Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Riad

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hot tub never got warm
3 out of 5
by kamran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Susan from USA Northeast

Not a warm welcome

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in a lot of riads during two weeks in Morocco, and this was the worst. The pleasure of the riads is in the courtyard and the roof terrace, the architecture and the interior design. Because there are idiosyncrasies with riads, a helpful staff makes the difference for a delightful stay. We arrived at 5 pm with a reservation and were met with a stricken look by the maid. While we waited to see whether we had a room we got to take in the condition of the courtyard and the scum floating on the top of the water in the fountain, which obviously hadn't been used in a long time. The condition of the furnishings and draperies were tired, and dirty. When they sorted us out and showed us to our room, it seemed fine. The lighting was good, not always true for rooms in riads, we found a safe and hair dryer, and we took a fresh attitude. But when we took a shower, the floor sloped from the bathroom into the room, and with no rim to contain the water from the shower, it ran right into the room! Next morning, a pair of dirty socks that we'd left on the floor by the bed were so damp we had to put them in plastic to separate them from other dirty clothes. The biggest disappointment was the consistently grudging attitude from every staff member we encountered, except for one of the maids. And - not the hotel's fault - I ruined a pair of shoes as we had to walk literally through a concrete-pouring construction project in the narrow alleyway where the riad is located.
5 out of 5
by mansfield

friendly service

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels
charming and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by mark from new york

personal service

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels
the owners of this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. they advised us on where to go, and even took us shopping in the souk. rooms are tastefully furnished, clean, comfortable and quiet. beautiful terraces for breakfast and sunbathing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Marrakech

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: Flowers on my birthday and being on the roof of the Riad for sunset and the rippling calls to prayer, it was just stunning.
Location: Riad close enough to Medina to walk, far enough away from Jemaa el Fna to feel like you are able to relax
We stayed at both the Riad in the Medina and the Villa Bahat Khmissa outside Marrakech. The Riad is close to Jemna el Fna and a great base to explore the old town and beautifully done out and everyone is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The Villa is about 6km outside Marrakech and feels like staying with friends. On my birthday Michael presented me with a beautiful bouquet of roses!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carol from London, UK

Lovely riad with great location

Posted Feb 10, 2013
Pros: Lovely owners, beautiful place and the sweet potato spread for breakfast!!!
Cons: no shower curtain
Location: great!
The only reason why this hotel does not get 5 stars from me is because people should keep in mind it is riad, not a hotel. A riad is basically a very big house, so there's not much privacy. You listen to your next room neighbour and to people coming in and out and ringing the door bell and chatting in the open area where all rooms open up to. The same of course applies to your own noises. There is no 24 hour room service and all the amenities you'd get in a regular hotel. The owners are wonderful though, the place clean and beautiful and (apart from other guests), incredibly peaceful despite it's perfect location in the medina. It's close to the Djemaaa el Fna in one of the little streets of the medina, but also easy to find and close enough to a main street that you can easily explain to a taxi driver and only have a couple of blocks inwards to walk. Breakfast is delicious too, there's free wifi and good hot showers (if no one turns off the water in the evening and you have to take a shower at 5am, make sure you let them know if none of the owners are around). Only problem is there are no shower curtains, so it does make a bit of a mess. Overall, if you're a heavy sleeper and want a beautiful, warm and homey place to stay, I'd definitely recommend Dar Khmissa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from London

A very pleasant stay

Posted Mar 3, 2012
Pros: The location, the staff and the atmosphere of the Riad were all fabulous.
Cons: Nothing....
Location: About a five minute stroll to the main square in the old town. Very good location.
The Riad Dar Khmissa is a very lovely place to stay. Found in the backstreets close to the hectic main square in Marrakech few would expect to find the peace and tranquility that the Riad offers. The staff are so friendly, happy and enthusiastic to meet your every need. The Riad is very well maintained, with a choice of furnishings and decorations to make your stay truly authentic. Waking up to the sound of birds, the smells of the spices and cooking rising up from the kitchen and the smokey burning of the real open fire in the courtyard all add to the atmosphere. Its like a haven of calm amid a city of chaos. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to everyone. Vincent the owner is very nice, and personally took us to the airport on our return to the Uk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Molly from San Francisco

Great find

Posted Feb 27, 2012
Pros: The public areas were stunning, the living room and the roof terrace, which has several levels.
Cons: It was hard to find initially when we arrived from the train station by taxi -
Location: within walking distance of many of the things you will want to see
We loved this riad. The staff were wonderfully kind and extremely competent, the decor is classy and the riad is full of art - Tuareg camel bags, paintings done by the owner, ceramics, masks etc. The breakfast was terrific and we ordered cous-cous one evening prepared by the kitchen - fabulous. Meals can be ordered ahead of time. Fire in the living room, sunsets from the roof terrace, I would go back in a second and probably will. Location is just off the Jemna El Fna, in a quiet part of the medina. Close to major petit taxi stand, Koutoubia Mosque and souks. Staff arranged a hamman visit for my son and a henna treatment for my daughter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

A great hidaway from the 'mayhem'

Posted Feb 19, 2012 on Hotels
A very beautiful and surprisingly peaceful hotel tucked away in the very heart of the city. We felt safe here, and very well cared for on our first visit to the crazy city of Marrakech.