Ratings based on 3,221 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect for what we needed.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: It was in a prime location around everything and our room had a great view. The room was a good size for a couple.
Cons: Use of fan in the bathroom, also one light switch on side table was broken.
Location: CatCafe was the block across. Almost everything we did was about a 15min walk around, including Draculas, Federation Square, Central Shopping, etc.
Overall, as a couple, we really enjoyed the stay. The room was quite comfortable and enough room for both of us, and was easily around everything you need. You'll definitely need to use the door seal which is in the room as the wind does get extremely loud otherwise (earplug are given to the room also, but I cannot sleep with them in). The only room for improvement would possibly the cover for the bathrooms walls, if someone is closer to the glass you can see everything, which is fine for a couple, but with a family it could be awkward. Also if it's later at night with no lights on you can see a lot with just the bathroom light on. There was also what looked like a fan in our room, but no switch to turn it on so we just had to make sure to open the window on the other side of the room. However, it would be a place I would stay again, and we had a balcony with a great view. Good chance I would stay there for the next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Comfortable hotel close to CBD

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Friendly and helpfull reception, within walking distance to CBD. Would recommend advising future customers to take advantage of the free city loop shuttle if you want to go to the outskirts of the city such as south bank and then walk the rest rather then sign up for the tram card. A very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, amongst the city action

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and daily room cleans
The hotel was very close to the city centre, within walking distance of great food, great street art, flinders street station. Very Clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great basic hotel!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Overall I was pretty impressed with this hotel. If you're looking for a simple, clean hotel in the city with the option to cook your own food then this is the place. I also liked the included gym access and laundry room. Only minor downsides I had was a dodgy light in the bathroom which wouldn't turn on occasionally (or cut out without warning) and a layout issue with the shower which caused water to spread across the bathroom floor while in use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, QLD

Good for short stays.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Overall it was an okay hotel, it would be good for short stays at an affordable price. I did arrive back to the hotel (about 9pm) and the room was not cleaned. When I called reception about it they responded with "sorry we forgot". They did clean the room the day after. This would be a good option for someone staying only a few days and get a good room rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Valuable with friendly staff

Posted Sep 16, 2017
They make you feel like going to your new house, clean and most of thing you may need for living in the house. its my top 5 service apartment in melbourne city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Housekeeping during the stay was average at best. Otherwise i enjoyed my stay. Hotel is close to everything in the cbd via car or tram which makes it very handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Great hotel and location

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Once again City Tempo has not let me down. For a few days in Melbourne this is one of the best places you can stay. Excellent location with just a 10 minute walk to the main CBD. Lots of fantastic eating places nearby. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff are fantastic check in and check out is easy. Ill be back again for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

It was okay.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: i got an upgrade
Cons: the front desk should be monitored at all times, bed was uncomfortable..
Location: not much..
hotel was okay, nothing amazing. The bed was uncomfortable, but they gave me an upgrade so it sort of made it okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Very friendly staff

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We had the pleasure of staying at the Tempo. Location is great and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and very clean