Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun Sherlock experience, but no free WiFi

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has nice Sherlock Holmes features (as would be expected by the name) and they were very accommodating. We stayed in one of the family rooms which was a nice size with enough beds for multiple children. The free breakfast was also nice with additional paid hot options if desired, but the free breakfast has lots of cold options and was plenty sufficient for our family. The hotel was a little pricey but since it is the Sherlock Hotel I guess it is fine. My only complaint was that there was no free WiFi in the room, and the supposedly free WiFi in the lounge requred that a text be sent to your mobile phone, and if you are from the US then it wouldn't send a text to our number so there were no free WiFi at all. For how much the hotel charged, they could at least give their customers free WiFi like almost all hotels nowadays.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 2 nights at this hotel, and the staff was always very helpful. They gave us good advice on dinner abd directions. The room was comfortable and clean, but the view of the mountains was the best feature.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

It was okay

Posted Jul 1, 2016
I expected something with the name Sherlock Holmes in it to have a more Victorian feel. It was like a 1970s motor lodge. The wifi did not work at all. For what we were doing in Meirengen it worked okay, but was not what I was expecting for the price I paid.
4 out of 5
by Matthew from UK

Small rooms, austere, but adequate, good location

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Family trip over the Christmas holiday was made very pleasant by a friendly staff and memorable Christmas day gathering and dinner. Facilities were somewhat austere but still comfortable and adequate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big room and clean

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice view, clean and comfortable bed and room
5 out of 5
by Judy from Dallas

Outstanding

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful service. Very nice room. Food was excellent in the restaurant. I would love to go back some time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rog from Bedfordshire

Happy Christmas Sherlock!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Location: Great location, able to walk to the Reichenbach Falls. With great train connections to other sites such as Interlaken or Schynige Platte.
Wonderful stay at the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, one of our party has a gluten allergy and they did everything possible to accommodate. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Motorcycle Trip

Posted Jul 12, 2012 on Hotels
This is a great find. Actually with the surrounding construction it was a little tough to find. The staff was wonderful the breakfast was great. The town is the place where Maringue was invented so get some. This is also the setting for Sherlock Holmes stories, the hotel is close by the town and all our rooms had views of the surrounding waterfalls. We were high enough in the Alps not to notice the absence of AC. We were able to get our gear dry. There is adequate parking. The staff alone would carry this hotel they were bright cheery and willing to help.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels
Clean hotel and friendly staff. Easy walk to great hikes with kids. Staff helpful with son's food allergy.
4 out of 5
by Roland from St.Gallen

Gepflegtes Familienhotel

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Sehr freundliches und zuvorkommendes Personal. Beim Hotel handelt es sich eher um ein älteres, jedoch gepflegtes Hotel. Geräumige Familienzimmer. Wir hatten einen Hund dabei, dieser war im Hotel willkommen und konnte aufs Zimmer mitgenommen werden. Das Hotel liegt ideal für Spaziergänge. Die Wanderwege beginnen in unmittelbarer Nähe vom Hotel.