Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by pete

Price location great

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Pub noise until midnight Room window on light shaft Very friendly and helpful desk guy Price right & downtown
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel. Very small, but nice rooms.

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Yes, most rooms do not have bathrooms - they are shared and down the hall, but I was fine with that - think about bringing flip-flops for the walk to the bathroom and taking a shower. They had three private shower/bathrooms on my floor, and I was always able to get one when I wanted one. Bathrooms did not seem to be cleaned daily - maybe every other day? A nice surprise was the roof top terrace, very pleasant (also a kitchen up there and laundry). The room was very small, but comfortable and nicely furnished. There was no daily room cleaning for my 3 night stay (it seems they only clean once you check-out/before next person checks-in -- that may be different if you stayed longer). You can hear everything in the hallway through the door (anything anyone says in the hallway you can hear clearly in the room) -- I noticed that one neighbor had the TV on (I could hear it in the hallway), but I could not hear it in my room (so that was good), but the other neighboring room I could hear muffled conversation through the wall (not so good). Area was conveniently in downtown and pretty easy to walk around -- also in the free ride tram zone if you want to travel around downtown/CBD (tram (about 2 blocks away) provides an easy and free connection to airport shuttle too). They will store you luggage for free if you arrive before check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, comfortable and value for money, free wi-fi was provided with a strong signal, adequate shared bathroom facilities.
Cons: just as well that i had my own soap with me.
Location: Although called City Centre, it is far from central being at the Eastern edge of the CBD however that wasn't a problem as cafes and pubs nearby.
The room was comfortable and good value for money as far as hotels with shared bathroom facilities go. The shared bathroom facilities were adequate on each floor however it was surprising that bathroom soap was not provided with the room. The free wi-fi had a strong signal and was fast. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. .Although called City Centre, the hotel was far from central being at the Eastern edge of the Melbourne CBD however that wasn't a problem as there were plenty of cafes, bars and pubs nearby. However the hotel is not particularly suited for people with physical disabilities as the reception is on the first floor and there are no lifts in the building. This should be made clear in the advertising.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice clean accommodation

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for trams into Melbourne Central, local 7/11 nearby for supplies. Room was clean, comfortable with fridge, kettle and fan. Bathroom facilities were shared but always available. Kitchen available with laundry facilities on roof terrace. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bendigo victoria

Good budget accomodation

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Wotif
Nice and clean. What you would expect of a budget motel. Didn't like the communal showers and toilets, particularly going to the toilet at 2am but the were clean. No soap or face washers either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location below average hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
There was only a window for air no air con or even a fan, the 10:00 am checkout is a bit of a pain. Good location and cheap that's it really.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean and comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
A convenient, clean and comfortable hotel in the heart of Melbourne, right in the CBD and close to all inner city locations and venues. Excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Wotif
It was very clean, in a great location and has opening windows which I love, it was amazingly quiet too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Wotif
Great place. Central, clean, affordable, lovely staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Clean, affordable and nice.

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Everything at your doorstep made getting around so easy.
Spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were the cleanest I have seen before.