Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dark Facility

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Room was big
Cons: Staff
Location: I do not know.
Hotel Staff was not helpful at all. Carpet was burnt in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the staff, so friendly!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Staff and I also wanted to take the shower head home! 😀
Cons: Wasn't correct amount of towels but they did upgrade our room so may have forgotten to add towels. Easily got more towels.
Location: Close to where we had to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Had a nice bathroom. Was close to the event I was attending
Cons: Hotel foyer etc was outdated and a bit dirty. There wasn't much else in the area to do if you didn't have a car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Excellent location and quiet. Very friendly staff Nice and clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to see you next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrnambool, Victoria

Good stay, with small exceptions.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Could not get a receipt at reception, as apparently that would come via Expedia???!!! Means that I had no idea what had been charged. Was told I could take any issues up with Expedia ( an arduous task dealing with a 3rd party!) Very poor and frustrating situation. The pillows were diabolically bad. And noise travelled from the next room, very loudly during the night. The rest of the room was great and good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hi Bill Sorry for any inconvenience. Because you didn't make payment directly to us so we are unable to give any tax invoice.(we collect payment by amount different from what you paid.) And you will always get a receipt by Expedia when you made the booking. Thanks for staying with us. Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy and uncomfortable

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Wotif
The walls were paper thin with holes and pealing paint and the beds were hard and you could feel the springs. The reception area was dirty. The staff were helpful when asked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel staat in een "mindere" buurt van melbourne

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Het hotel wordt momenteel gerenoveerd. Wat problemen gehad met geluidsoverlast, maar het management heeft ons snel een andere kamer bezorgd.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Beste gast Bedankt voor het verblijf bij ons. We doen excuses voor het eventuele ongemak veroorzaakt door de renovatie. Wij hopen dat u tevreden bent met de gewijzigde kamer waren en kijk uit naar je volgende keer! Regards
4 out of 5
by Azniv

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels