Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Peter

Good but needs some tlc in areas

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
This is a well situated hotel with some very good facilities. Nice indoor pool, sauna and steam room and the benefit of a nice outdoor pool area. Service is excellent, wifi throughout and ample free parking. Room size was good although they had pushed two beds together to make a double. Aircon was fine but a facelift is required to make this hotel great again. The bathroom looked particularly tired. Note for the English - no kettles available! Overall we enjoyed our stay but as noted there is room for improvement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but will be renovated in October 2017

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Cons: Wi-Fi and wait staff.
Great staff at front desk, not so much in restaurants. I ordered sparkling water and never received it. I also ordered coffee which was never delivered. Sparkling water was on the bill though. Had to notify waiter and it was removed. Wait staff seems off in a different world. This resort needs updating and will undergo renovation in October and that's a good thing. Wi-fi was not existent in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Well located in Margaux accessible to wineries

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Bellman was exceptionally helpful. Buffett breakfast was over priced and adequate. Golf course clubhouse cafe was good. Nice outdoor pool. Rooms were older but comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Quite a disappointing stay. Hotel looks quite run down and barely kept together. The building smells like an old sellar. The so called outdoor swimming pool is a lough for a hotel of that size and its rating , something you would have in your summer house in the country , small and not much looked after, more of a dipping pool rather then swimming . The room itself was nice enough, but then again the smell was of an old dump , highly uncomfortable bed , very soft mattress and as it would in most hotels there were two single beds pushed together, but mattresses were incompatible for a double bed, the ridges were so sharp that when you want to actually sleep together with your partner it was simply impossible as you would have to share a single mattress or sleep on very painful middle part were it was cutting in to your body. The fridge in the room was leaking and the daily cleaning was very basic and forgetful , dirty plate was left in the room for days . The hotel restaurant is nothing but pretentious, probably trying to be Michelin star, but has no idea how to do it. Staff was sweet, however looked like they had no clue what they were doing. Luckily we got this booking via Expedia for a good price, I can not imagine who would pay full prices for it, up to 200 per night!! Definitely not a 4 star stay.
5 out of 5
by Charles

Wine country

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We liked it so well that after booking your location for two days we came back for another two day stay ten days later.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Fabulous Staff

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Always love staying here. The staff is fabulous!
5 out of 5
by Victor

a little piece of heaven within heaven

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
amazing luxury, excellent food, superb service, beautiful setting on a golf course, a short walk to the Girone River. Very close to many Chateaux and Maisons du Vin.
4 out of 5
by John

John

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was a perfect location on golf course.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has its ups and downs, lovely grounds, golf course and spa, rooms are a little tired but baths are updated. Hotel is very spread out with long hallways, not perfect for someone who needs assistance, so I would specify in a reservation if you need a closer room. Things from the restaurant were up and down also, with some great things and others not as good. Has a billiard table, cute small bar with great wine list. Town of Margaux is nearby and lots of wonderful Wine Chateau's dot the countryside !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Peacefull hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Location, facilities, staff and ofcourse wine, best wines from the region.
Cons: May be more things for the kids. Winter time probably will be difficult to entertain kids. Indoor pool is only avaialble after 6pm for kids.
Location: Beach is about 30 min away, small towns in the area, Bordeaux city is only 30 min from there. Many Chateaus to discover different wines
Initialy when we checked in we werent happy with our room then spoke to hotel who took care of us and change our room. The hotel is located in a big, beatiful land and very peacefull as what we were looking for. Although it is a golf resorts, our 2 kids enjoyed the outdoor and indoor swimming pools. We had great food in the hotel, breakfast, lunch and specially dinner in the fine dining restaurant. We also had time to discover the area which is easy reachable area to the beach, bordeaux and many locations. I highly recommend, we will stay there when we travel again to france. Next time we are planning to play golf too.