Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Quite. Nice staff. Walking distance to several restaurants. Breakfast options were plentiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukie, Oregon

Posted May 7, 2017
The staff are very nice and do what they can to make your stay a nice one. They changed my sheets for me when I found a hair and also so changed the TV in my room so I could use my blue ray player.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you experienced hair in your sheets and are glad that we were able to remedy the situation for you. We hope to see you again on your next visit to beautiful Ashland!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Potential but not quite there

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: I liked the design of the room overall. The price was right too.
Cons: There needs to be a sliding door for the bathrooms, there's just not the room for a huge door. There are also not enough trash cans.
Location: We didn't explore but there was a science museum, restaurants, and parks.
My first impression was that I liked the design--the "master" bedroom and bath was in the back, separated from the front room by the kitchenette. Nice for families. But the bathrooms have a minor design flaw. The rooms are so small and the doors so big that the doors almost touch the toilets when you open them, and the toilet paper is behind the door. Then the kitchenette. We assume, when it says there's a kitchen or kitchenette, that there will be supplies. There was nothing. There were a couple plates and bowls and cups. But even though there was a stove and oven, there were none--zero--cooking or baking supplies. No pots, pans, baking dishes, etc. No tools, no silverware. No kitchen towels or other cleaning items except one sponge and a small bottle of dish soap. So while I had things to cook, I had nothing to cook with or on. We had "wireless" access, such as it was. Which was not much. It was horrible. I couldn't even get my iPhone to pick up signal except right by the front window--like, I had to stand with the phone pressed to the window to get any signal at all. I tried to let me kids watch a movie on a Kindle but had to try three different Cedarwood Inn networks to get a halfway decent signal. I get it about lots of people using it. But it's a hotel--of course there will be lots of people. So if they're going to advertise WiFi, they should at least have a good signal.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We like to hear how we are doing here at the Cedarwood Inn. We are sorry that you had problems with our internet and can assure you that this is an issue that we are trying to remedy. As you can tell, the original set up of the hotel was definitely not completed with WiFi in mind. We are also sorry to hear that you were unable to take advantage of our kitchenette. All of our kitchenette rooms should be stocked with these items and a quick phone call to the office would have resulted in getting these items to you immediately. We realize that you should not have had to notify us since these items should have already been in the room; unfortunately, details sometimes are overlooked by staff or are quickly forgotten in the everyday happenings. We hope that these issues will not deter you from staying with us again and that your next stay be everything you expect a vacation to be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood Country, Calif.

Basic Motel near Town with good local bus service.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The cost and location and staff. Adequate parking.
Cons: More up to date info on renovation, a good Hot Tub and Sauna
Location: A lot of good food Restaurants, Coffee Shops, Local Shopping, very nice City Park and of Course Shakespeare in Ashland.
It was adequate for the cost, but small rooms. Inside warm pool was round and very small. Could not really swim in it. I suggested they remodel and make it a large hearted Hot Tub. Sauna, Wet did not work, Dry was so what and took way to long to heat up. Expected good breakfast but they are renovating the Breakfast Room so only coffee and some rolls, bagels. Very good staff but last day we finally had to request our room be cleaned as they forgot it. I would not stay there again as there are a lot of other motels available in the area at or near the same cost. I chose this one because of the Breakfast, Heated Pool and Sauna and expected Larger Rooms. None of these met my expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us here at the Cedarwood Inn! We were not aware that our steam sauna was not working, or maybe the message did not get passed along to management when it was made known. Whatever the case, we will definitely be addressing this immediately as well as the not receiving housekeeping during your stay. This is the kind of review that makes our eyes get big and our brows furrow as we read it, but also why we appreciate the feedback positive or negative. We are definitely happy to hear that you would be willing to give us another chance and hope that we can better satisfy your expectations during your next visit to Ashland. We look forward to serving your hospitality needs in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Nice large bed, very clean room, large shower, microwave and fridge. I was very comfortable! Wifi didn't work, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Cedarwood Inn Front Desk, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but are sorry that your WiFi was not as enjoyable. We have several hotspots throughout the grounds so that everyone can enjoy our WiFi; unfortunately, the multiple hotspots did nothing for your connection to the WiFi. We hope that you will come see us again soon and that you will find everything in working condition. We definitely understand the importance of WiFi these days!
1 out of 5
by Erin

An actual roach motel

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
I'm not sure why this motel was rated as highly as it was. It had hot water and (hopefully) clean sheets, but it also had an actual cockroach in the room, it was not well maintained, and "breakfast" was a joke. I was traveling on a very tight budget and only staying because of bad weather on my way to Portland, so I appreciate the price, but I chose it because I didn't have extra money for breakfast. I felt misled by the listed rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you feel misled by our rating! We try to give all of our guests a good experience. We are in the process of renovating and revamping our breakfast and apologize that our limited breakfast service was not equal to your expectations. The room that you stayed in had new carpet as well as some other renovations done recently, so we are saddened to hear that this too made you feel uncomfortable. We wish you had come in and spoken to us about the issues you had during your stay as we are not aware of having cockroaches in any of our rooms. Hopefully, you were able to have a safe trip and that the rest of your trip was more pleasant!
4 out of 5
by ke from or coast

clean affordable quality rooms

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Ashland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent Value..Cozy and spacious room!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Our room was huge! 3 times the size of our room we stayed in the night before in the Bay Area for quite a bit more money! Staff was very pleasant.
Cons: Skimpy breakfast...toast/instant oatmeal..no juice or fruit. Minimal toiletries in bathroom- no shampoo.
Location: Ashland is an idyllic town.Take some time to explore it! Both Market of Choice and The Ashland Co op are excellent places to pick up grab and go meals
Stayed here heading home from Thanksgiving visit to California. Very pleasant staff, location, comfortable and cozy hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating! We are always happy to hear that our guest had a good experience with their stay. We hope you had a great Thanksgiving visit and a wonderful new year!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for price.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Warm, small, indoor pool was nice. Dry sauna room didn't seem to work; wet sauna room takes a minute to heat up. Didn't try outdoor pool. Not a HOT breakfast, but adequate. Old rooms, but refurbished. Have stayed several times, sometimes the indoor pool and breakfast room were late getting opened, but the price is the reason I return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are taking the time this winter to do some upgrades as well. We hope you will stay with us again and that you will be able to enjoy all that the Cedarwood Inn has to offer and will have to offer as we complete renovations. Have a wonderful New Year!