Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay nice room
1 out of 5
by Miles

Not as advertised

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
After looking for a hotel in Cologne at short notice, I booked two nights at City Hotel Storch. It wouldn't have been my choice if I had more time in advance to book my accommodation in Cologne. The man at the reception who checked me in was rude, unhelpful and behaved in a weird manner. He didn't seem like he was interested in his job. I made my payment which was more than the price given on the Hotels.com website. He said the price online is for the room and the extra is other charges. Then when he asked me to fill in a form I think he noticed that I was staying with another male (the hotel check in form specifically asks for the names of any guests). He then gave me the keys to room 8 and I was shocked to find a tiny room with two tiny single beds. I haven't seen single beds so narrow in a hotel room in my life. I went back downstairs and complained and was told that when you book a room for 2 online, you can't choose whether it's a double bed or two single beds. I was unhappy that he expected me to stay in this room and move the beds together myself. The beds themselves were uncomfortable and I felt claustrophobic in the room. I wasn't offered the correct sheets or covers after putting the beds together. The bathroom was old fashioned but clean and the shower worked well. My advice is to only stay here if you don't find anywhere else to stay.
3 out of 5
by looseleaf from Auckland, New Zealand

OK but poor Wifi in room

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room was fine and surprisingly the bathroom was a size up from the closet with a toilet you usually get. There are a lot of stairs and no elevator as mentioned by other reviews. This is is not a hotel for the unfit or those with alot of luggage. The WiFi was very weak it would time out during normal browsing. I was unable to play YouTube videos (even at low resolution) or stream music so you can forget 4k Netflix. In effect there is no usable Internet. I only stayed two nights so managed to do without but others might struggle. Location is OK but not close to any public transport so there is no choice but to walk.
3 out of 5
by Fatimahwati

Shopping heaven

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place to shop.... nice scenery & not enough time for shopping.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient one night stay

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice spacious room with a bathroom attached. It's a quiet neighborhood and everything is just a 15 minute (or less) walk away. The sheets on the bed seemed old and had holes in them, but besides that everything was clean. The bed stI'll seemed washed though, just old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean if small room but suitable

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: ideal for the cathedral, hauptbahnof and starting point to explore cologne
clean, small however everything I needed for a short 2 night stay and the hotel was really within walking distance of the hauptbahnof and cathedral!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and spacious with a double bed and a single bed and a small bathroom. It was lovely stay. The only drawback is that I stayed in the last floor and it was difficult carrying the luggage up and down the stairs. The towels were changed and room cleaned everyday. I did not have breakfast so I can't comment on it.
5 out of 5
by ALIREZA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Alejandro from Tholey

Not so impressive

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room I got was on the third floor, and the hotel has no elevator. The shower has a leak on the hose that flooded the bathroom every time I showered. The internet speed was poor. The clown hanging at the entrance is kinda spooky
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coventry

Nice hotel close to town

Posted May 2, 2016
The hotel is cheap and is within walking distance to cologne town centre. Close to bars and clubs if you are into cologne nightlife.