Ratings based on 1,835 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Artistic and spacious

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The location, the cleanliness, the space inside the room.
Location: There many good restaurants nearby and art museum.
I picked this hotel because it was located very close to where I was supposed to attend training in Melbourne. It's not so flashy fancy like a brand hotel, the lobby is very simple but full of art, and it's clean and cozy. The staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. There is big construction going on around the left corner of the building, and the guy who checked me in promised to put me in a room away from it but my room was on that left side and very close to the construction. I don't know if he made a mistake and I didn't complain, it didn't bother me because I am usually awake early in the morning and out during the day. The room is what I want to talk about: it's huge: the minute I entered the room i was shocked to see two queen size beds separated by the bathroom, each bed has it's own TV, I didn't expect that at all, it also has a little kitchenette where you can cook, big fridge and good size balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Excellent hotel, but parking onsite is expensive. However tram station just a minute away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phillip Island

Perfect base for our visit to NGV David Hockney ex

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Excellent hotel, lovely room, great artwork and best of all great art books in our room - the icing on the cake!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Charles Blackman immersion

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Art, staff, food, room and facilities, prices, bed comfort
Cons: All good
Location: For us it was very handy to the Caulfield race track which was only a $25 cab fare away
Our first real exposure to the fascinating art of Charles Blackman OBE Couldn't find a negative comment to offer. The room was clean and offered excellent facilities and the king bed was extremely comfortable. Even the mini bar prices were reasonable. Breakfast in the French restaurant was delicious and the Italian restaurant served a delicious pizza for an evening snack. The staff appeared to be happy all the time so I want what they are on!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel close to city

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Very sizeable room and nice cafe and bar on site
Cons: Out of the hotels control, but a big building site right next door with working machines all day.
Location: We needed accommodation near Lakeside Stadium and it is within easy walking distance. Also the tram was very convenient for getting into the city.
Convenient pleasant hotel near Lakeside Stadium which is where we were attending a sporting event. The staff were very helpful. Getting a taxi to the airport was no problem when we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Central location

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Well-maintained. Housekeeping keep it very clean. Great staff. Super friendly and efficient front desk.
Location: Great location. Close to City, South Melbourne, South Yarra and St Kilda.
My family enjoyed our stay at the Blackman. Would have no hesitation recommending it to others. Very nice boutique hotel in a really central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Lovely quirky, arty hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely.
Cons: As always, I dislike the mini bar prices!
Location: We drove to the hotel and had a hard time finding it, as it was not on the main road as its address implied but the entrance was round the corner.
The Art in the name The Art Series: The Blackman drew me to this hotel and it certainly has a lot of art on its walls. The reception has an entire wall covered in large, framed contemporary art pieces. The bedrooms have a number of originals on the walls too but also has a quirky bookcase of art books. The bed had a large rubber dice on too - can't remember what it was for, but it stuck with me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location for a visit to South Melbourne

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The art and quirky rooms
Cons: attention to detail
Location: Perfect for a South Melbourne vist
Great place to stay with kids as there are facilities in the room for meal prep. Unfortunately the shower screen poured water out on the floor and we were short two towels for the room booked for four. Nothing big but for the money these should have been addressed prior to our arrival. Other than that a fantastic place and a very interesting and fun stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, family friendly

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wifi very poor, as with all of Austalia it seems.
Location: Great spot, close to city. Trams 50m away will take you anywhere you need to go.
Room amazingly comfortable. Receptionist (Johan) was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Cafe next door very convenient. Can borrow bikes to ride into city etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet hotel close to CBD

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Experience starts with the welcoming staff and the funky lobby. Beautiful spacious rooms - they've thought of everything! Beds incredibly comfortable. Staff very helpful and accommodating. The onsite restaurant and cafe were fantastic, reasonably priced - noticed that a lot of people from nearby condos dropped by for morning coffee - a good sign! Have already recommended this hotel to a friend who will be in Melbourne next week.