Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Location by the beach. There are no daily activities. No atmosphere at all They said they have daily food specials on their bar, but their kitchen was closed during my stay which was 4 days (fake specials?) Would never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to tram, close to beach.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Elevator. Room is spacious & with windows. Bathroom ensuite. Well equipped kitchen.
Cons: Ventilation at the kitchen (basement). Sound insulation. Should offer free wifi at common area.
Location: There's nothing much about St Kilda other than the beach & penguins. But nearby Base, you can easily eat & drink from sunrise till sunset.
Easy to find, straightforward check-in, relaxed atmosphere. The place is actually great. Walking distance from St Kilda beach. Easy access to public transport. Supermarket & restaurants nearby. But despite staying on the 1st floor & on the far side from the bar, the noise was still very intruding. If you're easily disturbed by noise, you probably can't sleep before 1am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from samoa

Party central!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Great energy, staff atmosphere. A real people venue.
Cons: Lockers. Need to clean them out!
Location: St kilda is right there, bars, restaurants, outdoor facilities
I didn't stay after booking in as another place that I wanted became available. Loss of payment but I decided the place would be too noisy for me anyway. Was tempted though as it's certainly full of activities, people and fun! Really great atmosphere. If I wasn't here to work I'd be in there to play!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Handy location, reasonable rates

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location & 24hr reception. Security staff & measures.
Cons: Air conditioning - would be nice if it stayed on all night.
Location: Right in the heart of St Kilda - close to the beach, trams, shops. An easy walk to the area's attractions.
Arrived in the morning to store my bag (free storage), then returned at 1am and checked in. The fellow at the desk was friendly & helped me retrieve my bag (could have taken anyone's if I chose to). Facilities on the ground floor looked good, the bar was pumping out some loud music, but I couldn't hear it on the 3rd floor (girls sanctuary). Entered the room in the dark - by small torch light (out of respect for those sleeping) & found the empty bed. Room seemed clean, a/c was on - then seemed to turn off when it was needed most. Windows open so noises from the street (sirens & trams) kept me awake, until another girl arrived at 3.30am to turn on the bathroom light and leave the door open waking up a few of us, to then go to bed with the light still on! Only when I spoke up 10 mins later was it turned off - oh so considerate. My booking was to include a fluffy towel, toiletries & a free drink - I received NONE of these, I may have been able to go to reception & request them, since it was 24hr manned - coz I thought the towel, etc would be awaiting me on the bed - but since I was due to leave at 6am - I didn't bother. As for my impressions of my short time at the hostel, it wasn't the modern room I expected (from what I could tell in the dark), but despite not being able to sleep due to the hot weather, the bed was clean & comfortable, as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was quite good. Would consider staying there again if the need arose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little place

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Great little place to stay. Close to everything st kda has to offer. Friendly helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tasmania

Cheap hotel/pack packers in st kilda

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We stayed in a private double room. The bed and mattres were super comfortable. Water pressure im the shower was awesome. Good location, close to tram lines, round the corner from ackland st in st kilda, great price, staff were always friendly and helpful. Had a bit of noise from the street, could hear trams going past but it didnt bother us too much, they supplied ear plugs for those who wanted to use them. There is a bar down stairs with really cheap drink specials most nights. We didnt get any noise from the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Melbourne

Friendly Cheap Backpackers Hostel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Staff very friendly Great value for money
Location: Luna Park Palais Theatre The Espy Acland St Shopping Strip
Was just after a cheap place in the area to stay for the night as I was seeing a band (& making the most of the long weekend). Was greeted very cheerfully & shown around. Room was perfectly fine for what I was after - had a TV, double bed,& adorning bathroom. Very enjoyable & affordable overnight stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013