Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Very good hotel. Excellent location, very clean. Very good breakfast great service!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Okay Hotel In Suspect Neighborhood

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The best thing about this hotel is the pleasant staff and really good gym. It is not in the best area of Medellin. I took a walk during the day and was approached by a pack of kids who seemed under the influence of drugs and I saw other groups of young people who looked rather menacing. The hotel itself is rather worn and is okay if you just need a place to lay your head. So I moved to a better place in the much more pleasant Las Palmas area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maintenance problems

Posted Sep 20, 2014
At the beginning of my stay I reported that the black out was not working. I checked out and they never fixed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Wisconsin

Hotel Tryp

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Excellent, friendly staff!
Cons: Some of the public areas, (hallways, rooftop lounge) are showing signs of wear.
Location: Many great little neighborhoods. Easy to access the city via Metro.
The Hotel Tryp is very conveniently located near the Estadio complex and only a few blocks from the Estadio Metro station. There are several nice neighborhoods to stroll through near the hotel. Before booking we had read several reviews complaining of noise. We stayed during two football games and had no issues with noise. The staff is excellent and very helpful. During our stay I experienced a reaction from a food allergy. The front desk called a doctor and doctor, nurse, and interpreter all came to my room at midnight. All free service. There is an excellent gym attached to the lobby that hotel guests can use all of their cardio equipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2014
The Bar , the lady is inclusive, Good Job.....Good Salsa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to university

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Nice business hotel with cool roof top jacuzzi area. Nice staff, good location, safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff is top notch

Posted Jul 20, 2012
hotel is well kept and new. staff was very kind and helpfull. location of the hotel is not the greatest unless you want to be close to the stadium or downtown. i would definately recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by James from San Jose, CA, USA

Terrible, terrible, terrible

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: There was a very nice young man with a broad smile at the desk who was extremely friendly trying to help us solve our problems, but was overwhelmed.
Cons: Terrible in every respect. Nothing to recommend.
Location: Nowhere to go, except the stadium across the street. Dirty and dicey.
Our experience at Tryp Medellin was simply horrible. The hotel is located in a dicey neighborhood, to begin with. Despite the high price, the place is more like a dormitory for whatever team is playing at the stadium across the street than a hotel. We arrived around 9:30 pm. Restaurant was closed, and the girl at the desk wasn't sure if room service was available. She called to find out; they said yes. We got to the room, which was barren and cold, and called room service. No menu in the room (also no list of the TV channels and the minibar was locked). We ordered some food. After half an hour the kitchen called back to say they only had "ham and cheese sandwiches." We waited another 45 minutes for the sandwiches to arrive and when they did, they were TERRIBLE. Next morning the breakfast buffet was closed at 9:30 though it was supposed to be open until 10. They apologized and tried to give us some kind of food. Staff told us the mini-bar was "out sourced" so they couldn't open it. Our room was on the street and was very noisy. We hated the place so much we left two days before our reservation expired. Do NOT stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel Tryp 2012

Posted Mar 5, 2012
The Hotel was in a nice location, not too far from 2 Metro stations that give you access to most of the city. The staff where extremely friendly, and were always willing to help and have answers. They constantly make sure that everything is to your pleasure and that you always have what you need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogotá

No parece un hotel Tryp, decepcionante.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Nada
Cons: Todo
Location: Cerca a la zona deportiva y al estadio.
Quiero empezar diciendo que conozco el Tryp de Bogotá y me he hospedado en el Tryp de Bucaramanga y son excelentes, pero desde que entré al Tryp de Medellín me decepcioné completamente, el lobby es sucio, de mal gusto, parece un hotel barato, y la atención del personal es terrible, los empleados de la recepción el día que yo llegué estaban de particular y uno no sabia si trabajaban allí o no. Fui en mi vehículo particular y entré al parqueadero muy fácil, no hay un control, les pedí un comprobante o recibo y me dijeron que no se hacian responsables por el vehículo, es decir que si se lo robaban o le pasaba algo era responsabilidad mia. La habitación no era por la que pagué, era una habitación de dos camas pequeñas a la que le habían sacado una de ellas, bajé a la recepción para hacer el reclamo y me dijeron que todas eran iguales y que estaban con ocupación alta y no me podian cambiar de habitación, aparte de eso les pedí otra tarjeta de acceso a la habitación para mi esposa y me dijeron "estamos cortos de tarjetas" literal, pero si yo extravío la tarjeta o la pierdo hay un cobro de 15.000 pesos. Las sabanas y las fundas de la cama manchadas, terrible. la chica que hace el aseo entró a la habitación sin golpear primero y mi esposa estaba desnuda saliendo del baño. el desayuno muy regular, y el comedor feo y sin gusto. no, mejor dicho un hotel terrible en todo sentido y el personal ni se diga. no se lo recomiendo a nadie y mucho menos por ese precio, es botar el dinero.