Ratings based on 1,356 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 18, 2018
I stayed 2 nights to be close to my daughter who works on Bourke Street prior to flying back to UK Good central location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Good location in Melbourne CBD

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Good night at Crossley it suited us for location value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Affordable and comfortable accommodation. Convenient location- so close to the theatre and Chinatown. Needs signage for valet parking as was confusing on arrival. Staff were very friendly abd helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
The stay was pretty ordinary. The staffs were nice, the room was clean. However, there was nothing memorable or special. It serves very well as a place close enough to the city if you’re having a drink with friends in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

Why Did I Have to Ask For Soap?

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location.
Cons: Installation of a lift from ground-level to the top of the steps to enable wheelchair-users and other mobility-restricted clients access to the hotel.
Location: Restaurants; theatres, cafes, public transport.
I've stayed at the Crossley Hotel on several occasions and this last visit was up to its usual high standard - apart from one thing. When I checked in my room (505) had no soap. Tubes of various lotions and potions (including bath and shower gel) but no little cakes of soap you get in hotel rooms. Thinking it only an oversight (and having lots of things to do in Melbourne that day), I "made do" with the bath and shower gel. When I returned to my room the following day after it again been made-up, I once again discovered there was no soap in the room. I heard the Housekeeping Supervisor on his rounds and so asked him for if the hotel supplied soap and, if so, may I please have some! He was surprised that I had not been provided with soap and quickly retrieved some from the Housekeeping cart that was still in the hotel corridor. One other thing. Guests are requested to put towels on the rail in the bathroom if they want to re-use them the following day. The only problem with this is the rail is only about a foot long and so does not readily accommodate a large bath towel, a hand towel, a bath mat and a face-washer. I was travelling solo on this visit - heaven help any couples who want to re-use their towels as there simply isn't the room to place them all on the rack provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: The staff and the clean room.
Cons: The net curtains in the room let in too much light.
Location: Very close to bars , restaurants and all the activities in the city centre.
I really enjoyed staying at the Crossley hotel. The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and confortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, convenient location, boutique

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Positives: - Good location at the Paris end of Chinatown - Comfortable linens - Free daily newspaper - Sufficient toiletries provided - I managed to book last minute at decent rates - They stored my luggage for the day after checkout Negatives: - Bath was old style and the hot and cold water was on separate switches which was extremely difficult to balance. I was burnt a couple of times trying to adjust the temperature - Whilst the male front desk staff in the evening were well-mannered and friendly, the several brunette female staff in the day time never greeted or smiled when guests entered and exited the building. - Someone knocks on the door to check if anything was consumed from the minibar. On the first day, it was around noon and I was still sleeping because I had come from a different time zone and was still jet-lagged. I had told her I haven't taken anything and instead of coming back later, she just barged into the room to check the fridge. I have never experienced this in any other hotel in the world. Most places only check the minibar when they do the housekeeping and they would pretty much take your word for it, if you said no you haven't consumed anything. - Also there was one day when someone (presumably management) knocked on the door to ask if housekeeping was done as yet. It seems strange to me that management wouldn't just ask their housekeeping staff which rooms have been done, but to disturb the guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Room was comfortable and quiet. Staff looked after the car. Able to extend the car parking facility into the next day which was very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, We are pleased to read the accommodation provided was quiet, clean and we were able to assist with parking your car throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crossley Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Good hotel, good price

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Very courteous staff and clean spacious room. No complaints at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear Kayte, Thank-you for your comments on The Crossley Hotel regarding our clean accommodation and courteous staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Not what I expected.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovation badly needed. Rip up damp smelly carpets in the hallways. Put shower curtains or glass panel doors into the showers. Make the beds line up.
Location: Little Bourke St is full of character and the next block down is start of Chinatown.
The location is good in the central city, but the hotel was tired and old, elevator jerky. The carpets smelt damp in the corridors. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom so water sprayed everywhere. The two beds zipped together to make a double were slightly different heights. The window looked into a small triangular shaft of open space about 2x2x2metres in size with little light coming down from above. Check in was fine. Rooms were clean.