Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquility in the middle of the kasbah

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great location, great riad and unbelievably tranquil when stepping in from the street. Perfect for a break away and good spa. Don't expect good bar service, you can get a drink but not at anytime. Great location if you want some time out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Villa Makassar was in a great location. Staff were very hopefully and friendly. Definitely would recommend to stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful Riad

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Very good morrocan hospitality. Great location inside the medina. Very attentive staff.
5 out of 5
by Orkan

Only one word 'AMAZING'

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at the Villa Makassar was beyond our expectations. First of, the Art Deco architecture was very well put together; even in the Souks and Kasbah. After a tiring day, arriving at this hotel always felt like a sanctuary. Furthermore, the help of the staff was always impeccable; with special thanks to ZİNEB and AZİZ. They always went further and beyond to help us; booked our restaurants for every single nite and they were all incredible. Thanks for the hospitality!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bright

Over rated

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff was friendly. Our room did not have any windows. The the water in the shower was cold and the sink in the tub was clughed up. Completely over rated and over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Beautiful riad in the Kasbah district

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The peace, beauty of the courtyard and wonderful staff.
Cons: Nothing. There is nothing that could be improved upon. Could not rate it highly enough.
Location: In the Kasbah district. Immediately outside the entrance you step into the busy world of everyday Marrakech.
We spent three nights in this wonderful riad. We were welcomed by the Manager with mint tea and pastries. It is an immediate oasis of calm when you step into the entrance. Beautiful courtyard and wonderful terrace. So peaceful. The staff were incredibly welcoming, courteous and kind. Breakfast was delicious and always beautifully served.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Probably the best and the cutest hotel in Marrakes

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Internet could be better
Location: It is located in the old town, at first we were apprehensive about the area because the way it look but in fact it is the safest place in the world!!
Wonderful Staff, beautiful rooms, we had a junior suite and a standard room (Nothing about the rooms are standard! they are beautiful) , anything we wished for the Staff at the hotel made sure we got, Housekeeping not only cleaned our rooms, they even iron the shirt we left out on the armchair. As a General Manager of a 5* Hotel myself, It is my pleasure to recommend this gorgeous little hotel to anyone who appreciates style, architecture, good service and tasteful decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Great Marrakech location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location, customer service, it's quirkiness
Cons: More lights/candles at night, pool area and softer landscaping for the large roof terrace.
Location: Ideal and very safe. The hotel staff and owner are the best to advise the main sites to see. A ride in a horse and carriage is a must and extremely go
The hotel is ideally situated in the Kasbah area of Marrakesh....very good for all the main sites to see in the Medina....and very safe. Villa Makassar is very Art Deco and all the staff provide excellent customer service. Our experience got off to a bad start as we were picked up at the airport by a driver from the hotel. We had booked to be met by a company Easy Transfers. I showed the driver our paperwork and he readily agreed to take us to the hotel. Little did we know we had taken someone else's taxi. The upshot is that despite paying in advance for an airport transfer we were then charged again for the hotels own taxi. One of life's experiences We suppose but the driver should have clearly established who we were....holding up a sign saying Villa Makassar without any guest names is simply not good enough. The hotel is ideally situated for the airport being only 10-15 mins away. On he downside the pool area was a little disappointing (dark and small) and whilst the roof terrace was big it needed more softer landscaping. At night despite the hotel being nearly full there were very few lights/ candles around to create a welcoming atmosphere. Having said all that the staff were all very helpful and we would definitely be happy to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice, comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Comfort, art deco style.
Cons: The suite we got, though spacey and furnished with good taste, had a bath tub but no shower ...
It is a nice, comfortable and quiet hotel, designed in Art Deco style -- a tribute to an era. Jamaa al Fnaa is a good 20 mn away walking, but you can always catch a petit taxi which will shorten the transfer time at a low price.