Ratings based on 942 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denair, CA

Beautiful location on Medano Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Security is excellent. Views of Sea of Cortez, location and size of property.
Cons: Had a little problem but staff addressed it and was very accommodating.
Location: On Medano Beach behind Mango Bar. Noise was not an issue at all. Spa, Jet ski, Boating, Paddle Board, Swim, eat, drink and be happy.
Second time staying here. Lovely hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. Location is great with walking distance to restaurants. Medano Beach can be busy but they have a private area for hotel guests. Not a huge resort but a smaller property which we prefer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We had an amazing time here. You can walk straight onto the beach from here. Restaurants and nightlife right outside, and walking distance to downtown area. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW, Texas

Great location and very nice!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We had a fabulous time and experienced zero problems with Casa Dorada. The resort is wonderful and the staff is excellent. Highly recommend this place to stay and the location is about as good as you can get in Cabo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, Ct

Beautiful Resort close to everything

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Great location and fantastic staff.
Cons: They should offer better deals during the slow season.
Location: The resort is close to the Marina and many restaurants. It is also very close to the Paraiso Mall as well as some others shops.
We had a great time in Cabo San Lucas and at Casa Dorada. The resort offers a great location and the beach is beautiful with a fantastic view. Staff at the resort is supper friendly and very professional. The resort is situated in the heart of Medano beach, and you have access to beach swimming and all the water activities you can think of, which you can buy on the beach or arrange through the resort. Besides the resort restaurants there are many great options near by such as Maria Jimenez Restaurant, La Ricazon, Maria Corona, Los Tres Gallos, Panchos. The Office restaurant and Edith's were closed for renovations and are just around the Resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of extra charges!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Most of the staff, room size, location
Cons: Customer service
Been coming to this hotel for years, great rooms in an amazing location. This is the first time I have been so disappointed that I wont return. We checked in and confirming the room we booked had an ocean view...there was some discrepancy there. They were nice and gave us a bigger room (partial ocean view). Problem- We had friends who live in Cabo over for drinks in our room one night before dinner. Afterwards we returned to the hotel with the same friends who wanted to make sure we arrived at out room safely and were going to have another drink. Now we are stopped on our way in saying we will have to pay for our guests to stay. I explained they were not staying over but just here for a short time. We were then not allowed to return to our room with out signing something that we have to pay. Our guests arrived back with us in a taxi and I felt bad for sending them right back out. I signed the charge asumming after I explained this all to the Manager the next day the charge would be removed. After all, no one said anything the first time they came. The response I received is that this is their policy and I signed something in minuscule writing agreeing to this. At this point I am not arguing that fact, I am asking as a courtesy to remove the charge as we are loyal to the hotel. Bottom line, I ended up paying $160 US for my guests to have 1 drink after dinner! They also added $1/day donation which I was never told about, that they did remove. no bueno....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location when weather is mild

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Only rooms are air conditioned. Great location. Did not like being approached to by a $10k vacation package (time share type thing).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great place. Nice people

Posted Aug 9, 2017
We had a great time here. The photos and description match reality perfectly. We had two little ones and the staff and accommodations were perfect. The staff even left little treats for them aside from the normal chocolate- which was my four year olds favorite thing anyway! The space was huge and we could spread out. We relaxed on the balcony, went to the pool, hit the calm lovely beach and took a few excursions ! Great vaca. My son loved painting in the kidzone on his downtime and I was sooo thankful it was there. There is party atmosphere on this side of Cabo but not too much at this place. Very chill and a great value. We also had the best sushi at 12 Tribes! Lovely place and we will be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location, mediocre service

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Location is perfect--beach front access, near good restaurants like the office and Edith's. Hotel is clean and good amenities like 2 large pools, beach club. The one disappointment is their lack of customer service. From the front desk staff to the concierge to people working by the pool--all were rude. It's as if they think customers will keep coming back just because the hotel location is great so they don't have to work very hard at their customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

From great to average in 6 years..

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect. best views.
Cons: Customer service. activities by the pool. boring! MUSIC,Caring and understanding.drink prices. Room service 24hrs instead of till11pm. upgrade pools.
Location: This is what keeps them in business. Thats it.
We stayed here in 2010 and loved it. We visit Cabo every year. 9 in a row and counting! Depending on the price we stay accordingly. We always check Casa Dorad first as we had great memories of our first stay. Great location! on Medano beach , Nice facility. We just returned from our trip and have to say we will not returmn there again. They have not upgraded the facility at all. The pools suck. No activities at all. no music. they depend on Medano beach for all that. Service was slow, and I had to hunt down waiters. The prices are a bit much for drinks. They need new managment to revive some life here. I have been going to Plya Grande which is cheaper, and far more enjoyable due to their great care for the guests. We had Mold growing on the ceilings. I have pics. Checkout is 12pm. we needed to leave our hotel by 1pm, for our flight back home, we wanted to eat lunch at the hotel and were running late, We asked for a late check out 12:45 pm , they refused. We asked them for an extra 20 minutes? they refused. So needless to say we were very dissapointed, had to leave this place angry, and had to eat Carls jr at the airport. They depend on their location to survive. everything else in satisfactory at best. I usually dont write reviews, But this experience definately deserved one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Studio City, California

Spacious rooms with a view of ocean.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We arrived on a Thursday and left on Sunday. The staff was very nice. We did have an issue with renting a car one day from the hotel. We set it all up the day before gave them our cc and they ran it and everything but when it was time to pick up the car they said they could not take a credit card that was also a debit card. They said they needed only a credit card. Never heard of that before considering debit cards with a visa logo on them are credit cards. That was very frustrating as well as expensive for us. We had to be at the airport lost and found by 5pm as my husband left something on our plane we flew in on. We ended up having to take a cab which is insanely costly. Way more than our car rental was going to be. Aside from that fiasco we did have a great time at this hotel and would stay again. We come to Cabo all the time and stay at the top high end hotels so for me to say that is impressive. The rates are great here for the size of the rooms plus you get a full kitchen which is awesome! Yay for Casa Dorada.