Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pleasant but missing some for price

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: cleanliness and location Attendant organised taxis for us
Cons: review has lost points for no cups, tea or coffee facilities in rooms (at lest glasses are needed) Took a very long time to check in
Hotel was clean and neat also had free parking. review has lost points for no cups, tea or coffee facilities in rooms (at lest glasses are needed) Took a very long time (roughly 20 mins) to check in and out. This almost made us late for the wedding we were attending.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Nalin Samaranayake, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am sorry to hear your comments about aspects of the room facilities that were not available during your stay. I assure you that this is not the norm and the relevant personnel have been advised of the shortcomings. I would also like to apologise for the delays in checking in and out of the hotel. Again I would like to stress that this is not the norm. Usually our staff are efficient with respect to service delivery. I hope that you will stay at the hotel in the future and give us another opportunity to improve your perception of the hotel. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
5 out of 5
by Joshua from sydney

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly and helpful staff, food in the restaurant is excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Customer Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Joshua, Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. Also thank you for your kind words about our staff. It is definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
2 out of 5
by Stephen from Sydney

Quite unimpressed!

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
The two bedroom apartment I stayed in was quite rundown and very old. The apartments are in need of a major upgrade, even some double glazed windows would help as the street was quite noisy. Looked clean, but didnt have a clean, hotel feel to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Customer Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. It seems there were a number of shortcomings during your stay and we are grateful you have shared your feedback with us. I am sorry that the apartment you stayed in did not fulfil your expectations. We will strive to address these issues in the future. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate but noisy

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Wotif
Room was clean and staff were really helpful. However the rooms were not very sound proof and noise from the hall/stairwell was quite loud throughout the night. Not ideal for a young baby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Nalin Samaranayake, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam, Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. We are so pleased that you found our staff efficient and helpful, we pride ourselves on customer service. We are however, disappointed to read of your shortcomings during your stay, regarding noise from other guests during the night. We do endeavour to handle and control all movement and noise throughout the corridors of a night time, however we are sincerely apologetic that in this case it was not dealt with adequately coursing a negative experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we may restore your confidence in our property. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
4 out of 5
by Luke from Mildura

Loved it!!!

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the older section of the hotel. The apartment was fairly old and a tiny bit grubby, but this was MORE than made up for by the size and amenities!!! This older part of the hotel is going to be my regular stopping place from now on. I couldn't get over the size of the apartment and how well priced it was for such a happening part of St Kilda.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Customer Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Luke, Thank you for posting your great review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. What a delightful review to receive for our business. We do think we are blessed with our location and yes St Kilda does have many wonderful offerings close to our prime location. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our serviced apartments, we too think they are very equipped and spacious. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
4 out of 5
by Kristoffer from Sweden

Nice

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place. I've stayed there twice and sure will again if I go back to Melbourne. Easy to get a team into city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Customer Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Kristoffer We are deeply elated that were going to be your constant hotel of choice when you're in Melbourne. As always, don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon. Our staff are always ready to help you with anything. Thank you and take care. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
3 out of 5
by Marie-Laure

Good for late arrival

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Just a quick sleep in that Hotel. Good for late arrival thanks to the 24h reception and free parking. But the receptionist was not very welcoming. Weird smell when arriving in the room. The good think is that it is dark (no window) and quite quiet in the room to sleep longer in the morning, except for the air conditioning which is quite noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Customer Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Marie-Laure, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our front office and housekeeping staff didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff and allow us to improve our services. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we may restore your confidence in our property. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We attended a wedding at the park ,lovely.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: The bed ! Soooo comfortable the staff very welcoming and willing to help
Cons: The fan didn't work in the bathroom and the water from the shower wet the bathroom floor.
Location: Exactly what we wanted.
Very relaxing and stress free . We had a very nice quiet evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Nalin Samaranayake, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam, Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed our very comfortable beds. I have addressed the maintenance issues with the relevant department and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are glad that you had a very relaxing and stress free stay with us. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Lastminute
Great room close walking distance to hub of st kilda highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Nalin Samaranayake, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review following your stay at our serviced apartments. We are indeed situated in a wonderful location, both close to Melbourne attractions and a short tram ride into the CBD. It is great you had the opportunity to take it all in. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bathurst

not bad close to beach and tram stop. Noisy

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: Staff were very good
Cons: Room cards to get into guest laundry never worked so had to go to front desk and get another one.
Location: 100 metres from tram stop and walking distance to shops , restaurants and beach.
Only draw back was it was close to a construction site. They started working at 07:30 most days including a Jack Hammer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Nalin Samaranayake, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam, Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, finding our rooms spacious and comfortable. I do sincerely apologise that on this occasion you had disturbances in regards to works having been done on Barkly Street. Unfortunately these obstacles that effected your stay were out of our control and we cannot pre-empt the disturbances as often we are not informed prior. Regardless of this however we are so pleased to hear you would stay with us again. We look forward to the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future restoring your confidence in our property. Kind regards, Nalin Samaranayake