Ratings based on 3,149 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hmmm

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Location is quite central and is an easy to walk to Melbourne Central. Alternatively there is also a free tram!
Cons: A thorough cleaning is required
Unfortunately these apartments didn't live up to the hype of the high rating for me. Whilst the location is fantastic the room itself was dilapidated and not clean. We arrived to find that the room hadn't been cleaned properly as there was a used towel and shower cap from the previous tenants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from sydney

nice and convenient location

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: specious and convenient location
Cons: room service - cleaning and replenishment
Hotel was good Male receptionist told us that to get late checkout ie 12 and free wifi we need to book directly with mantra otherwise we will not get these facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Excellent location , close to CBD & the University

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Clean , Safe & Economical.
Cons: I Think Lounge could be improved.
Great Experience, safe, great staff, clean & great Location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families

Posted Nov 25, 2017
We thoughouly enjoyed our stay here. The beds were very comfortable, staff were fantastic and buffet breakfast was delicious. The only issue would be the bathrooms/couch could do with an upgrade. Will definitely stay again 😊
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Average hotel becomming tired

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient for taxi into and out of the city. Unfortunately, whilst not the hotel's fault, it took 3 tries to get one to pick us up to go to airport.
Cons: Reappointing to rooms to bring them up to current modern standard
Location: Wrong end of Exhibition St for better restaurants, and fair walk to major shopping precinct
We booked a two bedroom suite which was clean but very dated in its decor and facilities. Noise was quite aparent from other rooms, both on our floor and from above, and work started on the construction site across the road at 7.00am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Local to the city

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Beautiful hotel offers great deals, comfy and clean. It spacious, bright and local walking distance to the heart of the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Won't be revisiting.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The room was big.
Cons: Refurbish needed.
Location: Location is handy to theatre, Parliament station, Carlton Gardens and the Royal Exhibition Building
Room with a view....of a construction site, with constant outside noise from the hotel's air conditioning plant. Old lounges were a bit suspect, we covered them with towels, just to be sure. Big bed was very comfortable, choice of pillows was appreciated. Good water pressure in the shower, big bath tub. Restaurant was total disappointment, like a motel diner, very basic breakfast buffet, at least it was cheap, one visit was enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good size room

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I would hesitate to recommend this hotel to people looking for a 4 star experience. The majority of the room was good but the bathrooms are terrible. More like a 3 star standard. The hotel is currently very noisy also with construction happening next door. It wasn't possible/comfortable to open the balcony doors as it was just too loud. Quite a disappointing experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Was a large well run hotel with all amenities you would think a hotel this size would have - Some areas could be updated such as the bathrooms but our room was cleaned daily and was clean and tidy at all times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff with excellent customer care

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very impressed with the helping nature of the staff, who helped me even after check out