Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Authentic riad experience

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a good choice if you want a really authentic riad experience at a decent cost. Located on narrow and dark alleys (with young guys hanging out in small groups), it is next to impossible find without a guide. Even though the alleys are small, they are packed with traffic, from cars to mules and bikes to pedestrians and after a rain they get muddy. There is hardly any insulation so everyone can hear everyone inside. I would not trust the lock on the room door. Some of the staff speak English more and some less. No cards were accepted. I got my shirts ironed by the lady making breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great kasbah living

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were tremendously friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very plentiful and healthy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
We had a great stay, lovely people scythe hotel, made us feel very welcome. Very helpful,nothing was too much trouble for them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CON DO NOT STAY

Posted May 22, 2016
It is a run down house in a dangerous back alley with the hosts not able to speak english!!! We had to change hotels as soon as we arrived pool is a pipe with rain water coming through. Bedrooms are dirty and not safe!!! Do not book
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

BED BUGS! What more can I say...ALOT

Posted Apr 24, 2016
The hotel inially looked really clean and staff were friendly but very little English is spoken. I had to take someone from reception to physically Show the cockroaches and bugs in the bed and around our room. They were full so couldn't move us but offered us a room to sleep in belonging to guests who had checked in but on tour for a couple of days! OBVIOUSLY we said no! As we are an elderly couple we had no choice but to stay in room infested and bug infested room. I could not sleep a wink the entire time there. Also breakfast isn't all that, they serve you tea, bread and a crepe type thing everyday at the table you choose to sit at, there is no choice. Totally disappointed with the choice of hotel on this occasion and I only selected it because of the good reviews.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by herve, Hotel Management
je signale a ces personnes quil ont eu tout ce quil voulaient au riad et quil en etais content ; nous ne comprenont pas pour les punaises jamais nous avons eu de ces betes rouge et noir dans nos chambres et de surplus le ménage st fais tous les jours au riad et les chambres egalements rangeè et propre pour le petit dejeuner c le meme pour tous le monde et jamais nous avons eu de reproche je laisse le choix au future vacanciers d aprècier le riad merci bienvenue au calista
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Hidden Oasis

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: Central, within walking distance of all the main sights.
This was such a special place, who would know it lay just behind an ordinary door set in a back street of the Kasbah!! From the moment the door opened and lovely Khadija welcomed us in we were hit by the calm and tranquility within the Riad. we had a small rooom with two single beds and a tiny shower but the decor made it wonderful. There were lovely plants everywhere and comfy sofas, felt like we had gone back in time to a sultans palace. The staff were beyond wonderful, Omar and Khadija quickly became our friends. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I travelled with my mother and stayed four nights, I cant wait to return with ny husband later in the year. Highly recommend and great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very nice accomodating staff.

Posted May 8, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Cute room, breakfast was served promptly every morning. Great location.
4 out of 5
by Fareena from Singapore

Very good service

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very short stay. We arrived at midnight and need to be out of the riad by 8am for our tour. The guy who welcomed us at 12 was very nice, he personally moved the single beds to be a double bed for us. He also arranged an earlier breakfast for us cos we needed to leave by 8 (breakfast typically starts at 8). He also helped us call and scold our tour guide (in their language) cos their driver was late to fetch us.
5 out of 5
by James from Farnham

Lovely pleasant Riad in a central location

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in Riad Calista and were warmly welcomed. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Very close to the Riad is a delightful café called Café Clock Marrakech (sister café to Café Clock in Fez).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staying in Kasbah, Riad Calista

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
Stay was pretty good. Nice area, was staying in the Kasbah area of Marrakech. Very quiet but great view from the rooftop. If you wish to stay there make sure you have plenty of activities lined up for the day/duration of your stay. Breakfast was pretty much the same every day, price of lunch and dinner can vary in the Kasbah area depending on what type of restaurant or cafe you wish to eat from My room was quite clean was even given my own padlock for the bedroom door. Fountain feature in the main hallway was beautiful traditional Moroccan feature in light red. There are only five rooms in the Riad so not many people living there. A very useful skill would be to know a bit of French or Arabic since the most don't speak English having said that you will find others when you are out and about who will be able to converse in English. I was told of Riad Sultana which was quite popular in the Kasbah area but a lot more in price, only down the road from Derb Chtouka. (5 mins walk) For next I will go when the weather isn't so cold in the evening and early morning as I went in the first week of December.