Ratings based on 3,663 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent location and accommodation

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Excellent room clean, spacious ,and the best bed we have slept on in hotels. Great location , quite at night time and at very reasonable prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Tracey, It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne and that our rooms and service meet your expectations. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Excellent service, great restaurant. The room was clean and staff friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Big room good Location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Good value for money big rooms good location walk to Southbank ...staff helpful friendly particularly Thomas
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. It is pleasing to read that our location, room and service met your expectations. Our Team and Thomas are delighted to read that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you return in the future. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, victoria

Convenient location

Posted May 28, 2017
Staff were friendly, room was clean and comfortable and convenient location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

A nice place to come home to.

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly and attentive. Entrance foyer was quite nice and it made us feel wanted. Breakfast was great and the restaurant staff were greater
Cons: Nil
Location: Close to public transport cinemas entertainment venues and much much more.
We booked a night at the hotel as we were going to a concert. The location was great a little walk down Flinders st and stroll along Southbank and we were there. It was a great night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Good Location

Posted May 24, 2017
Room has full size kitchen, small bathroom but generally speaking large room very comfortable. Hotel has nice heated pool and is a good location to city amenities. - great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central and pleasant

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Relaxed and comfortable
Cons: Most good places provide free wi-fi now. $10 a day felt a bit steep.
Very helpful and friendly staff, good size suite with very good cooking facilities. Clean, comfortable and spacious - close to NGV, Fed Square etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne. Providing complimentary 24/7 internet in the city of Melbourne still remains a challenge, though we do offer 30 minutes per day on complimentary bases, or free use in our restaurant when partaking in food or beverage. Recently we upgraded our system to allow for a 5 device(s) connection, due to constraints and the lack of a cohesive cost effective national broadband system, I am unsure if this service will be complimentary in the medium term, unless the expense of this service is incorporated in the room rate May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Doesn't disappoint.

Posted May 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Can't fault it.
Location: Crown Casino opposite side of river. South Melbourne DFO 10 minute walk.
Second time we've stayed at the Clarion. Great location. Very clean. Value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future. Kind Regards Maria Garcia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pleasant surprise

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Great staff, ideal location, large clean rooms
Location: An easy walk to most areas. Close to south bank and CBD
Great location. A little noise from the trains near by - but not too bad. Staff were incredibly helpful with information and booking of tours, dinner reservations, general directions etc. When we wanted to extend our stay they worked diligently to make it happen although they had a "full house". One bedroom apartments were roomy and ideal for an extended stay. Can't say enough about the staff - thank you for your attentiveness and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Perfect location for first time visitors.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: It is very convenient, loved the self catering aspect and the washing machine!
Location: Victoria Market, the quayside and the Botanical gardens were all within walking distance. There was also a lovely running track around the Gardens.
Clean and comfortable. A lovely hotel, the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Maria Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future. Kind Regards Maria Garcia