Ratings based on 897 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Very cool place to stay. Loads of character and an excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy and cosy

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Good hotel to stay at, very comfy bed. Lovely staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

This is a little hidden nugget.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Everything went smoothly, had a little getaway in Melbourne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Fantastic Location with awesome staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: 24 hour reception, with very helpful staff. Was nice touch to be welcomed back by reception staff no matter what time off day. Great for directions
Location: Melbourne CBD, so EVERYTHING. Bourke Street shopping, Lots of eateries and shopping within easy travel particularly being within the free tram zone
Flew in to Melbourne at 8am with a normal check in time of 2pm. The Alto staff were able to store all of our luggage and because the previous occupants of our room had left they were able to prioritize our room and let us check in there and then and make the room available from 12noon. They gave a local street maps and advice on local attractions (Queen Victoria Market and the Flagstaff playground for our kids, took our fancy). Now, the early check in was partly luck due to the early departure (luck), but combined with the easy going welcome and the no problem attitude from the very helpful desk staff, kicked our Melbourne sojourn off to a great start. Located conveniently located next to Southern Cross Station, so easy access to Skybus to and from Airport, Train access to local activities (The Show, Zoo, Federation Square, Central Melbourne etc...) regional access if desired. Tram stop 90m from front door gave easy access to location within the free tram zone (particularly, Bourke Street Mall, Harbour Town, Melbourne Star) and made accessing Southbank and St Kilda markets a breeze. Coles Spencer St and Spencer Street Outlet Centre also conveniently located for this hotel. Breakfast option ranging from cereal and a beverage, through full continental to cooked, were an easy option for a great start to the day. I found many eateries had a very "wam,bam, thank you mam" approach particularly in the CBD, so a point of difference, to just sit and enjoy good food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Superb

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Five of us spent 4 nights at Alto on Bourke and we all agreed that we'd definitely stay again. Being 5 females ranging in age from 9-70+ this is notable (we don't always agree!) From our arrival to be told of an upgrade to a 2 bathroom apartment to our departure which was hassle free it was a most enjoyable stay. Excellent staff! Comfortable beds! Close to public transport as well as an easy walk to supermarkets so we could (over)stock our fridge. Thank you for making a family break so easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel and great location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I did find the tv channel options a bit disappointing unless this is just Australian tv. Not crazy about the programs on offer.
Staff very helpful and very friendly. Almost like being at home when away from home. Good atmosphere. Clean and bright. Great location and minutes away from Southern Cross Station and transit system. Only had breakfast in the hotel and it was excellent. I've stayed at this hotel twice now and definitely will again. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Gary S, Hotel Management
Its great that you feel at home here Melody. We want everyone to feel relaxed and comfortable. Broadcast TV programs might not suit every taste. However in addition to the 15+ channels of standard broadcast we offer 100+ Foxtel Cable Channels to try and provide as wide a choice as possible. Our TV's can mirror content on a table, laptop etc which could include using our free fast WiFi and your Netflix or other content provider account.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great Stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, free happy hour, nice breakfast. Hostess at happy hour went out of her way to be helpful. In addition she is a very pleasant person
Cons: Eliminate conflict between staff and guests around laundry
Location: Restaurants, shopping
Hotel is well located. Within walking distance of many attractions and free train. Hotel staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Location

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Skybus station is within walking distance. Tram station is nearby. Staff were nice. Room was spacious, clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Short 3 night stay in Melbourne

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location to trams and Skybus.
Cons: New couch, come sofa bed.
Location: Very close to Stop 1 (Southern Cross), Etihad Stadium and Skybus. Not within the actual Main shopping area, but easy to travel back and forth by tram.
Close to trams (Southern Cross Stop 1), Etihad Stadium and the Skybus. Have stayed here before, about 6 years ago, and when a short stay was required, didn't hesitate to book Alto on Bourke. Staff are friendly and helpful. They allowed an early and late check out. Changing hte room for two single beds wasn't a problem. Traveling into the city wasn't a problem with a tram stop barely 100m away (BTW, windows are double glazed). Was very good value for money and would definitely stay there again. The only minor point was the couch that was also a sofa bed, was a tad uncomfortable to sit on, it we didn't go to Melbourne to sit in the room all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thank you Cameron. Like yourself many of our guests like our central location and easy access to airport express Skybus. We will check up on the sofa (bed) to see what improvements or replacement can be made. Kind regards Gary Stickland General Manager Alto Hotel on Bourke
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and such friendly staff