Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great hotel for families

Posted Nov 2, 2017
The hotel's pool is great for kids that want to hit the water slides. There's 2 of them and they keep the kids occupied for hours. The suite was in a different tower away from the noisy pool. The king suite was big enough for 2 adults and 3 young kids, nice huge bathroom. Clean and fairly comfortable but don't expect a high end hotel, it's showing its age a bit. Really large/good buffet breadfast. The in house restaurant was delicious and they supplied us with a 20% off coupon upond check-in, 8 of us dined for $80 and had left overs too boot. Great food, I'd eat there everyone I visit in the future. This hotel is defenitely a great value for families, will stay there again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, Waterpark and delicious food in our Eatalian Kitchen. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Not Maintained, Poor Housekeeping and Worn Out.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Hote Cleanliness, Housekeeping and needs Renovating
Location: We left and then checked into the Home Inn across the highway from this one, and spent the rest of the day in bed or the bathroom.
First night that we checked into The Medicine Hat Lodge the room was supposedly cleaned but it was obvious that someone had been lying on the bed. They moved us into another room that had been cleaned by their standards. The mirrors and taps had water spots on them and it certainly hadn't been dusted very well. We had to ask the front desk for more hand towels, wash cloths, a light bulb, water cups and 2 pillows, as the flat pillows on the beds were very worn out. Maintenance was suppose to come the next day with a new light bulb for the lamp, but never showed up. The other 2 lamps also had the energy saving bulbs in them and lighting in the room was so bad at times we had to use our flashlights to see into our suitcases or TV remote. Rugs well worn and the temperature control unit had dust balls on the screens, etc. Windows in our room looked like they had never been cleaned. Water was so hard the soap wouldn't lather. Although the hotel was pretty disgusting, the staff were all very friendly and nice and did try to accommodate us for the 2 nights we stayed. The morning we checked out of the hotel, had our vehicles packed up and ready to go. We decided to eat in the little garden restaurant adjacent to the front desk. We both ordered the breakfast special. Neither of us could finish our meal before we both had to run to the washroom with diarrhea and upset stomach. We had food poisoning and couldn't drive home that day. Left and checked into another hotel for the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Friendly service and pleasant atmosphere. Perfect stop when traveling with your family as the Lodge provides entertainment for all ages.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Convenient location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Medicine Hat Lodge is convenient to the TC Hwy. Rooms a rather dark as lighting is poor. Although I did not use it, the water park facility looks inviting. Breakfast buffet is plentiful but lacking in quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you liked the convenient location of the hotel. Guest feedback is important to us so that we may fix these issues. We hope you give us a second chance to turn your poor experience into a great one.Thank you. We truly appreciate it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sask.

Losing its touch..

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The weather !!!
Cons: Separate space for adults...
Location: A casino, but their even loosing that...
Stayed in the sauna suite for 2 nights on our anniversary. Room was ok but couch as uncomfortable as can be. We tried to hot tub but was absolutely full of loud and splashing children. Even the casino had its share of poorly informed people. Not at all relaxing....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning Joe, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a relaxing stay for your anniversary. That is not the standard we hold ourselves to at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I hope you will give us a second chance to turn your poor experience into an excellent one. Thank you for you feedback. We truly appreciate it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overnight stay

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Very nice breakfast buffet and dining facility
Cons: identification sign on the hotel building
Location: near shopping mall and restaurants.
Extremely hard to find one little portable sign on a trailer on a side street. Had to stop a person on the street for directions/ where the hotel was located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge with the nice complimentary hot breakfast buffet and dining facilities including our Redwood Steakhouse, Eatalian Kitchen and Elements Lounge. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you encountered locating the hotel. Guest feedback is important to us so that we may fix these issues. We hope to have you stay again us again soon. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Water park great

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Hotel is nothing special but the water park is great when travelling with children. Rooms a bit tired and need some updating. Breakfast is included and adequate buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest feedback is important to us so that we may fix these issues. Thank you. We truly appreciate it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pilot Butte, Sk

Unplanned stop

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Due to a blizzard and terrible road conditions we made an unplanned stop. Good location right off the highway. The price was good. We enjoyed the soak in the hot pool. The facilities were clean and well kept. Staff friendly. The breakfast was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean, well kept facilities, hot tub, friendly staff and our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oshawa Ontario

Nice hotel in Medicine Hat

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice hotel! Quiet, clean with friendly staff. Recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the nice clean and quiet hotel with our friendly staff. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We have stayed at your hotel 4 times this summer. That is how much we enjoyed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Assistant Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying at the Medicine Hat Lodge this summer. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thank you.