Ratings based on 1,344 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Pleasant Stay, but not 5 stars.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The Olsen is in a nice location near South Yarra, with plenty of nice eateries and bars close by. We visited for the tennis and it is a nice 35min walk along the river to Rod Laver area. The hotel itself is ok, but not sure it lives up to its 5 star status. The rooms are pleasant, but nothing to write home about. We were initially put in a room which opened to the communal deck where those on sun loungers could see directly into our room or even enter accidentally if the door was left open! We found this a bit odd and requested a room change, which they were quite accommodating with. Overall I think there are probably better options in the area for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great location and boutique feel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We always stay at the this hotel fpr our annual tennis weekend. If you want to stay out of the city and appreciate more of an urban feel when in Melbourne, this hotel has everything you need. Beds are super comfortable and if you love Australian art it's a real treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Arty hotel, fun neighborhood, good access to city

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: Fitted cabinets in room dated, need replacing
Location: As above
Welcoming staff, very helpful on check in re room choice. Good sized room with kitchenette. Nice pool & Sun deck. Second visit and will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Lovely hotel, clean and friendly service. Good location next to lots of restaurants and shops
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I thought it was expensive for what it offered, The room was clean but bathrooms were small and cramped
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Gorgeous and glamourous hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect, and the room size was large enough to settle in to and had everything we needed.
Cons: Nothing, we were happy!
Location: The location was central to what we wanted to do with lots of cafes, shops and access to public transport.
We had our first stay at The Olsen (and the Art Series hotel group) during our visit to Melbourne in November. Although we arrived too early for check-in (6.30am!), the staff were more than helpful checking our bags, showing us to the restaurant from breakfast, and advising us as soon as our room became available. The room itself was much bigger than we expected, with a beautiful, comfy bed, accommodating bathroom, and mini bar that was stocked to the brim with delicious and healthy treats. We loved our stay at the Olsen and will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Stylish

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We had a lovely 4-day stay at the Olsen. We liked our room, with its abundance of natural light, attractive furnishings and art work by John Olsen. The rooms are not large, but well designed and work well. The location on Chapel Street is very convenient, with lots to do in the area and good transport connections to other areas of Melbourne. The one weakness of the hotel is its restaurant, with food that is OK but not competitive in a city with great food and very patchy service. We will stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Overall a good experience. However a minor annoyance was being told that we had been upgraded on our arrival but not informed that we would be charged for the pleasure of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Great location, helpful staff, spacious queen suite. Easy to get into CBD
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

NIce Hotel, just a little noisy

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Wotif
We enjoyed our stay, comfortable bed, very clean and good amenities. The pool is heated and was nice. Location is OK, close to shops, restaurants and train and tram, but will probably stay in the CBD next time where there's a bit more happening. The sound proofing between our room and the hallway and the rooms next door was a little dissappointing, we could hear people chatting in the room next to ours and in the hallway quite clearly at night.