Ratings based on 3,100 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Weekend away.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, apartment, staff. Overall excellent value for money. The skybus shuttle will stop at this hotel.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The free tram stops near the hotel. Close to China town, Melbourne museum.
Had a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment. Really nicely decorated, everything provided even a washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher! Very convenient for down town Melbourne and the free tram runs past the road near the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

No sleep

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovation
Location: Plenty to see & do in Melbourne
Don't stay here if you want to sleep, the construction site next door starts at 6:00am but the generators run at night. The noise of elevators running up & down at night keeps you awake. The whole place needs renovating as it is very tired & dated. The shower door in one bathroom was broken on arrival but was repaired very quickly, the hair dryer stopped working but was changed straight away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Recommended to Families only

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Lift security needs an upgrade RECOMMENED TO FAMILIES GOOD FOR A FEW WEEKS STAY KITCHEN IS GREAT.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great location but tired and dirty

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything else
We were very disappointed in Mantra on the Park. Yes it was close to the theatre (why I booked it) and to Lygon Street but that's about all it has going for it. We tried to get into the hotel at midday. We could check in but were told to come back later which we did after lunch. We couldnt sit on the couches in the lobby because they were reserved for Air China. If only someone had told us that we couldnt get into the room until 2.45pm then we could planned our day. Sure it was after the advertised avaiable checkin time but being told we only had a 15 minute wait over and over again wears a bit thin especially when you only have a day and a half in Melbourne. The room was noisy. The doors to the balcony didnt seal so we not only got noise from the street but also the air conditioning made strange noises. I compared it to a jack hammer but 2 others in our party compared it to someone dragging a dead body over the floor above us. Cleanliness - the worst was a cotton bud on the window frame in the kids room. Yuk. Also things just needed a jolly good clean. The bathrooms especially are very tired and the water temperature pressure pretty erratic. The IGA didnt open at 7am as advertised. The only coffee open at 7am is the Marriott. The cafe adjourning the hotel is just the weirdest thing with strange hours. I wanted to have a really nice weekend away with the kids and splurged on this hotel. It pretty much wrecked our weekend. 4.4 customer rating....NAH.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Stayed here 6 years ago
Cons: bathrooms need updating
Convenient 1 bedroom unit at affordable rate and close to where we needed to be
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good Location

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location, clean and spacious room
Cons: Free wifi
Location: Tram 35 which is free to go around the city.
Our 2 bedroom apt was located on Level 17. It come with a living room, dining area with small, full equip kitchen where you can do your cooking. Room was renovated, clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Hotel is near china town, walking distance to shopping and tram stop is around the corner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Great Location BUT That's About It

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location and staff both front of house and housekeeping very good
Cons: Proper maintenance of rooms, address external noise reduction and regular proper cleaning of rooms.
Location: Great location for dining options and an easy walk into art/bars/shopping precincts.
We stayed for 7nights May/June. VERY tired hotel and condition of room (we had a 2 bed apartment Park View) well below par for the charge per night. The hotel is located on a busy intersection and not only lacked double glazing to reduce traffic noise BUT our bedroom window didn't even have a lock to allow proper closure/seal. Although the towels were changed each day the bathrooms and carpets/kitchen floors were not cleaned for the duration of our stay - nor were the carpets in the common area on our floor or the lifts. Both bathrooms were shabby (the ensuite slider screen was broken) and because of lack of ventilation substantial mould was evident.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kolkata

nice hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: kitchenette
Cons: cleaning
Location: great location
great comfort for a family specially when you travel 2 children
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and view of the gardens and museum

Posted May 17, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The room was very spacious
Cons: The breakfast food and selection wasn't great. We also wanted room service on Sunday night but the kitchen was closed.
Nice location and view of the gardens and museum. The bathroom smelt so strongly of cleaning products that we had to keep the door shut the whole time...was too much
5 out of 5
by Allan

Perfect stay for us.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely 2 night stay with my son. We were kindly upgraded to a two bedroom/ two bathroom, with nice lounge and small kitchen/dining area and balcony. Perfect. The lift was smooth, bed comfy, great shower with toiletries, and top location near restaurants and general shopping. Breakfast was most adequate with healthy choices. The onsite parking was a bonus. I would recommend Mantra, and will stay again in the future.