Ratings based on 4,438 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Highly recommended!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Great Hotel in the best location on the Paris end of Collins street. Walking distance to streetscape shopping, laneway cafe's and restaurants and high end boutiques. The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and always deliver service with a smile. The Atrium bar on level 35 is a great place for a drink before a night out and the lobby bar/cafe has amazing high tea! We would definitely recommend the Sofitel to our friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Posted Jan 14, 2018
There is nothing to complain about. Awesome Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterford, CA

Great hotel downtown

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Everything was within a 15 minute walk of this hotel. Plenty of places to eat too. Only downside to this place is the bed was super soft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Australia

Beautiful

Posted Jan 9, 2018
My stay at Sofitel was so beautiful completely relaxing luxurious And a fantastic place to stay for a holiday
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and our Ambassadors were able to assist you with all your requirements during your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Amazing customer service.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Customer service.
Cons: Unfortunately no pool on site, they do allow access to the Novotel's hotel pool though.
Location: So many activities nearby, Melbourne star, Eureka Tower, Luna Park, Crown Casino, Melbourne Central. Everything is a short 10-15 minute car ride away.
Celebrated a birthday here where we received a free bottle of bubbly, some chocolates and a happy birthday card from the staff there. Incredible customer service and a beautiful hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and our Ambassadors were able to assist you with all your requirements during your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Central hotel for a great city break.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Great standard rooms with attention to detail. Views from every room as the rooms start on the 35th floor.
Cons: Wifi cuts out from time to time.
Location: Tram stop outside, cinema below, theatres and restaurants nearby.
Friendly, helpful staff. Free wifi if you join the Sofitel club.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Still charges almost $30 per day for internet!!

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get rid of the silly 'Bonjour' affectation. It isn't a French hotel. It is in Australia. Stop charging for internet - it should be included.
Location: Central. Shopping
The Sofitel is well maintained, well located and the staff efficient and friendly - although why the General Manager insists they persevere with the ridiculous 'Bonjour' greeting still is beyond me. Yes I get that Sofitel is owned by Accor and they are French. But when clearly the vast majority of the staff do not speak French, to have them parrot 'Bonjour' in a variety of bad accents is cringe-inducing. .Interestingly, every staff member I asked about it said they found it embarrassing. But the main reason I would not stay at Sofitel again is that they still insist on charging $29 a day for internet when almost all their competitors include it as part of the room charge - as it should be in 2017. Yes I understand they lost a big chunk of revenue when the rip-off that was hotel phone charges when everyone got mobiles. And yes in the early days of the net, before free Wi-Fi zones were everywhere, it made sense for a hotel to claw back some revenue by charging for internet. But that was ten years ago. And no, I don't want to have to sign up to the Accor Group loyalty program to get the charge taken off. It shouldn't be there for a start. Makes me wonder how much later Sofitel kept charging for hot water when it became standard in hotels 100 years ago...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not like some of the aspects of the hotel and its services; we are pleased however that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mornington Peninsula

Great Hotel for the CBD

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Local to everything
Cons: nothing
Location: central to all activities in the city
Lovely stay, ideal for our needs for the night easy to get to by Tram.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Booking.com, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Noosa Heads

Not 5 Star Hotel in Melbourne

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: bathrooms and cleanliness thereof
Location: excellent location
Level 48 Executive room Sofitel Melbourne with city view. Small room and bathroom was equivalent to 3 stars. Mould on grout in combined bath/shower and mould under glass in shower/bath screen. Very small and dark bathroom. For 5 star hotel to have bath and shower combined is not satisfactory. Amenities nice but not up to standard of Mandarin or Oberoi hotels. Could not recommend as 5 star and would not stay there again. Very poor value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, and it is with regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are sorry we let you down in those areas described and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your experience here. I am disappointed that the above mentioned will stop you from staying with us again. I sincerely hope that you will reconsider and stay again in the future. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Celebrating my dad's 80th birthday in Melbourne

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: as above. My daughter says a special mention about the lovely 'smell' of the reception area as you walk into the main entrance up the escalator!
Cons: nothing really, all was so perfect, rooms being cleaned for us every day was just lovely
Location: We visited all the main shopping malls, Meyers, David Jones and a lot of the other stores surrounding the central city.
This was a very special trip for me and my parents, as it was to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. They travelled to Melbourne for there honeymoon 50+ years ago and had never been back, so was an iconic place for them to visit. I also brought my 16 year old daughter and she absolutely loved Sofitel too and how clean the rooms were, and comfy beds. Staying somewhere central and nice was really important so when choosing a Hotel, Sofitel easily ticked both boxes. Nothing was too hard for the staff, even checking in a bit earlier as our flight arrived in Australia, and they allowed up to check in just after midday. The convenience of Sofitel being on Collins street, so close to the tram and shops. Food places so close by downstairs and huge range to choose from. My parents said - was truly best trip ever and loved every moment - THANK YOU very much !
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Dagmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia.com, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Kind regards, Dagmara Bieda, Executive Secretary to General Manager