Ratings based on 5,701 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver , Wa

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
We where celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary there and we can say we where very happy with our choice . The entire resort was very clean , the staff was at all times hard working and friendly . The restaurants where very good and had something for everyone . We will definitely stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Ok hotel uncomfortable bed

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Stayed at this resort for a week and it was ok. Not the best food at all. Honestly it had no flavor and it was nothing like traditional Mexican food . Also there was so many birds all over the food and the staff wouldn't move them away . So people were eating food that had birds all over it . The bed was the worst!! Super hard I would rather sleep on the floor . Honestly I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Customer Service Stinks!

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Entertainment Staff Food Cleanliness
Cons: You need to make a reservation at one of their 4 dining options or you have to eat buffet. Be prepared to tip in order to get a reservation!
I stayed here last year (2 rooms) and wasn't overly pleased with the customer service we received; but the atmosphere, entertainment staff and food was great.So when selecting a resort for our family trip (6 PPL/2 rooms) this year I decided to go back. his time 3 ppl missed the AM departing flight, I contacted Expedia and they called the hotel directly to let them know 3 of us would arrive on time for the one room and the other 3 would arrive one day behind.Upon arrival my husband let the hotel also know that our flight got messed up and we would be arriving one day late.I had requested 2 rooms next to each other and also building number 7.They said they couldn't accommodate my request bc I wasn't there and was a no-show.They put him in building 2, not 7.When I finally arrived the next day to check in they could not find my reservation and the manager was very curt and basically acted like he did me a favor by reinstating my reservation. Again, I was a repeat customer who had gone thru a very rough few days trying to get there. He would not put our rooms next to each other and would not grant my request for building #7 unless we paid an additional $23 per person per night.Would've been an additional $966.00 for all 6 of us for the week. Last year my two rooms were right next to each other in building 7 and I did not pay extra. The manager told me if they are full and have to put us there that's a different story.I met plenty of ppl during the week that didn't pay extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Last Minute Summer Break Vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The pools and the view to the beach, the restaurants & bars, especially being all inclusive.
Cons: We had to phone several times to get a new refrigerator and more pillows. Need more ice in the ice machine.
Location: The location was excellent and we took a catamaran out, had a blast.
Overall, we had a great experience. Nice pools and beautiful views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Absolute disaster

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Service, cleanliness, attention to detail, attitude, quality.
Where to begin, the rooms were dirty, the hotel staff confused and unhelpful, and overall terrible customer service and quality. Our first night, my roommate was covered in BED BUG bites. We requested to change rooms and the manager in charge gave a lot of pushback but alluded to this being an issue in the past. They moved our room and gave us the wrong set of keys 4 times - unbelievable! The hotel staff was unhelpful and rude. Our room was never cleaned properly, or dusted at all. The dinner buffet was dirty and covered in flies. Absolutely disturbing stay and experience - we want our money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Nice hotel and grounds. Excellent location. Buffet meals had lots of options. Bed was a little hard. Difficult to get into the specific restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Wonderful vacation at Riu. My kids so enjoy it. We will be back some days..............................................................................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from albuquerque

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Hotel staff were nice except for the front desk staff. The front desk staff were not friendly and were rude when we called to notify them of a water leak coming from the roof into the room, maintenance came by however the leak was still there after they left and no one cleaned up the mess it left. Try to make a reservation to the evening restaurant was a hassle and the staff at the restaurant would stare and not explain how their reservations worked or what needed to be done. I would not return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Noisy guests, house cleaning was questionable. Access to beach that you can't swim in and have to go further down the coast to enter the water. Staff was extremely nice and efficient and grounds are beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Receptionist people very unprofessional

Posted Aug 13, 2017
You have to put your name on the list about 5:30 ann 6 :30 if you don't you don't get in....But if you tip very generous 20 Dollars on the door and another 10 inside you get in.