Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fantastic break in Marrakech.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hospitality - staff were brilliant and prepared to satisfy all our requests. The hotel is quaint but very comfortable - look past the few missing tiles and a couple of almost manufactured cracks, it is original. The location can be a bit noisy - but you're in the Medina and experiencing what a traditional neighbourhood feels like. The bed was surprisingly comfortable although it felt hard at first - the room very comfortable with the sitcom / heater. Will definitely revisit this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

Excellent staff

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, aircon which heated the room, quiet area, courtyard to eat and relax.
Cons: Getting the room we had booked. Non- smoking building.
Location: In the Mellah area which is a relatively quiet warren of streets. Once orientated it was easy to get to and from the centre of Marrakech.
We stayed here for 2 nights in February. The room we had booked was not available, we were given a ground floor room for the first night and offered the suite on the top floor for the second. This offer was made several times, but we couldn't face packing and unpacking for one night. It was also cold when we visited, and the suite on the top floor was quite exposed. There were two issues with the ground floor room. The first was a platform bed that was difficult to get in and out of. The second was that it was necessary to have the door open on to the courtyard as there was no window. Unfortunately this meant that the room was filled with cigarette smoke when people were smoking in the courtyard. This gave us sore throats and we came back with our clothes smelling of smoke.
4 out of 5
by Holly from USA

gem in Marrakech

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
It is a hidden gem in Marrakech. From the outside it doesn't look like much, but from the inside it is quite nice. Friendly service and a convenient location make this a great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ/HK

Faded glory

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Apart from a hiccup at arrival (taxi wasn't at the bus station tower us as arranged) and a hiccup when leaving (taxi driver thought he was taking us to the bus station not Casablanca airport) we really enjoyed our stay. The riad is in need of a little tlc but Zak and Shakib were very friendly and helpful hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impossibly Nice

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Cons: Perhaps a smoking area could be created for guests who wish to smoke, to avoid guests who do not wish to smell smoke having to experience it.
Location: There are many shops, museums and places to eat nearbye. I have eaten more on this trip then any of the other 30 countries I have been to.
I normally prefer to say at least one thing negative about each place I stay in order to ensure it is a real review. Unfurtunately Dar Crystal was outstanding in every respect. The location was close to many interesting venues, the staff were helpful and the environment was relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theo from Brighton UK

Great lace to stay.

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Efficient, effective staff. Good situation.
Cons: Guidebook to hotel could include more information (about wi-fi, local eating places, routes to centre of town, buse routes e.g.)
Location: Is v close to Jewish cemetery, local market, Bahia palace, the lovely Place des Ferblantiers. Easy walking distance to the main square, souks, etc.
Lovely place to stay. Good traditional design, not too in your face showy. Staff wonderfully helpful and friendly. Great breakfast, effective wi-fi. Roof top well-designed. Within walking distance of the centre of the old city. Situated in the v interesting old Jewish quarter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

There were several alley way turns,

Posted May 28, 2013
and a small sign at the door, but opening the door, the interior courtyard is beautiful. If you ask Abdul at the spice store near Bahia Palace, he will tell you the alley way turns. The room and bath were very modern and comfortable. The evening staff person did not speak English, but he worked very hard to provide good service. I would definitely stay there again. Although the alley way route was formidable at first, I (an older single woman) felt very safe in the medina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Parfait !

Posted May 6, 2017
Riad situé dans la médina à dix minutes à pied de la place Jemaa el-Fna. Magnifique, sur trois étages avec une terrasse ouverte avec vue panoramique sur toute la médina et sur l'Atlas. Chambres propres, décoration typique, calme avec petite piscine. Nous avons été accueillies par Zacharia, qui a bien pris une heure pour nous faire visiter le Riad, pour nous expliquer avec un plan tout ce qu'on pouvait faire à Marrakech et les alentours. À notre arrivée thé à la menthe et gâteaux offerts très appréciable ! Lui et son collègue Hamza étaient là pour nous tout les jours, prenaient toujours le temps de nous écouter et de nous conseiller sur la vie à Marrakech. Plus que serviable, deux personnes avec le cœur sur la main, que nous sommes heureuses d'avoir rencontré et tristes d'avoir quitté ! Petit déjeuner frais et excellent qui change tout les jours. Un grand merci à Djamila pour ces plats et son sourire ! Peut organiser des excursions. Les garçons nous ont organisé une excursion à la Palmeraie, nous ont commandé un taxi pour l'aller et pour le retour. Si nous devons retourner sur Marrakech c'est avec plus que plaisir et sans hésitation que nous retournerons au Dar Crystal ! Encore merci à Zacharia et Hamza pour tout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Zuhause sein in Marrakesch

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Eine Oase der Entspannung in einer sehr aufgeweckten Stadt. Sehr, sehr empfehlenswert!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Nice Riad close to Bahia Palace

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The roofterrace and authentic feel, the staff.
Cons: My bed was a bit hard.
Location: The Riad is close to Bahia Palace and Place des Ferblantiers, so restaurants and shops are within walking distance.
I stayed for 12 nights and loved it. The staff is very friendly and helpful.