Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Had an incredible stay at La Porte Rouge. Abdullah and his staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The location is great for getting a real taste of Marrakech.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet relaxing home from home

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Traditional Riad, really nice staff, made you feel like you were at home.
Cons: If I had to change anything , maybe stronger coffee , but that's just a personal preference!
Location: Really good location , short walk to both Palaces and Kasbah, slightly further from main square and souks but found walk there easy .
Spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it, Mustafa made us feel so at home there, he was a really nice guy. Breakfast great, Location close to many sights , 15 min walk to main square, but the walk there interesting and easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Great riad in the medina

Posted Dec 2, 2017
This riad was amazing! The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff was so helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and we also opted for dinner at the riad a few times, and the tagine and couscous were so tasty. I would definitely stay here again. Don't be fooled by the chaotic neighborhood because the riad is quite the oasis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england uk

Beautiful romantic and comfortable setting

Posted Nov 20, 2017
It was all arround excellent . We have been overwhelmed with the friendliness of the staff, the romantic setting and the cleanliness of the place. We will definetly visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlestown, RI

Old World Charm & Service Just Outside City Center

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Knowing that each morning I had a smiling staff providing me a wonderful breakfast, and if I returned late, they were there for my dinner needs too.
Cons: Maybe a couple of signs to better demarcate its existence but other than that, nothing else.
Returning to Marrakech, I can't imagine not returning to the Riad La Porte Rouge. The staff and the service they provided completely redefined what I now consider the "gold standard," for other properties I'll visit in the future. It felt more like I was staying in the house of a good friend or relative than someplace I was paying to stay the night. The room was spacious and the shower was bigger than most bathrooms in chain hotel rooms. The balcony outside our room overlooked the pool downstairs and the photo opportunities alone were amazing. And how many bed and breakfast type places (that's what this type of establishment most closely resembles in the states) have a rooftop with chaise lounges in the sun, palm, date, orange and lime trees, as well as a hot tub for weary travelers that might have been out all day on a long excursion? Not to mention, the main Medina is within a short walking distance. just make sure you're ready to haggle, it's like a national pastime in the markets here. The architecture and history are rich in Marrakech and surrounding area, just make sure to get out and walk around, explore, eat the local cuisine and talk to the people. It really is a beautiful country, and the Riad was the gateway to it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place close to the palace!

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The gentleman owner and his staff were very welcoming. Mint tea upon arrival! Food was amazing and the place had a great Moroccan vibe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Hotel with Character

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The decor is very homely and unique. I like that the rate includes breakfast!
Cons: The wifi is VERY weak to non existent once in the room.
Location: Location is still in Medina but not central. 10 minute walk to El Badi Palace. 15 minutes to Jemma el fna & 15 minutes walk to Koutoubia Mosque.
This hotel is tucked away in an alley way. The staff were very welcoming. Although check-in time states 2pm we arrived around 11:30am & the room was ready by 12. The gave us some mint tea and biscuits upon arrival. The room was cute and cosy. There is air conditioning in the rooms which cools it down quite quickly so you don't need it on longer than needed. The bed i found quite comfy but my sister said that it was too hard for her, so i guess each to their own. The shower has no pressure but there is hot water which can get quite hot so make sure you don't burn yourself, the water doesn't drain too well either, other than that the bathroom is ok. There is a terrace which has a comfy seating area and has sun loungers too, the jacuzzi and massage room is up there too. As i've mentioned the Wifi signal is rather poor to non existent up in the rooms and terrace, better signal down stairs in the lounge. Breakfast is included in the room rates. It consists of flat bread, pancakes with various sauces, pomegranate, cakes, orange juice (VERY sweet) and delicious coffee with hot milk. They do serve dinner which cost 18 Euros, includes soup, tagine & dessert and if you want drinks you will need to pay for it seperately. They can arrange for any excursions for you but not sure how much as we've booked these ourselves before arrival. They can also arrange for taxis which is a bit expensive for 7 minute drive it will cost you 10 Euros! At the square the taxi is 50 dirhams.
5 out of 5
by Christian

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
There are literally hundreds of Riads to choose from in Marrakech. My wife and I were so pleased that we chose to stay at the Riad La Porte Rouge. Aside from the breakfast, which is included, we enjoyed several meals at the Riad. The food was excellent, far better than the food we had in the Medina. Our room was amazing, just as pictured on the website. The staff at the Riad made our week long stay in Marrakech feel like we were in a second home. We thank them for their very attentive and wonderful service. In all, we loved it, and would highly recommend to anyone who wishes to travel to Marrakech and enjoy a home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Riad

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: homely feel
Cons: Signage and directions to place. If taking Taxi to get there make sure you have hotel phone number as the we used all had to phone hotel for direction
Location: good location in quiet area. Markets nearby but you need directions first to get to them. Can walk
Really nice feel at Riad, but hard to find. Staff excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very bad customer service.....

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very very bad customer service :( I had a bad experience with the staff at this hotel.