Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Christine from London

My Favourite Riad in all of Morocco

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
Riad Magellan was my favourite Riad in all of Morocco. It is ideally located in the heart of the Medina, but in a quiet area and all the main sights are a very easy walking distance. The staff were the most engaging and friendly. All the management speak English & French and were able to help with airport transfers, travel tips etc. They also provide their own map of the Medina which was much more helpful than Lonely Planet or Google Maps. I also ate the VERY BEST FOOD at the Riad. I had the 3 course dinner which you need to order in advance and it was the most delicious food I had in all of Morocco. It was so perfect and set the bar high for the rest of my trip. I would recommend that you ask them to organise an airport transfer for you as it is not easy to find on your own, but it also means a porter will take your luggage to the door (as cars cannot drive into the Medina) and you do not get hassled by anyone on your arrival.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Oslo

Great location, nice hotel and helpful staff

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here 5 nights in Marrakech. Would say location is the best part, perfect for going to all the places in the Medina.
5 out of 5
by Lg from London

Great experience

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels
Best location, great personalized service and tasteful rooms.
5 out of 5
by MG from London

a little gem in the middle of the lively city

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels
Great location, wonderfully and artistic deco. Magellan is such a great little gem in the middle of the lively city. Phllippe the ower is such a knowledge and nice guy who gave us many help to arrange our room and even brought us to the phamercy when my husband was feeling a bit not well. I highly recommadate the place and hope we will visit it soon again.
5 out of 5
by Jacob from Newark, UK

Congratulations . . . .

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
. . . on creating such a lovely home to welcome your guests. It was lovely to feel so comfortable and knowing that the team was there to make our stay in Marrakech as special as possible. Thanks again. Jacob & Gabi
5 out of 5
by Mel from Yorkshire

Really friendly

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels
Just back from 3 nights here- the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Riad in a great location with easy access to everywhere. Pre booked first night meal and the Chicken, Lemon and Olive Tagine was the best meal we had! Highly recommended .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Peter and Lisa

calm amongst the madness of Marrakesh

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels
How best to sum up the Riad, a calm amongst the noise and madness that is Marrakech from 5am till late. The green room was lovely, the breakfast was filling and a good start to every day, and the roof terrace has amazing views over the city and mosques to the Atlas mountains. Philippe and the staff made sure the experience was the best it could be from start to finish., a worthy 2012 TripAdvisor Riad winner.
5 out of 5
by Satisfied guest

A wonderful experience and an amazing staff

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels
Our room was absolutely charming with an amazing bathroom and comfortable bed. We were greeted warmly by the manager and made to feel very welcome by all of the staff. The location is very convenient, but it took us awhile to navigate the souks and find our way to the central medina. We stayed at another riad after returning from the coast, and it was far inferior to the Magellan. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from UK

Excellent, great location. Recommended.

Posted Jun 29, 2012
I spent three nights and had a fabulous experience. I was initially a little dubious of the location in the middle of the medina with the entrance down a series of alleyways but this is half the charm. I would recommend arranging (airport) collection, I would not have found it by myself and the surcharge is very reasonable. On arrival I was given a mini map with instructions on how to find my way back from the main square and some of the local attractions. I was also given a mobile number to call if I got lost, with an offer to come and help me back! Even thought I was a single female I really didn't feel uncomfortable walking back, it appears to be a fairly residential area and there was always someone around and it's very well lit. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and air conditioned. Despite being in the middle of the medina the courtyard and fabulous roof terrace were quiet and peacefull. Phillipe and team were attentive and extremely helpful and could arrange trips and help with onward travel. Breakfast was very good and although I didn't eat an evening meal it could be provided to order and looked great. I very much enjoyed my stay here, I plan to return and have no hesitation in recommending it.