Ratings based on 5,600 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice lobby staff, dated room.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Pretty convenient location.
Cons: Housekeeping, room condition
Lobby staff was great, housekeeping not so good. Did job halfway one day, leaving new towels and not taking used ones, did not clean the bathroom well etc. The room "superior with view" had a great view of the railyard across the street. It was close to the Melbourne Visitor center and the train station. Also close to the panhandlers on the way to those. The hotel restaurant and bar were nice if pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

25th anniversary evening away

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Arrived very early and the room was already ready. Service was superb. Complimentary petit fours were delightful. Room was as ordered; heritage, with views. Walk to restaurants, galleries, train.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cramped room

Posted Nov 15, 2017
the room is very small with limited facilities, the view is of the train tracks, actually felt a bit creepy - the list goes on and on and on
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
I was 2 hours early for check in and told room was not ready, no problem. They advised that they would contact me when the room was ready. This never happened. I showed up 2.5 hours after normal check in time and the room was ready. The room was small but served its purpose. The AC worked great. Overall not a bad place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great location , easy check in and check out. Close to everything we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
The reception staff were lovely enough to offer me an upgrade on check-in. They sent me straight up to the new room but it wasn't ready. The delightful cleaners rushed to finish. Once I got into the room I realised that I had been upgraded to a room without a bath, something that made me book with the hotel. So I called reception and organised to go back to the original room type. I thought it was a little odd that they offered to either come up and meet me with the key or that I could go back down to reception to pick up the new key and go back up to the room. But after that was all sorted then everything else was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Dated

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The lifts were extremely small. Six people entered the lift and two had to get out as the lift would not move, even though it stated it could hold 8 people. The hall ways were tight and dark colour on the walls made it seem the walls were closing in on us. The windows were tiny and made the small room full even smaller. The shower flooded the bathroom. Now I know why there was a drain under the sink because the floor sloped that way instead of towards the rear of the shower. This meant we had to use both towels to dry floor so we could use the toilet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A bit disappointed

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The review and photos over-promised the hotel. The ambience is not welcoming. The beggars on Flinders Street makes me feel unsafe. Sorry for the not-so-good review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & convenient

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Nice hotel, convenient to conference venue. Lovely restaurant & staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rendevouz - great spot

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Good location, very central to city and transport, friendly and efficient staff, nice views across the river, charming lounge and bar with great bar staff