Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

@HIPHOPTRAVELGUIDE

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
It's like stepping inside of a #magical #world when you find just the right boutique #hotel to #blend #imagination and #reality into #one- The Riad Dar Darma is such a place with an air of #arrogant #extravagance Dar Darma Riad dares to take you back to a time of #Moroccan Prince and Princes #secret #hideaway where only #enchanting #love can live - @hiphoptravelguide
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The accommodating staff.
Location: Central location in the city.
Dar Darma had the most attentive and accommodating staff that we have seen. The location is central which is good for getting around in the city but traveling with three daughters it was sometimes difficult to navigate the streets without having to deal with the local young men. The Riad itself was great. I have to commend the staff for helping us arrange guides, drivers, and airport pickups. The staff is what made our stay wonderful. Breakfast and dinner was made available on our schedule and served in the room or on the beautiful terrace. Kids were able to cool off in the terrace pool in complete privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff make this Riad. It's beautiful too!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Wonderful kind and attentive staff who made us feel like family. Beautiful suite (Mirrors) which was huge, tasteful and well appointed. Wonderful roof top terrace for relaxing and delicious abundant breakfast each day. We were pampered and well looked after and I haven't slept so well or so much in years! Thank you for a fabulous stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be back

Posted May 14, 2016
The blue room is nice, but unless you have a family you aren't staying in that room. I splurged on this hotel because I thought the pictures looked beautiful but really, it's dark and unkept and in a deep alley in the medina. We had a bad experience with the kids that hang out in front of it waiting for you to get lost. The thing about staying in the Medina --if you're a tourist, you need to know how to get to your riad so you need to stay in a non-shady area that's easy to get to. I loved Riad Taala 12. When I come back to Marrakech I'm going to stay there again or try a riad that's closer to Jemaa El Fnaa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funky Medina

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Arrange transportation to and from this riad with the hotel or else no matter how well equipped you are with maps and gps you are sure to get lost. After staying 4 nights at the 4 Seasons this riad was just the dose of "in the medina experience" we craved. The vibe Is definitely hipster meets Moroccan, with low level lighting to hide any imperfections and to keep the mood zen. Dinner on the roof is what they bring you - go with the flow as it is delicious and reasonable (around $25 per person for 3 courses). We arranged on arrival to have a bottle of wine purchased and put on ice. Cost: $30. Book the more expensive suites to get the full vibe. Recommend this riad for design conscious travelers but not for those who are uptight and can't handle stairs.
3 out of 5
by philip from San Francisco

Great looking Quiet riad in Marrakesh

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great service, great room, Le Bleu, nice food, Very Private, quiet Riad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Calm oasis in the chaos of the city

Posted Apr 21, 2015
We loved Dar Darma, the overall impression of the place is design and seclusion nestled in one of the most intense cities I have ever experienced. The team are fantastic and the two main guys (the two Saids) were brilliant, always smiling, incredibly attentive and they make a mean mint tea! We started in the orange room and were lucky enough to spend our last night in the red suite... Which was incredible! We would fall asleep to the sound of the water in the courtyard and wake up to the sound of the call to prayer coming from the mosque. The team were on hand to have stiff coffee already as soon as we surfaced and they even surfaced early the morning that we were booked on a day trip. If you get a chance, arrange supper on the rooftop terrace, our first evening meal was at the Riad and it was the best meal we had the whole time we were in Marrakech!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from somerset

An oasis of peace and calm

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The surprise at the sheer scale and size of the Riad plus the decor and furnishings provided a memorable experience.
Cons: Nothing could improve the experience in my view.
Location: Right on top of the Souk and near to Ben Youssef Medrassa and Jeema El Fna this is a brilliant base to experience Marrakech from.
Behind the street door sits a wonderfully atmospheric and calming interior of tall ceilings, dark furniture and beautiful suites. I stayed in the suite of mirrors and whilst some will say it is dark and not well lit it oozes character and atmosphere. The roof terrace, seating area and pool is an absolute oasis of peace and tranquility and is a welcome respite from the hurly burly of the Souks nearby. Staying in a Riad is an experience not to be missed, its personal and high on quality service from the staff, Saeed and Abdul are two of the friendliest most helpful people you are likely to encounter. Overall this is a place for a brave, confident traveller who appreciates something a bit different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Opulant Riad and Great service

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The originality of this riad, the space, tranquility and decor
Cons: Put bathrobes and sleepers in the room and even better some kaftans to keep it authentic
Location: The souks an d main square within a few minutes walk
Beautifully designed with antiques and works of art, it shouts a sense of opulence and casual elegance. Breakfast was served at our own time on the beautiful terrace, with crepes, coffee, cakes or omelets, if you have wished. Said was there for us all the time to help and accommodate any request. All the stuff members always very polite and smiley, and nothing was ever a problem. The riad is fantastically clean.
4 out of 5
by Cindy from San Francisco

Chic hidaway Riad

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
Hip Moroccian vibe with a lovely staff. Location is a but further from the Soucks that I had hoped but the place is like another world. Great patio upstairs with two small pools. Just wished where was some plants downstairs for it was a bit stern. Enjoyed our stay!