Ratings based on 1,158 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Great Location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Excellent value for money, friendly staff and great central location. Was surprisingly quiet at night too. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

SMALL HOTEL CLOSE TO THEATER DISTRICT & CHINATOWN

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly helpful staff & the fact it is a smaller sized hotel. Also liked being able to sit on a chair in the sun in my room (north facing)
Cons: Hard to fault - the only hassle was the front stairs with luggage but staff can help if you need it.....also, confusing room temperature controls!
Location: Close to theaters, bars, restaurants, Chinatown and not far from shopping and department stores and also close to beautiful Carlton and Fitzroy Garden
First time visitor and will return. Nice clean room with all facilities needed - bathroom is on the smaller side but is clean and well-lit. I would up-grade from lead-in category to next highest as the lead-in rooms have shower-over-bath (not ideal for elderly guests). My room was equipped with a work-space big enough for me to set up my lap-top and do work on - good lighting, free Wi-Fi. Big-screen TV but no satellite television, just free-to-air channels. I arrived at 8.30am and was told that as hotel was fully booked the night prior, to leave my luggage and they would call to advise when it was free - which I expected. What I did not expect was the phone call at 10am to say it was ready for check-in! That won gold stars from me as so often hotels will not let you check-in until after lunch! Also, the free bowl of apples at reception was a nice personal touch. Room had all the basics needed and good-priced mini-bar (miracle of miracles: am sick of being charged like a wounded bull for in-room drinks!). Bed was comfortable as was pillows. Just be aware that this hotel is close to the theaters and many restaurants and clubs and on a FRI or SAT evening, Melbourne goes off and you can hear voices and people carrying on well until around 3am (the hotel is bordered by 3 streets/lanes) & although the traffic is not an issue, you can hear people around the hotel on those nights (rest of the week was fine) Also, be aware that there are about 10 steps to negotiate at the front door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel. very central to all sightseeing

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: This hotel is very central and the free tram is only one street away. sstaff were very good and so was their continental breakfast.
Cons: Airconditioning
This hotel is very central and the free tram is only one street away. sstaff were very good and so was their continental breakfast. Will definately stay there for our next trip to Melbourne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Stayed 5 nights during the Grand Prix. Location is excellent, close proximity to theatres, restaurants and free CBD trams. Room presentation and daily servicing very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, quality accommodation

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Room above average for similar properties, modern, clean with obvious quality to everything. Walking distance to most of CBD and easy tram elsewhere
Cons: Nothing for anywhere near the price
Location: Footsteps to major theatres, Chinatown and great Italian restaurants.
I arrived early hot and tired, staff gave me great room, no fuss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location, great staff

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very convenient location for exploring Melbourne. Staff were great and very helpful in returning a lost camera.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location and staff, not so good for the room

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel is located near Chinatown which was great for us as our kids love asian food. Plenty of great restaurants to choose from. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lifts were quite quick. There were stairs at the front of the hotel though so bad for us with a pram. They also provided a portacot for us which was very convenient. The room was quite small. I think we were in a normal queen room however when they put an additional single bed in it made it quite cramped. The single bed was comfy but the queen was not. I think some springs were gone. The shower temperature was hard to adjust.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well sited. close to Melbournes network of trams.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Everything as stated above. we also liked the Continental breakfast , quite a choice and pleasant staff.
Cons: One small detail, I think the towel rail should be outside the shower area or a hook or two on the wall.
Location: Perfect. plenty of cafes and eating houses of all countries. The trams are very close and free to a large part of the CBD. .
We arrived early at the hotel but we were made very welcome and allowed to go to our room straight away. The room was very comfortable and a nice quiet position..All the staff we met were very helpful and even carried our luggage to the lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie

Well positioned hotel.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Close to the cbd with plenty of restaurants. Close to parks and gardens. Parliament House and theatre district nearby. Easy access to the tram system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Good spot

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Hotel is in a good spot. A short walk to the mall, 10 metres from all the theatre shows. The downside..... no windows to open and it was hot!! Our second night the air conditioning didn't work and we couldn't even get any air in to cool the room down. Also got woken at 7am both mornings from what I assume is the recycling truck tipping glass bottles right next to our window. Wasn't happy about that.