satisfactory at best. I usually dont write reviews, But this experience definately deserved one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Studio City, California

Spacious rooms with a view of ocean.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We arrived on a Thursday and left on Sunday. The staff was very nice. We did have an issue with renting a car one day from the hotel. We set it all up the day before gave them our cc and they ran it and everything but when it was time to pick up the car they said they could not take a credit card that was also a debit card. They said they needed only a credit card. Never heard of that before considering debit cards with a visa logo on them are credit cards. That was very frustrating as well as expensive for us. We had to be at the airport lost and found by 5pm as my husband left something on our plane we flew in on. We ended up having to take a cab which is insanely costly. Way more than our car rental was going to be. Aside from that fiasco we did have a great time at this hotel and would stay again. We come to Cabo all the time and stay at the top high end hotels so for me to say that is impressive. The rates are great here for the size of the rooms plus you get a full kitchen which is awesome! Yay for Casa Dorada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Or

Perfect Luxury Resort in Cabo!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
My husband and I came here for our honeymoon last week and were blown away! Our room was so fancy; it was a dream come true! The resort is absolutely gorgeous and the location is perfect! Casa Dorada has the best spot on Medano beach! The waves were gentle, the restaurants and water activities were right next door! It was a 6-8 minute walk to the marina and a few more minutes to downtown Cabo. Everything we wanted in our vacation was there! Yummy restaurants, great pool and beachside service, and staff that was so friendly! I am telling everyone I know to plan their Mexican vacation here! We can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great location. Excellent hotel rooms, restaurants, pool, and beach area for guests. Wonderful staff. Walking distance to the Marina. In the heart of Medano Beach, where all the action is. Overall great vacation!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, California

Clean with Amazing staff

Posted Jul 31, 2017
A little on the pricey side but well worth it when you are comparing to some hotels in Cabo ... super delicious food on hotel premises but our favorite is the beach area reserved for guest only the staff is attentive and the lifeguard is always watching out for the safety of everyone that's in the ocean ... I highly recommend this hotel !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern, Cal

Great Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017
My family and I just returned from our vacation stay at this hotel. Perfect location, great staff and a great beach. We've stayed here before, which is why we chose to come back. The only small problem was the original gym and spa are undergoing remodeling. They did a good job trying to "make-do" but it wasnt the same. Im sure once completed, it will be even more inviting than before.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Mònica Olmos- Guest Services Manager., Hotel Management
Hola Dear Ken, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Resort. We appreciate enormously your patronage and preference and will keep on improving ourselves. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. All the amenities of the Resort are being renovated (we are in the finish line!) so, when you return you will enjoy Casa Dorada at its best. Until our next encounter, please remain healthy, happy and wealthy and spread all your good vibes with all the people around you. Greetings, blessings and hugs for you all! I would definitely stay here again