Ratings based on 4,575 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
It was a wonderful trip, the staff was extremely great, the food was amazing. No complaints whatsoever. Will definitely be returning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome pool, but rooms need UPDATE

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Pool and customer service.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated completely (new beds, sheets, towels and cabinets.
Location: On the beach. Short ride to nightlife!
Pros: Customer Service: The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Everyone from Javier (valet), Mauricio (pool server) and Alfredo (buffet host) were extremely attentive and always made sure I was serviced promptly and efficiently. The pool is amazing. Love it! Cons: I did not feel comfortable in the room. The bed was old or hard. The pillows were old. The sheets and towels were stained. Someone else here mentioned bugs in the room. Yes, there are many creepy crawlers in the room (more than the norm for a hot place). The rooms need to be completely updated. I did ask other guest about their rooms and they felt theirs was ok, so maybe it was just my room... I just could not sleep in the room comfortably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno

Staff not as good as previous stays

Posted Sep 20, 2017
First room given was unacceptable not what we booked but they made it right Hotel was at 50% Capacity so waiting a long time for service was not expected 2 of the 4 mornings we didn't get our room service requested ? Will go again 3rd trip here Willing to give them another chance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel for an exciting getaway

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The view, the food and the service
Cons: Needs to be updated and remodeled in some areas.
Location: Great location, close enough to town, yet also far enough away from the craziness
Rui Palace is a great hotel with an amazing staff for an exciting getaway from the US. We, unfortunately, went during a hurricane/tropical storm so the hotel was operating in a limited capacity, but the staff made the best of it. I would recommend this hotel for couples and maybe for families too, although it was more "adult" orientated. The food was amazing and we are extremely picky eaters. The alcohol was all free, so that's always a huge plus. I would recommend not going during hurricane season, aside from that, I would strongly recommend staying at the Rui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Beautiful location and nice view of Land's End.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The food, service, cleanliness and pools.
Cons: The TV cable programming should include more English speaking channels. Better air conditioning.
Location: Near downtown with cheap transportation. Lots of activities and tours available. Activities were provided on the resort grounds as well.
Excellent buffet food. We were planning to experience all the restaurants on the grounds thinking we would get bored by the buffet food but were so excited by the variety of gourmet choices on the buffet that we didn't want to go anywhere else. The service was impeccable and so friendly and they aim to please. The pools are well maintained as is the grounds despite the fact that they had only been open from a tropical storm hit two days before we arrived and there was tons of sand piled in the roads to the entrance. The cable TV could use some more English speaking channels but we were out of the room most of the time. We had to cut our vacation short because another hurricane was arriving. Would not recommend planning a vacation from August through October during hurricane season.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San francisco

Not worth it!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
If you're thinking of staying in this hotel, please think about it. The pictures can be deceiving but when you're there, it is so bad. Front desk and management people do t know what's customer service and satisfaction is. They lie to their guests. Quality of food in the restaurants are poor. It's all inclusive but it's not worth it. Pool is open until 7pm only. You're only allowed 1 towel in the pool area and if you lose it, you'll pay 75 bucks. AC in their rooms are not working well, we were sweating like a pig in our room at 30C degrees. Their room service is only limited as well. I want other people to know so they will not experience what we've been through and not waste their money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm beach - florida

Hotel was closed

Posted Sep 12, 2017
After make my reservation, nobody told us, the hotel was closed, we founded when we arrived to the airport
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
My husband and I went to Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas on August 30th to September 3rd. When we first arrived, we thought it was a beautiful resort that offered a variety of amenities. But on the second day of our stay, we were hit with tropical storm Lidia. There was no power or running water in the hotel for 4 days and was given bologna sandwiches to eat. When we checked out of the hotel they told us to contact their hotel management to get a refund for our stay or discounted price on our next visit. When I contacted the hotel management they told me that I had to go through expedia. I've called expedia 3x now and every time i called I was put on hold for more than an hour and couldn't get a hold of anyone. My husband and I really liked the hotel the first day we arrived and would like to re-book another trip to the same hotel once all the damages have been repaired, but would only re-book if we receive a discounted price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Horrible Experience

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: Everything. Management. An evacuation plan/emergency plan.
Location: We found out that the location of the resorts RIU Palace and Santa Fe are located in an area that was a ditch where water flows. Explains flooding.
From the start we had a horrible experience. No info about events, services available, the waiter making unnecessary inappropriate comments to my wife and so on. We went throug a tropical storm during our stay at the RIU Palace and the resort left us clueless and played with our lives in so many ways. No emergency plan or evacuation plan was in place. We had to wait in line 2 hours for food and while eating in the restaurant the ceiling was falling down on tables and nearly hitting us. Horrible. Three days with no electricity, no running water to shower or flush the toilets. Alarms in our room going off for 3 days telling us to evacuate the building yet the management told us to stay in the room. We left that resort when the roads opened up and we're shocked to see that all the other resorts were doing just fine. They explained to us that they informed their guests a day before of the storm and provided them a flashlight and some food just in case. While at the RIU Palace we were left to figure stuff out on our own. We have never been happier to be in the U.S.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon from Hell... AKA HFH

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: direct staff
Cons: Move the Santa Fe and Palace out of low areas prone to flooding. This is the 2nd time.
8/30/17 Started off wonderfully, as a newly wed couple, with flight AA2327. Sadly, that is where anything positive exited our lives. Flight AA1225, first class, horrible unhappy service. Arrived at the hotel. Wednesday was GREAT!! Then #Lidia happened. Starting at 2100 on Thursday there was no power or plumbing. Lives were risked at Riu Santa Fe, right behind Riu Palace, as they experienced flash flooding that filled the first floor rooms almost to the ceiling. Friday AM breakfast came to us in our room in a bag. Chips, granola bar, juice box, and warm sandwich thing. Electricity, without AC, was restored by 2100 on Friday. We used our trash can to get water from the pool to flush the toilet. Intermittent cold water was restored on Sunday. No access to alcohol after Thursday unless we walked into Cabo. Random fire alarms in the middle of the night. Sunday we "slept" with the red light blinking all night. Staff said they didn't know the code to shut off. Same night we learned Geko's chirp like birds. We found him hiding in the curtains 2 days later. O and the cockroach on our floor. O and, no ac = humid - our luggage started molding. Gray Line completely forgot about our transfer back to the hotel. Lastly the parking attendant burped in our face when we checked out of airport parking. No other resorts in the area had any loss of function. Saturday spent >60 on hold with Expedia to learn we would get an email (didn't) to learn IF the hotel was giving refunds. Still NO email.