Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy hotel to South Yarra station.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Hotel was convenient to station and city. Only negative was that a chair had a broken leg which could have caused an accident. It was replaced straight away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great neighborhood- not in city center

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable and clean, plenty of space to relax! The breakfast was pretty good too.
Cons: It would be nice to have unlimited wifi and to have regular, not instant, coffee at breakfast. Real coffee costs $2.
Location: Tons of shopping restaurants and bars! Such a cute, walkable neighborhood! I could spend a whole day just exploring the area!
Only 800 MB of data/day for the free wifi. No alcohol allowed on the premises...maybe that's why it's so quiet at night, no partying allowed. Staff is a little grumpy, but don't break the rules and they'll be nice to you. The neighborhood is great! The hostel is very close to the train station and there's tons of bars, restaurants, and shopping in the area. It is outside the city center so it takes time to get to touristy activities. There's no A/C, but the ceiling fan in our room was sufficient. I would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable close to city

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Room on main road. Very noisy. Lounge big and clean enough. Rules of no alcohol and shoes to be worn at all times a bit unusual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Rooms small but still good value for money. Facilities very clean. Very happy with the stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: It feels elegant. Very close to South Yarra station.
Cons: It was difficult to operate the fan and the light in our room.
Location: It is close to restaurants. Locality is beautiful.
Pleasant experience. We had stayed there for a night. Complimentary breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melb

Perfect position on the fringe of the City

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Calm atmosphere... Peep's from all walks of life and around the world... with a pinch of classical... Fantastic breakfast... Perfect position to eclectic Chapel St... Can't ask for more...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WY

Good budget accomodation

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Public transport is easily accessible and regular.A big range of food outlets ( both price and style) nearby. Two supermarkets within walking distance
I travelled to Melbourne for a training. The Claremont provided good quality budget accommodation close to the city in a vibrant popular locality. Although I did not go for a holiday this would be ideal accommodation for anyone wishing to visit Melbourne being only 5 km from the city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful; dormitory room clean and spacious; shared bathrooms were cleaned regularly; the guest lounge was comfortable and the dining area was clean and well organised. The continental breakfast was generous and regularly topped up so no matter what time you arrived there was always more than enough to satisfy all appetites! As an older female I also appreciated the after hours security, 24 hour office operation and quiet atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Convenience plus

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Cleanliness, great value, convenient.
Location: So easy to get into the city.
I needed accommodation in Melbourne for an overnight stay and the Claremont fit the bill nicely. Inexpensive, close to trams and the South Yarra station with efficient service and clean, comfortable room. My only whinge was that the water in the shower took a while to heat. If that's all I have complain about ......!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, good location, friendly staff.

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
No complaints. Not a 5 star hotel but it doesn't claim to be, would stay again. Great location for shopping, bars, cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Melbourne-Chic Hotel!

Posted Nov 4, 2016
My stays was made by this lovely hotel from the begging to the end. Beautiful lobby and nice reception guy was welcoming my late check in, clean and cozy bed room provided me good sleep. Stuff are all friendly and everything was organized. Will be back for next trip!