Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Aw from Essex

Potentially lovely hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels
Location - terrible location, extremely run down area, hard to find and easily get lost in minutes. Not many attractions nearby. Very easy to be intimidated locals seem to hover near hotels waiting for unsuspecting tourists under the guise of helping them find their way out of the maze who then promptly walk them through a maze of alleyways and tunnels so totally disorientated and having no idea where you are ultimely ending up at a run down carpet shop near what can only be described as close to a slum area. If you refuse to go in then they get quite aggressive and demand money from you to let you leave. Locals seem to prey on tourists who seem unsure of where to go and then latch onto you again and demand money. Currency/money - can't take currency into country so reliant on getting it on arrival. Very limited places to get money and no where including hotel take any type of card which not aware of until too late. End up having to carry large amount of cash around which is very intimidating. Due to the above hardly left the safety of the hotel after nearly changing our flights and coming straight home . Have to say the hotel owner and staff couldn't do enough for us while we were there to make dure we were comfortable. They made a very terrible holiday slightly more bearable. However, I would say that currently they don't cater too much for English would like to see menus etc in English which would of been easier for us to understand. Seemingly more of a French speaking hotel. The food served was generally of a good standard but would of liked to see a bit more choice and variation. Would also be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. The jacuzzi wasn't working very often which was disappointing. However, the hotel has great potential if modernized a bit without losing its character and existing staff. Just a shame about the location
1 out of 5
by J Gordon from Australia

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels
Well this is the third attempt to post this- previous cancelled being too long. Obviously you don't want to hear . Terrible booking confirmed by you3 days before- no joy when we arrived- didn't know about booking. Manager rude, dismissive, no phone at premises, your endorsement is unbelievable, check previous complaint already lodged regarding this establishment, I will not be endorsing your services.
4 out of 5
by Mimi from London and Spain

affordable and great decorated Riad in the Medina

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels
the decoration of the whole Riad is astonishing, each room is unique. it was great and cheap. Breakfast was good too. The staff is really kind and they invite you to a really tasty mint tea with little anises cookies. The staff talk fluent French, not much English and Spanish. I would truly recommend it to anyone and I would go back anytime. The surrounding area is in the Medina so you will find many people approaching you who will try to be your guides. There is no danger and all they want it you buying off them instead of in the Square where they can not compete with as its the tourists attraction. They sell them same things in all shops you will find in Morroco, I personally prefered to buy off shops in the Medina (which is a quite poor area) than in the Square where shop owners there get rich with all the tourism. The only thing I didn't like much about my stay in Clefs du Sud was that the heating system was too weak for such a big room so it wasnt really heating much, also that the hot water didnt work for a couple of days... As we went in February the weather wasnt really hot, so we couldnt use the little pool in the top of the building because they dont have a jacuzzi hot water service, also that in 5 nights they didnt change our sheets but maybe i should have inquired about it... At the top of the Riad you can see all the the Medina, its very nice!! :) good luck and definitely choosing this Riad will be the best option!!
4 out of 5
by sana safa

beautiful Riad - lovely staff

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels
We couldnt tell that it was the Riad when we arrived at it, as it looks quite unassuming from the outside. the Riad is beautifully decorated, very clean, very bright and spacious. the staff were very welcoming and friendly and really looked after our every need. breakfast was a very relaxed atmosphere. the only drawback was that it was a 20 minute walk to the souks and it was only a problem for my three year old, but then again, it was the only Riad i found with rooms big enough to fit two small children, and so we compromised by taking taxi's (cheap enough, £3 a shot). i would definately recommend this place. worth every penny.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Nov 3, 2012 on Hotels
Location - old town, chance to see diffrent part of Marrakech. Very nice staff and very helpful manager. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Clive and Janet

A good value for money Riad

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels
The service was very good. All the staff & the owners were very helpful. A good low cost room, not the height of luxury but more than adequate, clean & comfortable. The main square is about 20 minutes walk if you know your way and are not distracted. We enjoyed are stay and were easily distracted as most of the Medina is like a market. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by les 2ML

Un plongeon dans la médina

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: accueil , propreté , literie , terrasse
Cons: aucun
Location: nous ne sommes resté qu'une nuit dans ce Riad avant de partir pour Essaouira. Même si il peut semblé excentré , il est facilement accessible
L'accès à l'hotel a été un peu difficile le taxi ne connaissant pas très bien l'adresse du Riad. Il faut indiquer que c'est proche de l'école SMARA porte de la Médina Bab El Jnane Bel Abbès. Très bon accueil , chambre impeccable , repas du soir sympa ( barbecue et salade maroccaine ). C’était une première expérience de loger à l'intèrieure de la Médina , son emplacement proche de la sortie de celle ci permet de se familiariser sans problème à la vie de la Médina.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Riad dans la médina mais éloigné de Jemaa el Fna

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Nous avons récemment séjourné dans cet Riad situé dans la médina à 45 minutes à pied de la place Jemaa el fna. Nous avons prit le service de la navette à notre arrivée à l'aéroport proposé par le Riad. L'accueil est chaleureux mais le prix du service beaucoup moins. Prix trop élevé par rapport aux prix pratiqués par les taxis marocain. Tout au long de notre séjour nous avons pu profiter d'un bon service (repas le soir et le petit déjeuner bon rapport qualité/prix), le personnel est attentif aux clients (surclassement en suite plutôt qu'une chambre standard, service de nettoyage de la chambre tous les jours). Cependant la qualité de la literie est décevante. Le matelas est très dur, par ailleurs des travaux ont lieu en ce moment au riad ce qui provoque une nuisance sonore cassant un peu notre repos. Attention également au taxi marocain ne connaissant pas les alentours du riad même avec les indications données par le riad. Nous avons du finir à pied pour rejoindre le riad (10 minutes de marche entre le riad et la place ou l'on peut trouver les premiers taxis). Nous aurions également été intéressé et preneur de quelques conseils ou suggestions sur des visites ou excursions à réaliser à Marrakech. En terme de rapport/qualité prix ce Riad est un bonne solution d'hébergement.
2 out of 5
by ina from norway

Nice place, but cold rooms

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
The "hotel" was not a hotel, but a "Riad"-it was nice to live in a old mosk for boys. The rooms where big and looked ok, but where very cold. The breakfast was ok, not fresh juice but fresh bread. A bit to expensive, but ok for 1 or 2 nights.
5 out of 5
by Lars Hallstrøm Eriksen from Mandal, Norway

Beautiful riad with friendly service

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels
This riad has very nice arabic style rooms centred around a beautifully decorated arabic courtyard, with a roof terrace on top. Inside the riad it's calm and relaxed, outside is the medina (old city), albeit near the northern end where it's somewhat calmer than the central parts of the medina around the main souk (covered market). The nearby mosque is fortunately not loud enough to wake up anyone inside the riad who might want to sleep through the early-morning prayer... The owners, who took over the riad two months ago, are very friendly and service-minded and speak fluent English (and French and Arabic); other staff are also very friendly and service-minded and speak a few words of English and otherwise French (and Arabic). Our room had a nice bathroom with shower with hot and cold running water. Riads, like many hotels in 'hot' countries, tend to be cold during winter, and so was this one (in December), including the room, courtyard and restaurant (the roof terrace was nice and warm in in the sunshine). Our room had a combined air conditioner and heater which only managed to heat the room a little. The beds are hard, but that seems to be the norm in this country, including the five-star hotel we later stayed at in Essaouira. The restaurant has a selection of good Moroccan and international dishes (must be pre-ordered in the afternoon) at acceptable prices, and also serves alcohol.