Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ovolo - Funny name great place

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great place we will be back. Love the grab and go breakfast and the lollybar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great little hotel in the middle of Melbourne

Posted Aug 18, 2017
This hotel is always consistent in quality of service and rooms. Right in the middle of the CBD, everything Is within walking distance and your options for food are endless - you're so close to the small lane ways with some of the best food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Jake, Hotel Management
Hi Jason, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved every aspect of your stay. It is our promise to maintain our standard and go the extra mile so that we can be 100% ready for your next visit. Would you mind sharing your experience with the rest of world by joining us on Trip Advisor? We look forward to seeing you again soon. Jake Yang Hotel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Great boutique hotel near Chinatown

Posted Aug 9, 2017
This is a great little hotel at the top end of the city near Chinatown and the MCG. Rooms are funky and the free minibar in the room, and coffee machine & lollies at reception are great. The only issue we had was the noise from the road outside when the garbage trucks came through in the morning (we were on the first floor overlooking the road), but it wasn't unbearable. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest requesting a room on a higher floor or off the road & you would be fine. Great hotel & value for money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Jake Yang, Hotel Management
Hi Tina, Thank you for the review. We are glad to learn that your overall stay was satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by noise issue. It is our promise to arrange a room away from noise next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Jake Yang Hotel General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel except for sound

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Location, style, staff
Cons: Sound insulation
Fantastic staff and overall I like the Ovolo experience. The main problem in this hotel is the lack of sound insulation between rooms and from the lift lobby. I could hear people talking in the room next door and from the lobby coming and going from rooms on the floor. Otherwise, a great location with no end of bars and restaurants to choose from within a short walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Jake, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, Thank you for the review. We are glad to learn that our service standard and overall experience was satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by noise issue. We will definitely be applying extra care in room allocation on your next visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Jake Yang Hotel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Wotif
Great hotel. Close to the theatres and Chinatown. The free sweets and minibar were a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cool, funky hotel with a personal touch. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Nice touch with the coffee machine, etc in reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Jake Yang, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It is our promise to maintain our standard and go the extra mile so that we can be 100% ready for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Jake Yang Hotel General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great value for money, helpful staff and perks

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Service and location
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance
I travel regularly for work and usually stay with large chains, but thought I would do something different this time. The personalised service was exceptional and perks like free mini bar were fantastic. This place has loads of restaurants and bars close-by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Team Ovolo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful score. It is our promise to maintain our standard and go the extra mile so that we can be 100% ready for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Jake Yang Hotel General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Friendly, quirky and super comfortable!

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Lastminute
This hotel reminded me of a cool hotel I stayed in New York many years ago. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Loved the quirky hallways with different colour doors making it easy to find your room. The small apartment style room made it easy to unwind and have a cup of tea and a chat around the coffee table. The bedroom and bathroom with nicely decorated and clean. We loved all the finishing touches, including a loot bag, selection of T2 and fantastic shower products. We would happily stay at Ovolo again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017 on Wotif
Was disappointed that was not told about rhe free breakfast and beautiful rooftop in sun until finding out accidently when sent up therw because coffee machine in foyer was not working