Ratings based on 8,567 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Aug 8, 2017
It was comfortable pleasant and highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Karl U, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 star rating and your enthusiastic endorsement of our hotel. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations in all areas and truly appreciate your positive remarks. Thank you for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne and we very much look forward to welcoming you again, in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good Hotel in Melbourne CBD

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: International Hotel but not too large. Spread across a lane in two towers with gym and indoor pool.
Cons: The provision of glasses and plates in the kitchen
Location: Top end of Little Collins St so short walk to Spring St and free city tram. Short walk towards the CBD with laneways
My husband & I were in Melbourne for the weekend so had a night flight from Sydney Friday night. Getting into Melbourne late it was easier to go to a hotel with 24 hour reception. I had managed to get the penthouse room and it was very spacious and elegant. Some views from the 16th floor, and a supper plate on arrival was very welcome. The room had two king sized bedrooms with ensuites as well as a guest bath, full kitchen, dining room and lounge. All rooms had flat screen TV's and both ensuites had a jetted bath with separate shower. The room was double storey with one room on the lower level with another upstairs with a study nook. It would be ideal for family and friends to get away without needing to have separate hotel rooms. Late checkout was also offered. A very comfortable weekend in Melbourne
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Karl U, Hotel Management
Thank you for your enthusiastic and informative review and for rating your recent stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne so highly. I am delighted you found our service and facilities exceeded your expectations in all the areas you have marked and that you found so much to positively comment on. The team and I are very happy that you enjoyed a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again for more of the same. Best Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very comfortable and easy to access everything

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Comforts and very easy to get everywhere in the CBD.
Cons: No all good
Location: Very handy CBD
I was only on a short stay but have stayed here twice in last six months and enjoyed all the comforts both times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional location in central Melbourne and that you appreciated the service of our friendly and welcoming staff. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT

Posted May 23, 2017
Cons: Bed and pillows.
The newly renovated room I chose was as per the website. I chose The Stamford for the shower and closeness to the city. I usually stay at the Rydges Hotel on Exhibiton Street where the best part of the stay is the super comfortable beds and soft down pillows. The Stamford bed is firm and the pillows are firmer. I asked housekeeping if they could find just 1 soft pillow for me. They found one.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay. We appreciate your constructive feedback and will use it to improve our service and facilities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to an excellent stay that we know we are capable of delivering. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW Australia

Beautiful Hotel with Wonderful Staff

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The excellent staff; their courteous service; the beautiful suite; the best-ever hotel breakfast !!! (We had the Bento Box Breakfast)
Cons: We - mother and daughter - found it a little disconcerting that the concierge addressed us as "love". "Madam" would have been more appropriate.
Location: We took taxis to the Arts Centre and the Princess Theatre, which are the venues we were in Melbourne to visit.
From the time our taxi pulled up at the hotel and we were met by the door staff, it was apparent that we would receive a very high standard of courteous, welcoming service during our two-night stay. Every staff member we met, whether in the front office, the bar, the dining room, or even just incidentally in the elevators, was pleasant, courteous and most friendly. From the efficient check-in on Saturday afternoon, to checking out on Monday, I could not fault this lovely hotel. The decor has an understated elegance and our suite was beautifully appointed, very clean, comfortable and quiet; perfect for an extended stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a little mother daughter trip away to Melbourne . Your feedback has been received with great importance. We have certainly made the staff member in particular aware of the need to address our guest more formally. We hope to welcome you back to a similar stay with excellent facilities and service in the future. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average 5 star hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Average hotel. For the price, we expected more. Its proximity to the city centre is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel . We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel however, you were not completely satisfied with other aspects. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to a great a stay that we know we are capable of delivering. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ferntree gully,Melbourne

Great quiet location

Posted May 15, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The location
Stayed two nights. Very comfortable clean rooms. The gym and pool are very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect for a nights getaway

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional location in central Melbourne and that you appreciated the service of our friendly and welcoming staff. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good access to cbd and MCG Tennis centre

Posted May 13, 2017 on Wotif
Great place to stay close to cbd and sporting facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional location in central Melbourne and that you appreciated the service of our friendly and welcoming staff. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted May 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms need better shower access. Spa baths not practical
Location: Great for MCG & Arena and shopping
Good location for out of towners wanting to experience the city. Hotel had 1 lift out of order making wait times longer
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Stamford Team , Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for completing our online guest feedback form following your recent stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted you found our service and facilities exceeded your expectations in all the areas you have marked and that you enjoyed a great stay with us. Our guests’ complete satisfaction is of prime concern to us and it is through guest feedback, such as yours, that we are able to identify those areas that are worthy of praise or in need of improvement. Thank you for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza when in Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Karl Unterfrauner General Manager