Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield.

Very exciting stay in Medina, Kasbah area.

Posted May 29, 2017
Wonderful to escape the busy city in Riad Alma, lovely authentic hospitality. Hidden away in narrow back streets, recommend prearranged pick up to help get there. A brisk 10-15 mins to the square so near enough to the main sites and smells. Clean spacious suit, air conditioning and comfortable. Great breakfast anytime, open access and good introduction and orientation by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Very happy with our stay. The staff and owners were lovely. Would be very happy to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CBG

Great Riad in the Kasbah

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Beautifully decorated, perfect lounging areas on the roof and around the pool and a very friendly and accommodating staff. During our 4 night stay, we were treated extremely well - even had dinner there one night which was exceptional. Our room was very clean, modern lay outfitted and perfectly sized for two. Mourad was able to secure us transportation for a day trip. The one downside would be the distance to the Medina/heart of the city. But it was very safe to walk and definitely tucked away from the business of the Kasbah streets. I will stay again on my next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic Riad!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
I can't recommend Riad Alma highly enough. Hidden away through a maze of back streets, Riad Alma is a welcoming and tranquil place to stay. Moirad, the owner, greeted us with big smiles and lots of helpful advice on our first night and throughout our stay, he could not have been a better host. He made us feel so welcome and happily helped us with everything we asked for, including arranging taxis to restaurants to save the bother of having to negotiate fares and a trip to ride some camels. There were always staff on hand to help with any requests too. We stayed in one of the rooms with a private balcony and enjoyed our morning tea and coffee overlooking the courtyard watching the little birds hop about. I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by Marijo

Excellent stay during holiday season

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
This was our first time in Morroco and we did not know what to expect, especially for two guys traveling alone. I have to say that our stay at Riad Alma exceeded our expectation. Riad Alma was at first tricky to find but we have contacted the host before our arrival and Mourad a Property Manager arranged a taxi pick up for us at the airport for 15 Euros. We arrived late around 9.30PM and Mourad made us a very nice welcome dinner with some local wine. Next morning we were welcomed with rich continental breakfast which was included every day during our stay. Mourad was very helpful and explained us how to navigate through the city by showing us directions on the map since our travel guide did not show up on time. Overall, I have to say that we were very comfortable staying at Riad Alma, property is very well maintained and clean and entire staff was very helpful and kind. Special thank you to ladies in the kitchen as we had three dinner requests during our stay that were prepared for us with on a very short notice. Food was excellent and prepared with high quality ingredients. Also, we spent there New Years Eve having dinner with other guests. Mourad was very helpful to answer all of our questions and gave us some good recommendations what to see in Marrakesh. Thank you very much for being a great host and we would like to recommend staying at Riad Alma to everyone who is looking into high quality stay that is safe, clean, friendly and accommodating to their guests. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Riad Alma in December

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay at Riad Alma. We had a very spacious room on the top floor with great views. The hotel staff were very helpful with directions and provided a delicious breakfast each morning.
5 out of 5
by Walter from Dublin

You wont find much better than this!

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was fantastic, very accommodating, friendly and always smiling. They went out of their way for us at all times to the points to even show me around the city one of the nights on their own vehicle and take me to a local Shisha Bar, cook me any food I want and recommend us a restaurant (which was sincerely, very upscale and fun). The day before me and my friends arrived we asked to have beers bought for us and "voila!" when we arrived they had bought a 48 pack. The atmosphere was fantastic as we literally had the whole place for ourselves (the terrace is amazing) and in the morning you wake up with the birds singing just outside your window. The decoration is impeccable and really gives you the feel that you are in Morocco. Of course it was not perfect, but nothing is. My room had not "hot" water, it was just body temperature, which was fine by me. The neighborhood looked a bit rough, but then again, we decided to stay at the "real" side of town (Medina) where we could see a bit of the real Marrakech. If you want to go to a really nice restaurant go to "Le Comptoir Darna" I swear you wont regret! If I ever go back to Marrakech I would not think twice, I would stay there again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Very quiet and traditional Riad

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Situated perfectly a short 10-15 mins from Jenna el fna square. Nearby to amazing street food vendors in Kasbah area, healthy, fresh and most importantly cheap food (compared to tourist sections). Staff at Riad Alma are so welcoming and friendly and so easygoing. Breakfast is fresh and personally prepared by the staff. We were fortunate to have the Riad to ourselves and felt so homely watching some late night TV in the lounge surrounded by rustic morroccan furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MAIDSTONE

an Oasis

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Definitely the staff and the individually decorated and layout of the rooms
Cons: The owner, George No mention of the spa or roof terrace we asked if he could organise a spa and camel trip but we only saw him once!
Location: We went to the local La Sultana hotel ( a must if you fancy 5 star treatment)
Don't be put off by its location and the route you have to take to find Riad Alma, it's all part of the experiance. The Riad it's self is full of tradition and individuality. We booked the airport transfers well in advance and independently as no one answered the hotel phone in the weeks before our arrival. We were greeted by 'George' who tried to tell us about the Riad and how to get about in marrakech, unfortunately we didn't speak much french and he didn't speak much English. That said we asked for a snack due to long journey and were amazed how quickly the staff rustled something up. We never saw George again throughout our 5 day stay! We found that we were left to sort things out, which wasn't a problem to us but may be if you're used to being pampered. This is the sort of place that if you want something, you have to go and find the staff and ask. Don't wait to be asked as it will never come. The staff were the best thing about this experience. They 'jazzed' up the continental breakfast, they kept the place immaculate and were always willing to help. Be sure to ask for the roof terrace, if it wasn't for the guest photos we would never have known that it was there (another George forgot to mention ). Enjoy the Souks and NEVER listen to people willing to help you. They will send you to there shop telling you 'its this way to the big square ) we found that you used the map and the compass on the iPhone we could head in a rough direction until we found a landmark
4 out of 5
by melanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels