Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Safety. The shower was pretty impressive.
Cons: Being in the CBD meant we could hear the pub noises late into the night and the garbage collection early in the morning.
Location: China town, markets, trams, arcades, restaurants and coffee .... just exploring.
Amazing how close this accommodation is to everything within the CBD.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities terrible. One of the staff unhelpful

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The facilities in the room were all with low qualities. Considering the facilities, I would not even pay half the price I paid to stay. And we called at about 6:30pm telling staff we might be late to catch up their 8pm check-in (Another ridiculous rule, can't even leave key somewhere if arriving late) She then asked us must do something like ID check, credit card authorisation. Well, we said just send us the form, we were driving on the way but would try our best to do what we could do. Then she sent us a PDF form to fill in!! PDF form!!! She must assume we took printer with us when we travelling. Well, we made it there before 8pm. When I was considering if I want to stay another night the next day, she told me that she's going to be finish in 5minutes, I had to be quick to give her an answer. :( Beds and facilities in the room terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Cheap hotel, close to amenities

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location was quite good. Close to shops, trams, food, but pretty much all other hotels/apartments is. It's Melbourne after all.
Cons: Cleanliness, and customer service. When we got out our luggage, no offer of calling taxi, when we arrived, no offer of assistance etc..
Location: Short walk to attractions, food and shopping.
We (family of 5) arrived and all looked well, until we entered into the reception area. There is set of stairs going from ground level down to the reception so we had to manually carry all our luggage down to the reception. There is no lift or ramp to assist. We then check in and just squeeze into the tiny lift, to only go two levels before having to get out and change lifts as our room was up "high". It was actually on Level 9. Anyhow, we get out of the lift, walk the corridor some 100m or so and get to the second lift and go up. We get to the door, manually unlock with keys and found the lock to be quite dodgy. It is very easy to be left unlocked and unsecured. The hotel could really benefit with digital keys or an alternative. Everything was a bit run down, however, the bathrooms were very unhygienic. From a dirty toilet seat to mould in the showers for both bathrooms. No toothbrushes, combs or complimentary water. A difficult time for the girls as we were not used to bathrooms in this condition. If you are looking for budget and cheap and don't mind, then we would definitely recommend. However, travelling with family, we would not return or recommend. Upon checkout, we left out luggage with staff but they seemed inexperienced. We were not given luggage tags until asked. We asked about security and they said it would be secure. They would leave behind counter for security etc. We returned later and see the luggage in plain sight, unsecured as promised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Convenient, beautifully maintained, comfortable.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Convenience and easy , though not sumptuous comfort.
Cons: A small lounge area with toilet for use when filling in a day before an evening flight .
Location: Close to station, galleries and shops.
This was my second experience at 140 Collins St and I was very pleased to see that it had maintained a high level of customer service. It's convenient location is an added advantage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Management.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central city apartment

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Too noisy for us, ( rubbish trucks began at 4:45) - guess that's too be expected if you want to stay walking distance from the action. Staff were awesome, moved us to a quieter room after first night with a smile!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I will be happy to pass your comments to the staff who will be delighted. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well appointed apartment

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Close to the theatre, several hotels and bars.
Cons: Unfortunately the lifts were on the blink during our stay and we were on the 11th floor. One lift was out for the whole stay and the other sporadic.
Location: Close to all public transport and can be accessed by the SKybus free shuttle.
The apartment was comfortable and very clean. It was in a great location although a little hard to find in the dark. The staff were helpful and contacted us prior to arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the staff who will be delighted to hear your feedback. My apologies for the issues you encountered with our lifts , since your stay they have been addressed and all working again. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good position but not as represented on website

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Position
Cons: Kitchen appliances.
Location: Excellent
Not as presented on website. No view except directly into office block. Kitchen appliances were sparse and not call in good condition. Very noisy in the morning with rubbish pick up trucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted May 15, 2017
Book this property - you won't regret it. Fab location, great staff, beautiful apartments - not much more to ask really!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
Good location with easy access to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Close to city centre and transport.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Located in city centre, large rooms, excellent staff.
Very pleasant and professional staff. Carpets in room were dirty, steam cleaned after notifying hotel.